We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Excellent location for shops and train. Quiet tree lined street. Hotel is a bit of a maze. Stayed there as part of a package trip. The rooms we were given were not the renovated tower. The whole room needed a deep clean - Our room was small and smelt of cigarettes (even though it was a non-smoking room) the bathroom shower curtain smelt as did the toilet! Beds were clean as was the lovely deep bath tub and surface areas. Good to have a fridge in the room too and a hot water to make tea or coffee. Our package included breakfast which was a choice of buffet options that were fine. However if not included are way over priced. So many food choices in the area that are affordable. The convenience store in the basement was also affordable which was great and sold all sorts of baked snacks and coffee's etc. It's a good location and affordable hotel but try if you can to stay in the renovated rooms otherwise you will feel like you're in a mediocre best western.

Room Tip: Check before you go if your room is one of the modern renovated rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stooshpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,019)
There are newer reviews for Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,918 - 1,924 of 4,019 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed at the Keio Plaza Hotel in Tokyo on business for three days. Everyone was really helpful and I could usually find staff that spoke English relatively quickly when I had a question that required more Japanese ability than I possess. I loved the convenience store downstairs, which saved a lot of time. They also have a salon and many other shops inside the hotel so you pretty much don't have to venture out unless you want to. However, the negatives for me were the confusing layout and the fact that many floors were inaccessible by various elevators and the elevators were often slow due to too many occupants at once. I used the gym each morning as well, which was very small for the size of the hotel and seemed to have NO air conditioning running. I do understand that the hotel was intentionally cutting back on electricity usage due to the nonuse of nuclear energy throughout Japan at the moment, but I worked out between 4-5 am each morning and it was so hot I had to take breaks and step into the hallway where is was at least a few degrees cooler. I don't think leaving the AC completely off in the exercise room is appropriate as many people could wind up with heatstroke if they overexert themselves. This is my chief complaint, the rooms were clean and reasonable for their price compared to others in Tokyo. To compare to chains I am familiar with in the United States, it's no Marriott, but it's definitely no Super 8 either.

Room Tip: I think the south tower is better because there are less floors therefore you have to share the elev...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SumSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Really impressed with the location, the room and service the last time i visited in December 2011, i decided to take my family there again for our summer visit (July 30-Aug 5, 2012). i got upgraded to the deluxe room, king bed, which sleep me, my wife, my son and my daughter comfortably. Even though, the room is newly renovated, i personally like the plaza comfort room which i stayed in the last time better. The latter room type even a bit older but is bigger and has a big separate shower area from the bathtub. The deluxe room only has shower head over bathtub and a bit too small for a tall person (1.86 M) such as me to take a shower. The hotel forgot to give me the disney shuttle bus voucher and I had to show the bus driver my room key card before they would let our party get on the bus, not a big deal but something they shouldn't have forgotten. Tokyo in August was hot even for a Thai like me. Be sure to bring light clothes, umbrella and drink lots of liquid.

Room Tip: if you like newer rooms go for the deluxe or the plaza premier but if you need a lot of space and do...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wate49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel is HUGE. It is located near the Shinjuku train station, but it's actually right next to one of the exits so if you want to avoid outside traffic, go underground. The restaurant prices in this hotel is ridiculously expensive. After having lunch on the first day for $70 USD (2 lunch specials!) we never ate in the hotel again. Instead there is a convenience store below with great prices. Bakery is great. Right outside is a bunch of noodle shops, 7-eleven and other quick foods to go.

The few problems I had was 1) they couldn't check me in early and I had to wait till 2pm, and I arrived on a red eye and got to the hotel at 9am! 2) The hotel seems to take in A LOT of school trips so there were just hundreds of high school kids clogging the hallways and elevators. 3) Even though the hotel lobby is huge there are hardly any chairs to sit at if you are waiting for someone.

The bell hop service was great. They reserved a cab for us going back to the airport since it was so early. The hotel is a major pickup area for tours and there is even a free shuttle to Disney Sea. You can't get bored in this area and don't need to walk far if you just want to take a stroll as there are so many options.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nice views and the bathroom is good with bathtub.
The fitness center is a joke though. It is completely useless and extremely small. It was hard to believe they would advertise the fitness center at their home page.
Food at the restaurants pricey.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank argeme1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We arrived at the Keio Plaza Hotel Shinjuku on 28/7/12 for three nights.
Bus from Narita airport takes you straight to the hotel at minimal cost.
Hotel porter takes bags on a trolley.
Check in counter professional- they wil also help you book any tours.
Room has all wanted features - totally comfortable and up to date.
All wanted commodities provided.
Restaurants are very good, bread is very bland.
Lots if quality shopping no more than 5-15 minutes walk from hotel.
A really lovely hotel in a great location.
Would return any time to enjoy the hospitality.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Excellent located within walking distance from the Shinjuku Station, this high quality hotel offer a feeling of discreet but yet very visible luxury and this to a reasonable price. Everything one would need is basically within walking distance (including easy access to the JR trains/airport) and the hotel also offer direct pick-up services for all kinds of tourist trips.

There are a number of independent good restaurant within the building, as well as several bars on the top, all offering a very nice view of the Tokyo skyline.

Sure, there is no WiFi in the rooms but there is a cable provided for free Internet connection so strictly speaking no problem. If anything annoying is that you even as a guest (at least at the time of writing this) would have to pay for attending the outdoor pool.

Still, and in my humble opinion, worth going to, especially as the ENTIRE staff come across as very friendly and customer focused! Well done :-)

Room Tip: Go for the executive rooms as an absolute minimum!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo_OutAndAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,415 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 83 in Shinjuku
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 83 in Shinjuku
976 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,332 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo

Address: 2-2-1 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-8330, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#6 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: $231 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1438
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keio Plaza Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing