We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated Executive Floor but DO NOT expect much”
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Newly renovated Executive Floor but DO NOT expect much”
Reviewed December 27, 2008

I stayed at the Hilton Tokyo over the Christmas period for 5 days - mainly for business but because Tokyo is such a dynamic city, I decided to extend for a few days to catch up with the vibrancy of the city. Unfortunately, my experience with the Hilton Tokyo in Shunjuku was not as positive.

The hotel website proclaims quite proudly that it now has newly renovated rooms and an executive floor. Well, thats as far as it goes really.

While the rooms look nice and new (for now), the housekeeping is somewhat not what you would expect of a top notch Hilton property and certainly I have seen much better standards at the Grand Hyatt (though its more expensive) and the Conrad Tokyo (excellent, simply excellent).

However, the WORST aspect is really the Executive Lounge, which is way way too small to cater to some 7 whole floors of executive rooms! Poor planning must have been the root cause of this anomaly. I am sure there must be some tried and tested formula for how large the executive lounge should be per 10 rooms and so on, but clearly, this was NOT the case here. The lounge was so congested and crowded and stuffy during the peak periods (breakfast and evening cocktails), it was quite a sad sight. The staff at the executive lounge kept struggling with the demands of the guests, and the food etc was slow to be replenished.

I saw hotel guests being turned away during breakfast and evening cocktails! I was quietly observing the mayhem (the concierge staff tried to be as polite as they could but really, the situation is unforgivable) including one American gentleman saying loudly that he has stayed in many Hiltons in his lifetime and he found this to be a disgrace to the name of the hotel chain.

My verdict is: DO NOT pay the extra and stay at the executive floors unless you do not really intend to use the lounge. However, with the money you will pay, I think it far more value-add and sensible to stay at some of the other better 4 to 5 star hotels in Tokyo (of which there are many).

  • Liked — Fairly convenient location to Shinjuku Station
  • Disliked — The Executive Lounge
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank SingaporeGuy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,151
    1,450
    377
    103
    69
See reviews for
1,049
1,138
394
972
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2008

The first impression of the Hilton Tokyo is of a beautiful lobby with a large restaurant/bar and several others on the first and second floors. The check-in service was perfect, and they were very forgiving of my lack of knowledge of Japanese.

The room also was lovely... free Internet, a great bed, perfect temperature controls, and a clean bathroom with the best water pressure from a shower that I can remember in years. The room had a large desk, a comfortable reading chair, and plenty of room for unpacking. The views of Tokyo from the upper floors were interesting for this first-time visitor. The concierge was helpful with explaining travel options getting around the city.

The restaurant off of the lobby serves a western-style buffet breakfast, which also includes Japanese breakfast foods for the adventurous. I stuck with the American breakfast, and since I was a bit concerned about the food I'd get the rest of the day, I definitely ate a lot there and had as much coffee as I could stand.

The prices can tend to be high, but it was a great place to stay... close enough (but not too close) to Metro stations and to Shinjuku Station. I'd happily stay there on any business trip.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IntegralPoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2008

We stayed here for one night only, on our way from London to Kyoto.
Chose the hotel for the convenient location near to Shinjuku station.
There is a complimentary shuttle bus from Shinjuku station to the hotel - it took us a while to find the bus stop (no. 21) though !

We checked in early, which was not a problem. As my wife was a gold card member, we expected to be given lounge access or a room upgrade, which is normally the case in with Hilton, however this time we were not offered either.

The room was OK, quite bland, very clean but the bathroom was rather old looking. Size was average for Hilton, but I guess not bad for Tokyo. It was a 10 minute walk to the madness of Shinjuku itself (Kabukicho area is great fun if you don't mind crowds and noise !).

We found an interesting buffet restaurant on the 8F of Lumine Est building, called 'Bitter Sweets Buffet'. All you can eat from a wide range of pasta, pizza, salads, cakes and sushi, for about 2500 yen each. There was a 2 hour time limit, amazingly some people were pushing that limit !!!

The hotel was quite boring - we did not really stay long enough to use all the facilities. No complaints, however next time I would return to the Hyatt Regency almost next door - I have stayed there before and it was nicer than the Hilton.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Old bathroom
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCSide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

I stayed here during my trip to Tokyo and it was great. We had arrived rather early and there wasnt any room available as yet. As we had been travelling the night before with a baby, we needed to change him and freshen ourselves up before we went out. The service staff were very nice to arrange for us to use the gym facilities and freshen up while they tried to get a room available.

The hotel is very centrally located. Other than the free bus service to Shinjuku station, there are 2 other stations within 3-5mins walking distance. It was simply fabulous especially when you don't wish to wait for the bus.

Also, there is a 24hours Dennys across the road which is good when you have hunger pangs in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcess_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2008

This is the best Hilton I have ever stayed in my whole life. I have stayed in Hilton hotels around the world including at Toronto, Miami, Chicago, Sao Paulo, Paris, Frankfurt and I have found it top amongst others in terms of room quality, size, amenities and restaurants.

I stayed in executive junior suite and the accommodation in absolutely fantastic with plush bedding, oversized windows, work-desk, good shower and above all morning breakfast and evening cocktails at executive lounge. The quality and variety of the food is first class and best in service. Staff is polite and humble and takes care of all your needs immediately. Its proximity to train stations is a plus. I only tried couple of restaurants in the hotel and found them decently priced comparing with same in other nearby hotels. Shinju-ku is a nice area to stay for westerners and I would highly recommend that Hilton should be a top choice for your next stay at Tokyo.

  • Liked — Executive lounge services
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nwajustdoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

I stayed 8 nights in this very big hotel, conveniently located near shinjuku jr station (the busiest station all over the world).
Staff is extremely friendly and helpful, rooms are large, clean and quiet.
Unfortunately internet access is not free (about 15$ a day), and hotel restaurants are way too expensive.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gd2to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

Stayed here for 5 nights in a 36th floor executive king suite. Very central location close to Shinjuku station (7 minute walk or 3 minute free shuttle bus) Room was immaculately clean (daily cleaning incuding 'fold-down' doona service!), bed very comfortable, flat-screen tv, and excellent water pressure in shower. Also had wide window with shoji screens and great views (overlooked north west aspect of city and nearby park, not central city - but still amazing especially at night). 3 day free wireless internet access in room. As I was on executive floor I had complimentray breakfast in 37th floor executive lounge, access to free wireless internet in the lounge at any time of day, complimentary drinks during cocktail hour(!), and complimentary use of all sporting facilities incl pool. Only negative was that some noise from the other floors tended to be carried through the air-con vents. But overall very comfortable and refreshing stay if you're willing to pay (just under $400AUD/night)

  • Liked — cleanliness and comfort
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank angeliahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,804 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,814 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Property: Hilton Tokyo
Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo boasts market leading contemporary guestrooms, spectacular bars and restaurants and one of the finest health clubs in the city. Enjoy Tokyo's most popular location - Shinjuku, with easy access to JR Shinjuku Station and direct access from the hotel to the Tokyo Metro (Subway). Follow us on facebook Hilton Tokyo (Official) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Rakuten, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing