We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with my experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very happy with my experience”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed at the Keio Plaza for a few nights with a group tour. The hotel was large and had many different restaurants available for breakfast. The food was pretty good. It was convenient to have a money Exchange machine although I'm not sure how good the rate was.
The staff was quite friendly and the room was clean and the location was very convenient. Right across the street there was shopping and restaurants so you could take a nice stroll.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,526
    1,693
    464
    112
    86
See reviews for
1,089
1,209
236
663
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We had a "nice" stay here, neither good nor bad. However, it was memorable in that it wasn't memorable at all-- just average.

This hotel looks huge, impersonal and corporate... And the lobby is austere and flavorless. If you're looking for the quintessential Japanese experience, look elsewhere (a smaller hotel maybe). The rooms seem in good working order and are more spacious than some other double-bed-size rooms we've stayed in in Tokyo (we stayed in the renovated tower), but decoration isn't much to look at and the bathrooms aren't notable in any way. Two bottles of water are left in the room a day and cleaning seems good and thorough.

Hotel staff is very kind (meets expectations) and location is good: Steps to Shinjuku Station and some fun areas. There's a DVD player in the room which actually turned out to be helpful.

The money exchanging at the hotel is a HUGE rip-off, however, and not at all what I would expect from a "luxury" hotel. Other hotels would allow you to exchange at the desk and would give you a good rate. Here, they make you use an impersonal machine which skims off 7 or 8% all together.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank WineEnthusiast2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I don't usually write a review as I find most stays at hotels to be true to what has been reviewed.

I came here around 4 years ago with my family and we had a pleasant time as the hotel is spacious and the location is quite ideal.

I decided to bring my fiancée to Japan for a little getaway over the long weekend in our country. It was natural that I would looked at Keio Plaza as I had a pleasant stay here last time. We booked a 3 night stay starting 14 Feb (Today) to 17 Feb 2014.

Arriving here to check in we were faced with a huge crowd at the check in counter. It took almost an hour for us to check in to our room. I booked a No Smoking Deluxe Room with a King size bed.

The room we got was rather "aged" and not particularly well maintained. Furthermore, the room we got was a Smoking Room with Twin beds. We guessed that it may have been a mistake since the check in staff were very busy. Trying to be understanding despite our hour long wait to check in, we were treated quite unprofessionally when we called Front Desk to request to change our room to match what we booked. The staff who we spoke to just made us feel that he didn't want be 'disturbed', so we requested to speak his manager. Lo and behold, we were already speaking to the manager, or he may have just informed us he was the manager. Being a manager may bring a lot of responsibilities, but surely, customer service and ensuring a positive experience for the guests, should be pretty high on his priorities.

We asked to come down to speak to him. He just said nothing is going to change, there's nothing he could do, the hotel is fully booked, making sure to let us know with his tone that we were a bother and he is not willing to do anything.

Determined not to let the incompetency and 'don't give a cr_p' attitude of the manager ruined our holidays, we decided to move the 2 beds together into a single large bed. We found rubbish behind and under bed side table between the twin beds, specifically, it was some plaster wrapper or sanitary napkin wrapper. Under the bed nearest the window, there was more uncollected garbage, this time it looked like a sugar sachet or something. We took some photos and will try to upload them after this review.

In conclusion, despite the ideal location and spacious interior, the hotel is ruined by an incompetent manager who just didn't bother to even try to be nice, let alone, please a returned guest. Not only did he failed in his guest relation duties, the uncollected garbage we found speaks for his failing to manage his housekeeping staff. Running a hotel is a big responsibility, and if this is just too much, other career choices may be wiser for both the guests' and the manager's peace of mind.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Art9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Just back from a 5D/4N stay at the KPH with my 3 teenage kids.Its a very nice 4-star hotel located less than 400M from the Shinjuku station.Most of the staff speak some English and were efficient at what they do.

We had requested an early check-in as our flight reached Narita about 7:00am,but this was not available and we had to wait till 1:00pm which was the best that they could do.We got into shinjuku via the Narita Express (NEX) which costs Y3150 per person for a 1-way trip (Green car).A short 10-minute walk and we reached the hotel,which was easy to find.

We stayed in 2 superior rooms in the south wing and although a little bit old,the rooms were very clean and spacious.Heated toilet seat with bidet was a welcome in the cold weather! Beds were comfy and you had everything you would need....auto water dispenser/heater,flat-screen TV,etc....although most channels were in japanese!More importantly for the kids,there was free wifi (umlimited amount of devices) which the kids loved.speed was a good.

We opted for the daily buffet breakfast (for an extra fee) when booking via Agoda,and this turned out to be a mistake.Breakfast was served at the Club Lounge on the Lobby Level (3) and although service was good,the spread was very limited.Basically,just scrambled eggs,bacon,sausages,cereal,salad,bread,pastries and fruits.We had the same fare for 3 straight mornings and decided to skip it on our 4th morning! We should have just gone to the many restaurants and fast food outlets nearby.Also,breakfast was up to 9:30am and when the japanese say 9:30am...they mean 9:30am!

Getting around Tokyo was very easy with Shinjuku station less than 400M away and ample taxis just outside the front door 24/7.1-way trips to various tourist spots around Tokyo averages abt 3,000yen with the most expensive ride being to Divercity (Y6500)
Would have preferred to walk but the cold (it actually snowed in Tokyo Bay!) made us decide to take taxis most of the time.

The rooms were cleaned daily and everything in the room worked.room-service was also good and check-out was fast.

A very good 4-star hotel and we'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed here in Dec-Jan this year with my wife and teenage daughter. It is a very plush classy place and is centrally located in Shinjuku right on top of the Shinjuku subway station. Our room was on the 31st floor which meant we had amazing views across Tokyo and on a clear day we could see Mt Fuji. The room was immaculate, as was the entire hotel. The staff spoke both English and Japanese and could not have been more helpful.
the restaurants in the the hotel were too expensive for us but it is a short walk outside to literally hundreds of cheaper places to eat.
The hotel is near department stores, electronics shops, post office, McDonalds... almost anything you might need.
There is a 7/11 type store on the second floor of the hotel where you can get cheap snacks, drinks and souvenirs. You can buy meals from there which they will heat up in the microwave for you and you can take back to your room.
The room we had had a hot water urn and tea/coffee making facilities.
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you get a higher floor you will get a better view. One side of hotel faces Tokyo. The other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Huge hotel, excellent restaurants but be prepared to pay around $80 - $100 per meal, typical business hotel. Very close to the Shinjuku train station, nice clean rooms, convenience shop located on level 2 which stocks pretty much everything. Free bus to Tokyo Disneyland.
Shinjuku is a great area to stay in, if your looking for a night out on the town try the Golden Gai lots of small bars filled with friendly people and very reasonably priced drinks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed four nights with our family of four in early January 2014. We did have a luxury quad room which was very nice. Two bathrooms and four large beds and quite a nice outlook to the Metropolitan Government offices. I beleive the regular rooms are a bit tired looking and I think it is worth paying the extra to upgrade.

The location was very convenient to Shinjuku Station and it can be accessed by underground walkway if the weather is inclement.

It was just a short taxi ride to the Park Hyatt where we enjoyed drinks on 52nd Floor overlooking Tokyo (Lost in Translation bar).

I would probably stay there again for the location.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the newer tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StanmoreGirlSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 81 in Shinjuku
4,228 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 81 in Shinjuku
2,866 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,258 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,233 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 81 in Shinjuku
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo

Property: Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Address: 2-2-1 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-8330, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#6 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1438
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keio Plaza Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing