We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best Hilton I've used”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Probably the best Hilton I've used”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Handy shuttle bus picked us up from Shinjuku station. Quick check in by friendly staff member & upgraded to larger suite.
Room spacious, 2 TVs & great views from 38th floor. Bathroom ok size but found it a bit of a struggle to get into the bath to take a shower.
Exec Lounge was big but often crowded. Staff always friendly & helpful. Breakfast in lounge was adequate but high light was evening drinks & snacks.
In good area with plenty of restaurants in surrounding buildings.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest
thankyou for your overall positive score and for comparing our hotel so favourably - that is very encouraging for all team members. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities especially our famous Executive Lounge and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,105
    1,413
    374
    102
    66
See reviews for
1,025
1,099
391
960
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is one of the most convenient hotels that i have stayed. To start off, the hotel itself looks like has been renovated as from outside it looks a bit old, but you would be surprised when you get into your room. Colorful room, with Japanese window and a very large rooms for a Japanese standard. The only draw back was the concierge staff were a bit rude and so were some(not all) of the front office staff. Apart from the rooms, the other best thing is you have free shuttle to the central part of the town, Shinjuku, where you can go to shopping...food..or even the main Shinjuku subway station. The shuttle service is available till 930PM in the night.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy a mild earth quake stay in the top floor...38th floor. Thats what i did. Enjoye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kishan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest
thankyou for your 5/5 review and great tips about our location and regular shuttle service to the shopping area. I have noted with concern your comment about some of your interactions with our front office team members, this is not acceptable and I will be sharing this feedback in briefings with them. We experience frequent mild earth tremors in Tokyo and glad to read that it added to your overall travel experience. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Excellent location not only for business but for family vacations as well. The subway entrance is below the hotel, including great access to the JR Railway station. Sites within walking distance and felt very satisfied with local services convenient to hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Luz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest
thankyou for your 5/5 review and excellent comments about our location that is very helpful for other travellers. We hope to see you back again in Tokyo soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Simple, relatively compact and clean room. I was in a room with two singles on 24th floor facing the backside of the hotel which actually had a little bit of a view in the distance as the front side of the hotel has several office towers blocking much of the city view. The room is clean with a simple layout, not sure on how recent the rooms are however room, furniture and fixtures fairly recent. strong water pressure. Very nice breakfast spread in the main lobby dining room and very good service as in many places in Tokyo. Lounge food also very nice, not the full more comprehensive spreads of the Conrad near the tsukiji market (or Conrad HGK) but still very nice.

A few key points for this hotel:
- Access to the subway system (Shinjuku station) directly from the hotel or a walk from outside if you would like - about 15-20 min. fast walking to subway station (I did not time myself but that is my guess - whatever the case relatively short walk)
- Nice breakfast
- Compact, simple, clean and modern rooms, quiet a/c
- Lounge staff and dining room staff all very helpfull and pleasant
(I had no specific issues or requests)
- approx. 37 floors , kind of a semi-circle shaped building
- No steam sauna, only dry sauna (the Conrad Tokyo has a stomping good steamroom)
- Great location in Tokyo - about 20 minute walk from what i would consider a very happening area in Tokyo yet a quick walk back to the quiet business district where the hotel is located - the immediate blocks around the hotel are primarily office towers.


Only stayed here and the Conrad in Tokyo, both great, Conrad complete different area. I preferred Shinjuku area and i had no specific needs to be in any particular district.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank winterday21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest
thankyou for your overall positive review score. Thankyou also for you comprehensive feedback about your room, our facilities, food and great location. We are glad to read we compared favourably and look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Despite the sticker shock, overall, a very positive experience. Even when you know everything is more expensive in Tokyo, you may feel a bit of a sting when you check into this very welcoming, big hotel. And it's not that the prices are unreasonable; rather, the bill grows big quickly, especially if you're converting yen to dollars in your mind with every purchase. Still, the rooms are quiet, clean, sleek and modern; you'll breathe a huge sigh of relief when you close the door on a hectic day in Shinjuku. That walk to the station may cause you to break a sweat, and yet it may not be worth it to pay for a taxi that sits in traffic. HIlton provides lots of reasons to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barracoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest
thankyou for your overall positive review and feedback to other visitors on our Hotel. Now the exchange rate is very favourable so we look forward to your return and showcasing many new facilities since your last visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Always a good place to relax out of the busy Tokyo life. A little bit of a walking distance below ground to Shinjuku station but doable. The staff there are always professional, the rooms have always been clean. Overall great place, and will continue to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoopyusmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest
thankyou for the overall positive review of our Hotel and services for your stay last September. We have renovated an additional 340 rooms since your last visit and currently renovating our level 2 restaurants and kitchens so we look forward to welcoming you again and hearing your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Hilton in Shinjuku Tokyo for a week. The hotel lobby can get busy at times, but never to the point of discomfort though. The staff are very helpful and always willing to help. The hotel is closely situated to the station and shops in Shinjuku and offers a free shuttle bus service regularly to the station. We stayed in the Junior suites which are very spacious and pleasantly furnished, although the bathroom is small. The hotel swimming pool is also small, although sufficient for a quick dip. The restaurants on the second floor were closed due to renovations, so the only restaurant we ate in was the Marble lounge. The food was nice but expensive. Luckily there are several decent restaurants in the area that we enjoyed for less than half the price that we paid at the hotel. Paying $10 for a bottle of 250ml Coke when you order room service is very expensive when you can get the same drink for $1.50 from the convenience store in the Hiltopia shopping centre next to the hotel. Overall, good location, good service, expensive restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest
thankyou for your overall positive review of our Hotel and services. We hope you and the family may be able to return later in the year to experience the amazing dining concepts planned for our level 2. Offerings will include Chinese, Western Grill and Japanese featuring Sushi counter, Teppan and Kaiseki courses along with an additional bar featuring live entertainment and a gourmet takeout counter. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,706 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,745 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Property: Hilton Tokyo
Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo boasts market leading contemporary guestrooms, spectacular bars and restaurants and one of the finest health clubs in the city. Enjoy Tokyo's most popular location - Shinjuku, with easy access to JR Shinjuku Station and direct access from the hotel to the Tokyo Metro (Subway). Follow us on facebook Hilton Tokyo (Official) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing