We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tokyo”
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2010

Wonderful Hotel, I stay there often and love it. The staff is very hospitable. The rooms are a bit small but overall the stay is a nice experience.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
Thank AnankaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,037 - 3,043 of 4,591 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from Tokyo where we enjoyed a 3 night and a separate 2 night stay at the Hilton. We had been fortunate to book our rooms during the Hilton's recent advanced purchase, half price weekend sale, so were able to enjoy a junior suite for around the cost of a regular room. On our return stay we were able to purchase an upgrade for minimal cost, giving us access to their executive lounge and free internet access.

Service is impeccable. All staff are friendly and nothing is too much effort. All staff speak faultless english making the stay very easy. Our room was huge, with a modern japanese style and well appointed but compact western bathroom. The room was so quiet, we heard nothing from the corridor or near by lifts. Bed comfy, aircon quiet and the right temp, great range of toiletries etc. The breakfast buffet was an extensive range of western and japanese food and staff coped very well with the volume of guests (our second visit was during their spring long weekend, a very busy time).

Like almost every building we saw in Japan, the hotel is spotlessly clean and perfectly maintained. The housemaids do a turn down service and clean the bins and offer you fresh towels if you want.

The hotel is an easy 15 min walk to Shinjuku station and many department stores and the restaurants and nightlife of East Shinjuku. The hotel runs a free mini bus to and from the station each twenty minutes. We had english language newspapers delivered every day without having to ask.

The concierges (there were always at least 2, so no waiting) were always very helpful and as is the japanese way, expected no tip. Likewise the number of people to check you in and out meant this was also very efficient, there must have been 6 staff at reception when we checked out.

We enjoyed a beautiful meal in their French restaurant, clearly a special occasion venue, but by japanese restaurant standards it was not an unreasonable cost for the high quality food and service. On our return visit, a number of staff approached to ask if we were enjoying our stay and offerring their assistance, making us feel very welcome.

We would definitely stay again and would recommend the hotel to others, we couldn't find any fault.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank-Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Tokyo's always been pricey city and any 5 star hotel, good or bad, can lighten your wallet a bit. My signifcant other and I wanted to avoid the usual shoebox hotels in Tokyo, so somehow we ended up the Tokyo Hilton. Probably like many of you, there were preconceptions with Tokyo and Hilton. Gleaning from Lost In Translation, Tokyo can be such a metropolis in a parallel universe. And for Hilton, having a night visioned viewing of Paris Hilton would give the Hilton name a different zing. So with that, our stay in the Tokyo Hilton started with a revonated room but with a typical beige plasticky Japanese hotel bathroom.

The view was of buildings and streets, just like any typical view in a city, but at night, it just lit up and somehow it just felt right. The room was spacious so we didn't have to reconfigure the furniture to fit our suitcases, although I gathered the front desk gave me a slightly larger room judging from the fire escape map. I wasn't a fan of the glass table/desk though, as the supporting legs can be a toe jam hazard. The sheets were soft, there wasn't any dust on ledges anywhere, and they actually had decent bathroom amnenties that didn't smell like latex gloves. Housekeeping did have to bring me another water kettle though as the one in our room was lined with water plaque. And for this inconvenience, they gave us some fruit - actually 1 plum, 1 apple and 1 banana I may add - to be fair though, they do sell "premium" single bananas in the supermarkets for like 280 yen, so it's not like the Housekeeping manager decided to give me half his lunch.

You can always be rest assured with 5 star service in the Tokyo Hilton. The rooms are immaculately made up, the Concierge is experienced and knowledgable and the front desk never roll their eyes- so your needs be will tended too.

There's a shuttle bus to Shinjiku every 20 minutes, and if you're up for it, walking just takes 15 minutes. I didn't eat in the hotel at all as you will be overwhelmed with food choices in Shinjiku alone. And if you do your homework before you arrive Tokyo, you would have lined up all the great dining spots from the fish market to various fine dining spots.

My original decision to stay at the Hilton was to strike a balance between price and room size. It was value for money considering what is offered in Tokyo, so I may be back, that's if I don't put down a little more for the Penninsula next time!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VitaminM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Nice rooms, small bathrooms, very good views, the best location. Frendly staff

Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
2  Thank RuiSoares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

I have spend several days at this hotel in Tokyo. Although the staff are attentive, the are not efficient. Expect to wait on everything. It starts with the 2 hour ride from Narita airport, the extended checkin, and long waits at the restaurant. The rooms are nice, but walls are very thin and you can hear all what is happening next door. Fitness rooms, internet, and most other extras are expensive add-on costs. Despite the advertisement of a fitness room on my reservation, it was not "complimentary" and I was denied entrance without paying an approximate $20 fee. As an HHonors member, I would expect more.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LukesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

good location in the business district, above train station, close to restaurants, cafes, shops, easy to get around, fantastic service, clean and tidy rooms with great hotel amenities. would recommend to the holiday maker or business traveller.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Hilton Tokyo 01.17.10

Whatever you might have expected before you got here, you probably underestimated the hospitality of Japan and the people of this monster city.

The Hilton Tokyo, (there are also other Hiltons, including one at Narita airport), is in the luxury class for sure and deserves top ratings, both as compared with other hotels in the area and globally.

This sounds like an overly enthusiastic exaggeration, but it is true.

With some 45 years of world travel and thousands of hotel nights behind me, I can say it with conviction.

Every aspect of the service and facilities is top drawer. Apparently, the hotel was totally renovated a year or so ago and for all purposes, it is a sparkling new property with every convenience. We had a 30th floor up-graded, (they said), room with a stunning view towards the Shinjuku station area about a half mile east. At night, the view beyond and towards the center of the sprawling city was spectacular.

Arrival welcome was perfect. Desk personnel should be used to train all US hotel staff in courtesy, efficiency and knowledge.

Cute and efficient are only way to describe door/entry personnel who welcomed our airport bus and immediately handled luggage carefully and quickly. It was in the room almost as soon as we were.

All room elements were perfect with great, comfortable beds, plenty of storage space, LCD TV, computer access, (hi speed internet service, if you want it, is about $20/day), excellent lighting, mini fridge, all day water boiler for tea/coffee, safe, big closet with real wooden hangers and much, much more….things I don’t see in top of the line hotels elsewhere. The most interesting novelty in the bathroom was a combination bidet and squirt toilet seat. It might take you awhile to figure it out, but it is different. Certainly a new high in personal hygene.

Things to know:
Hotel area, Shinjuku, is great as a base for business or tourism. Quite and safe with restaurants outside hotel costing considerably less than hotel food places.

Long ride from Narita airport, and with traffic, prepare yourself for as much as 2 hours or more to get from airport to hotel.

Prices in Tokyo, with current dollar value, are steep, but match those of most other World Class cities.
Bar prices in the hotel are about the same as in New York, Paris, Frankfurt or San Francisco.
There is NO TIPPING or add on taxes, so it is not as bad as it first looks, but be prepared for $20 drinks and bottle prices that are prohibitive for some of us poor USA tourists.
Meals can also be costly and if you can deal with the local places, you can eat for a lot less. In general, most restaurants that are not at street level and have a western name will be cheaper. This is not always the case, because there are some top places with American names, but there is a Denny’s, (not the same menu as US Denny’s, but adequate food 24 hours a day), almost next door and another English-based restaurant, Royal Host, down the street where breakfast or lunch can run at less than $10-15 each.
Most meals I ordered anywhere were fine, but portions are smaller than one might expect and they reflect one reason that there are very few visible fat Japanese. If you want to lose weight, this is the place to come because fats and carbs are not as common on most menus, with the exception of noodles which are, of course, a staple. But dining in house at the hotel will set you back about the same as it would in other major hotels in any big city elsewhere.

Nearby, within walking distance, are two Hyatt properties with top rated restaurants and the price of a dinner there will be in the $200-300 per person range or more. Michelin stars notwithstanding, food quality seems to vary and often you may be paying for the flash and glamour as much as for the food and beverage.

This is the quietest hotel I have ever been in as far back as I can recall. I heard no outside or inside noise over the five day stay. Even the elevators are silent! Only exception is that there is a major hospital next door and occasionally ambulances arrive with accompanying sirens.

You can dine or have tea in the lobby patio restaurant at any time, but the St. George bar, which permits smoking, closes at one a.m.

Free hotel buses go to and from the Shinjuku station, the nearest rail and subway hub, every 30 minutes. Airport limo/shuttles will cost in the $30 range one way and should be booked well in advance.

If you want nightlife, remember that subways are closed (literally), from midnight to 5 a.m. and during that time, taxi is your only option, other than walking. Taxis are expensive.

English is spoken here, but less so elsewhere in Tokyo. If you need help, there are plenty of uniformed personnel everywhere throughout the city and they all seem willing to help with just about any problem you may have.

Although I don’t usually book Hilton properties because a few years back they tossed out several thousand of my Hilton Honors points when I was not using their hotels enough to suit them, I will still recommend this hotel as a fine place to hang your hat in Tokyo.

One other comment: if you are not accustomed to big city homless camping and living in the parks and on teh streets, Tokyo will perhaps shock you. Even on the Imperial Palace grounds, there are hundreds of dug in homeless with their temporary tent shelters camped out.Unlike street people in other cities, they keep to themselves and do not bother anyone. As far as we saw, the police ignore them. We saw no beggars anywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jjstives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 84 in Shinjuku
4,141 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 84 in Shinjuku
3,181 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 84 in Shinjuku
3,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 84 in Shinjuku
1,009 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 118 in Minato
3,266 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 84 in Shinjuku
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: $265 - $762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 821
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo is located in Shinjuku, the heart of Tokyo's business, shopping and entertainment district, and is an ideal place to experience modern Japan. A complimentary shuttle operates between the hotel and Shinjuku station and the Tokyo Metro subway is connected to the hotel. Relax in one of the modern Japanese-style rooms and admire stunning city views. The hotel offers WiFi and internet access throughout all rooms and public space. Rejuvenate in the 24-hour on-site health club and relax in the sauna or soothing whirlpool spa. Play tennis on the rooftop courts or swim laps in the indoor pool. Exercise with Technogym equipment, the official supplier of the Olympics and Paralympics. TSUNOHAZU expresses folkloric traditions and boundless energy of the Shinjuku neighborhood in an open-format space composed of colorful materials, surprising design elements and four distinct dining and entertainment zones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Rakuten, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing