We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad”
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The drive from the airport was really long. Walking in, there was this huge choir singing christmas carols so loud that I could barely here anything. It connected to the metro, which was nice. Do not eat the food unless your japanese! Americanized food was fine, but the local cuisine was inedible to me. The room was very comfortable, with a great view of the city and Mt. Fuji. But, our bathroom wasn't updated, so it was awful. I would definitely stay there again, though.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Mt. Fuji and a room with an updated bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Tokyo and I am glad you enjoyed your stay including our guestrooms, location and views.

I am however disappointed that you did not enjoy the Christmas ambiance provided by our children's choir or Japanese cuisine. Whilst we respect your opinion and preferences they are in contrast to the overwhelmingly positive comments concerning our Christmas activities. Concerning Japanese breakfast items, the majority of our guests are Japanese and the Japanese breakfast items are prepared to suit the local palate and culinary traditions - for these items we also receive consistently positive feedback. Bathrooms in the hotel are also of an excellent standard but in some room categories we feature a TOTO Japanese wet area style which is different from North America whilst offering the same functionality.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,156
    1,452
    377
    103
    69
See reviews for
1,050
1,143
394
973
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights during a business trip. The service was very friendly, the location was very convenient, and the property was clean and modern. I received an upgrade to a fantastic room on the club level which included breakfast, a great and diverse selection of both continental and local cuisine. The concierge was helpful and taxis were easy to arrange. The hotel has a gift shop and all needed amenities and a nice bar. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5/5 review and recommendation to other travelers.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back and once again extending our hospitality.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of a Korea and Japan trip. The staff were not the friendliest but the check in process was undertaken with perfect Japanese precision. The lobby area was grand and the rooms luxurious with stunning views of the Shinjuku skyline. The room size was large for Tokyo standards. The best thing about this hotel was the location with free shuttles to shinjuku station and several restaurants and izakaya's near the station. It's also a short train journey to shibuya which has amazing themed restaurants. There are no restaurants around this hotel for dinner though and most lunch places seem to be in the atria if large office buildings - best to be avoided. I'd definitely stay here again though as we had a great time all in all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetAzNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and it is wonderful to know we exceeded your expectations.

When you next return to stay with us please speak with our concierge as there are 100's of restaurants within easy walking distance outside the hotel. West of the hotel is one of Tokyo's most popular dining precincts with many interesting streets to explore and to enjoy Japanese and international foods in a casual ambiance.

We wish you safe onward travels.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

An excellent hotel to stay in! In a great part of tokyo and you can catch the free shuttle bus to and from Shinjuku station. The club was awesome and they served excellent little tasty snacks and free drinks at night. Also the metropolitan building is across the street. The staff was superb in helping out and the concierge was top notch. The breakfast in restaurant was superb!The best part is if you are arriving into Narita take the Airport shuttle bus and it drops you off at the front door. Will be staying here again next time I come to Tokyo

Room Tip: pay for suite its awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jason s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you sincerely for your 5/5 review. We truly appreciate the time taken to share your experience.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Tokyo.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This Hilton has an executive lounge, but unless you book a room in the lounge floor, even with your Gold/Diamond status, you would not be able to access the lounge. We only found out during check-in and at that time, there wasn't any room available, even if we were to pay for the upgrade. It is a disappointment for us as that is one of the main reasons I pick the Hilton brand hotel.

It also looks like the hotel is in the middle of renovating its bathrooms, as we were given one that was quite dated, while I see much updated ones in TripAdvisor.

The hotel is relatively convenient...it has a walkway to Nishi-Shinjuku station from lobby but if you want stops and restaurants, most of them are near the Shinjuku JR station which is about 10-15 min walk away. There is a hotel shuttle to the Shinjuku station every half an hour or so that is quite convenient.

The staff in the breakfast buffet area have good service, but towards the buffet closing time, they tend to not picking up our empty plates.... overall the service is good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whimsical_sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us.

All Hilton HHonors Diamond Members have access to the Executive lounge regardless of guestroom upgrade availability.

Gold HHonors Members are only able to access the lounge if they are upgraded to Executive Floor accommodation on arrival.

As mentioned in previous management responses Hilton Tokyo is a very busy hotel and we suggest all guest book the room type required at the time of reservation to avoid disappointment.


We wish you safe onward travels.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were given a lovely greeting from the staff here on our arrival. The rooms were beautifully made up and toiletries very nice. My 10 year old daughter lost her shoulder bag a week earlier when we began our trip to Japan and the concierge staff went to no end of trouble to help us find it. I will be eternally grateful for this! I did find the website slightly misleading in that the price did not accommodate the additional members of our family. However, this was sorted with emails.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank your for staying with us and I am very pleased you had a wonderful stay. My team and I really appreciate hearing from our guests and to know that they truly enjoyed their stay whilst our guest.

We wish you safe onward travels and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is our fourth visit to Tokyo. We stayed at two other five star hotels in Shinjuku in the past. Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku is the most outstanding and memorable one.

We stayed for six nights in last December. We booked two Executive rooms (1 King and 1 twin plus extra bed) through CX holidays. As there wasn't much information given on the travel agent's website, we expected to receive standard service with a high price tag. Fantastically, this stay has exceeded much of our expectation.

Before our departure from Australia, I had to ensure that there would be three beds for my teenage children in their room as this was not clearly confirmed by the agent. So, I had to contact the hotel reservation department myself and we had a number of exchanges of email because they couldn't find our reservation due to some systematic issues with the travel agent. I was so impressed by the efficiency of the reservation staff in locating our record and answering my enquiries. A job well done.

We received a warm welcome by the Reception staff and the check-in was smooth. We were given rooms on the 38th floor. The rooms were spacious, modern and clean (I think they have undergone some refurbishment a couple of years ago). How nice to be in a hotel bedroom as comfortable as the one in your own house! Perhaps, it is the executive floor, it is pleasantly quiet on this level. The view from our room was impressive. I personally appreciate the sliding paper and wooden screens at the windows which add a fine Japanese touch to the room.

We made enquiries about a tour to Mt. Fuji/Hakone. The Concierge staff was so efficient and helpful in assisting us to book a tour on our arrival as well as the airport shuttle bus to Haneda Airport. We would like to thank all the staff (Ms. Nakamura and others) in recommending us some nice restaurants and making the bookings for us accordingly. It was often very busy at this desk but they were always patiently rendered their assistance.

Staying on the Executive floor, we could freely use the Executive lounge at its opening hours. We enjoyed the exclusive use of it. Especially after a long day out, it was nice to have a relaxing place, not confining in one's own room, for a drink before heading out again. The staff was friendly and happy to have a chat with the patrons. Our special thanks to Sho Goto-san, Emi Suzuki-san and all the staff who work on this floor for their exemplary services. You have made our stay very memorable.

The buffet breakfast and pre-dinner canape were very nicely prepared. There is not a wide variety of food as in some other Asian countries which can be overwhelming and excessive but enough. We do enjoy the simple elements and concepts of Japanese food.

The location of the hotel is not that close to the Shinjuku train station; but, there is a shuttle bus service running back and forth between the hotel and the station at a 20 minute interval. There is a also a subway connecting the hotel and the Marunouchi line. One won't get wet in the rain (we had three days of rain during our stay) to catch a train and it is very safe to walk at night time. The i-land building next door has a few eateries and a building nearby has a few fine dining restaurants.

If we visit Tokyo again, we will certainly consider to stay at Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku again.

Room Tip: the Executive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5/5 review and I am so pleased you had a wonderful time with your family.

I will also have your comments translated and shared with the team as they truly appreciate hearing from our guests.

We wish you a wonderful 2014 and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,819 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Property: Hilton Tokyo
Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo boasts market leading contemporary guestrooms, spectacular bars and restaurants and one of the finest health clubs in the city. Enjoy Tokyo's most popular location - Shinjuku, with easy access to JR Shinjuku Station and direct access from the hotel to the Tokyo Metro (Subway). Follow us on facebook Hilton Tokyo (Official) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing