We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pick another hotel, there are plenty other hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pick another hotel, there are plenty other hotels”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stay away from this hotel. The location is pretty boring, it claims to be near Shinjuku station, and it is but the station is huge and spans a large area of Shinjuku, so don't use that as a guide.
There is nothing near, you have to go back through Shinjuku station to get to the good stuff, so why not stay on the other side of the station.

The staff are almost rude! They understand checkin and checkout, nothing else so don't try and complain about anything as you will only anger yourself more. Guest relations service desk is no better, we asked them for help for over 30minutes over some issues that came up during our stay and nothing was resolved. For the price we paid i expected a much better and friendlier service.
The bed is very, very hard! Very uncomfortable.

We upgraded to the Premium room with a bigger room and concierge service as well as an amazing view, of other buildings :)

The room really was huge, and fairly clean, but the service was appalling and there are plenty of other hotels to stay at that are in a more convenient location. The room service is overpriced, and really really not worth it.

You do get free wifi in the room but only if you stand close to the tv, i have no idea how they managed to restrict it that much, or if it was just our room, but we were not able to use the wifi anywhere else in the room, very bizarre.

Room Tip: I beg you, please choose another hotel, i can not express the disappointment we experienced with thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iPanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,498
    1,670
    456
    109
    83
See reviews for
1,068
1,195
233
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is my first time to this hotel. Its location is great, within walking distance to Shinjuku train station and other shopping attractions. Hotel room is consider larger compare to other hotel in the same area. I arrived in early morning and thought to refresh myself after a night long flight at its fitness bathroom, however, this is not possible and was turned down that there's no bathroom available, only have to wait for check-in after 14.00 hrs. Breakfast is available at many outlets on the ground floor, on some day, there was a wait line but I waited no longer than 5 mins. Service is excellent, baggages were delivered up to the room by bell captain (this is not avail at most hotels in Japan). Wifi router is free upon request for in-room usage.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WitoonTrakarnpruk188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in Keio 2 times breaking it into 2 stays. First was on March 23-26. Check in was not that smooth since there were large group of tourists coming in but it was ok. Room was huge with beds waiting for us. I chose the renovated room and they gave us free wifi router. We had breakfast and had to wait for around 15 minutes to be seated. This hotel is very popular with tour groups. Huge hotel, Main and south wing, we were on the south wing. our room was facting the road to the train station. Our second stay was on March 27 with 4 days on it. Upon checking in (9pm) , i asked for a wifi rouer and they said none was available. I argued bec i didnt have internet for two days and my hotel booking said there is a free wifi router. I asked to call their supervisor, lo and behold, the supervisor apologetically said there was one left. This after after several minutes of arguing ok! The girl told me there was no router available bec all the other customers got it.. Hello? im also a customer of this hotel. Dont i get the same treatment. To make the story short, the supervisor gave me a router. We went up to our room which was just the same room as the previous stay. I was so disappointed bec the router they gave me did not work! I was fuming mad this time. Called up front desk and they said they will let someone go up and check on the router. The bell hop came and tried his very best to solve the problem but he just cant. He went out and came back with a cable for the laptop, it worked but we need wifi for the smart gadgets. he really went out of his way and he came back again with a new wifi router. this was around 11pm. I salute to that bellhop for really helping us out. He knew i was so mad and disappointed already. Good thing the new router worked!
As for the location, it was ok. Around 5 minute walk to the train station. Lots of eateries outside. They also have a disneyland shuttle which is really convienient. You just have to reserve ahead of time. Tours from Jtb picks you up in the hotel. No worries at all. The hotel is quite expensive but the rooms are huge, so that was ok. And i didnt have any l'occitane products in my room, although there was an electric kettle :)
And i chose this hotel bec its in shinjuku plus the airport limo bus serves this hotel. No need to walk with luggages!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irongirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is relatively large compared to some of the hotels in Japan. Keio consists of two towers: Main Tower and South Tower. Amidst our stay, there were big tour groups and conferences. For such a bustling hotel, the staff were super-duper friendly and attentive.

We stayed in one of the Plaza Premier rooms. I have to stay the room was amazingly comfortable. The room was bigger than I expected. Our window faced the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Office Building and the Shinjuku Central Park.

The room lavished us with L'occitane products, specifically the Verbena product line (i.e. shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion). I'm quite a fan of the France-based products. Addition to the shower amenities, the room was equipped with a Keurig! I'm also a coffee junkie and have a Keurig at home. The fact that the Keio Plaza has these in the rooms earned them extra points upon our arrival.

Did I mention its convenient location? It's a quick walk to one of the busiest train station in Tokyo (if not THE busiest): Shinjuku Station.

Perks:
- L'occitane shower products;
- Keurig;
- Comfortable room;
- Terrific location;
- Free Wifi;
- Free shuttle ride to Tokyo Disneyland (yes, it's free);
- Transporation service to Narita Airport (with a fee); and
- Friendly staff

Con:
I wasn't crazy about the pink counter and bath tub, albeit-- that's more of a personal opinion though.

I will definitely stay here again if I were to head back to Tokyo again. Heck, I was raving about the hotel so much when I came home that my sister and her boyfriend will be booking at the Keio Plaza when they visit Tokyo in July.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doublezeroyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
299 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here twice in the last 6 months (Dec 2012 and April 2013). We have stayed at the Hyatt and Hilton at shinjuku before but have moved to Keio because these travels were on personal vacation basis whereas the Hyatt and Hilton are on business reasons. Keio hotel is a large hotel and caters to big tour groups that's the only con but overall service and value is great. We always choose and stay at the Main Tower plaza biz floors (25/26), rooms are updated and modern but maybe a bit small by American standard (less than 30sqm) but not European standard. Location is unbeatable from Narita airport or to other parts of Tokyo with the metro.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel was located 5 minutes walk away from the Shinjuku train station. The room sizing is comfortable. Bathroom was very average, but clean. The view was spectacular and the staff were friendly. This hotel was extremely busy!

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissHeids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel was included in part of a air/hotel package that I had booked through a travel agency. The arrival process was painless, with check-in a breeze. The hotel is one of the larger in the city and I would classify it as a Tourist Grade hotel, it's not High End, but it's not budget either. The rooms are well appointed, with all you need for a basic stay, but don't expect frivolous over the top amenities or appointments. The room was good sized for Tokyo hotels, expect the same size as you would for a standard New York hotel. Not sure why some rooms were not without wi-fi as stated in other reviews, but there was free wi-fi service in our room without the need for a router (albeit a very slow service, but it's free). They have a variety of dining options as well, but as expected, the prices are higher than average because they are located in the hotel. Overall the rooms were clean, the service was impeccable and the experience was pleasant. We would recommend this for anyone who needs a good clean room located in the heart of the city with easy access to the Metro.

Room Tip: If you want a view of Mt. Fuji, request a room in the upper floors of the South Tower. Breakfast cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,149 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#15 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo

Property: Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Address: 2-2-1 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-8330, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#6 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1438
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keio Plaza Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing