We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views!”
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The staff were fantastic! The hotel is very convenient to Shinjuku station and other amenities. The rooms were similar in size to those of Australia. The views across the city were simply stunning. We were traveling as a couple and older teenager. The Hilton arranged for conjoining rooms, to give us both privacy and space. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hekyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very complimentary review.

Thank you for choosing Hilton Tokyo and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,253 - 2,259 of 4,588 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

What else can I say about the Hilton Tokyo other than it was a fantastic place to stay while in Tokyo. I stayed for 3 nights by using Hilton Honors Points. Checking into this hotel was a smooth process as the front desk staff was friendly as well as professional (and spoke fluent English). The room was what I would expect from a Hilton seeing how it was clean and arranged quite well so that any guest would feel comfortable. Though my view from the 37th floor was a nice added bonus. The executive lounge was a nice place to grab a tasty snack and drink in the morning and the evening. They really take good care of Hilton Honors gold members. Although the hotel wasn't a close walk to Shinjuku Station, the complimentary shuttle service accounted for that fact. If you don't want to wait for the shuttle there are also two subway lines within walking distance below the hotel which was also quite convenient. Overall this is a great, quality hotel to stay at while in Tokyo and it is exactly what you would expect from a Hilton property.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am so pleased that you were impressed with the quality of the Hilton Tokyo as a Hilton Hhonors elite member.

Thank you for sharing your experience on this forum and my team and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back when your travels next take you to Tokyo.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Used Hilton Honors Points for 2 rooms so can’t really complain. Staff were courteous and helpful. Our rooms were not particularly luxurious but fine. I wondered whether you get nicer rooms if you are not using Loyalty Points.

Breakfast buffet was very nice but needs a little reorganising. There were huge queues. Residents should be encouraged to go to different stations and there would be more numerous but shorter queues. What was happening was that the polite residents were joining a ONE LONG queue of people many of whom just wanted, say, the Japanese breakfast but not the Western one. So all the residents who wanted the western food would wait behind the clients selecting their miso soup and grilled fish. A bit barmy really and easily solved by delineating the cuisines somehow. It got to the stage where we would just cut right in for our sausages and scrambled egg. It looked really rude but life is too short to wait in a line behind 20 people, many of whom don’t even want what you want – it’s just that what they want comes first!

This is not a hugely picturesque area (finding the hotel by following signs for Metropolitan Govt Offices gives you a clue!) Lots of good eateries close by (including the underground passes) if you know to look. Our first stop was the nearby Spaghetti Goemon – I love pasta done Japanese style! There are several different conbinis (convenience stores) nearby and they sell different brands of beer so if you have a favourite tipple have a quick look. My husband found a favourite black beer in a conbini which was pretty useless for everything else!

One travel tip – if you are arriving at Narita Airport on a Friday or Saturday evening and do not have much luggage consider taking the Narita Express to Shinjuku. Our ride in on the “Friendly Airport Limousine Bus” took over 2 hours because of the weekend traffic. On the way out however, we left at 7am and the ride was fine. And of course the bus is much handier if you have more luggage as it is door to door. Japanese people travel very light as they often use a courier service (eg Takkubin).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your loyalty to Hilton.

For HHonors point redemption you can choose your room category for redemption. For your reservation you selected a standard guestroom - Deluxe, Executive and Suites are also available.

Concerning breakfast - Hilton Tokyo is a very popular hotel and culturally Japanese guests do form queues and wait in a very orderly and patient fashion. Cuisines are also separated into 8 different areas and we encourage all guests to move freely around the buffet. As you suggested please move to the area of the buffet that interests you and choose items freely.

Thank you for your feedback and safe travels.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband and 4 friends stayed 5 nights at Tokyo Hilton. This was our second trip to Tokyo and I have to say that Tokyo Hilton just made it perfect! The rooms are huge - they are exactly what we would expect in Sydney. Last time we stayed in a wardrobe pretty much. and this was HEAVEN! The buffet breakfast was amazing. It is probably only second to Glass buffet breakfast. There was a wonderful manager there by the name of Leon who honestly made the trip even more special! He gave us so many tips and didnt mind that I ordered 3 double espresso's every morning as the coffee was so good! The gym there is AMAZING. and there is a sauna and swimming pool. The hotel itself is about a 10minute walk to Shinjuku station but honestly its worth it. On our nights out we would catch a cab home which was only about 700 YEN. Cannot recommend it enough...its true hilton luxury.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and I am so pleased as a hotelier to know that we created a truly memorable stay.

I hope we have the opportunity in the near future to have you back at the hotel as our guest.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Before my trip to Tokyo, I researched the best location to spend four day exploring this mega city and I settled for this Hilton close to the Shinjuku station. Well, after I arrived I realized that for a first time tourist in the city, the best place to stay in Tokyo is somewhere close to the Tokyo station, 20 minutes by subway from the Hilton. It will save you hours of commute to the best attractions in this wonderful city.

Other than the location, this Hilton is a great hotel, with outstanding service (kind of the norm in Japan) but dated rooms with tiny bathrooms. The breakfast is amazing so try to get it included in your rate.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicente R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review however I am very dissappointed that you did not enjoy our location.

Tokyo is one of the worlds largest cities (44 million working population in greater Tokyo) and there is no central area located to tourist attractions. Shinjuku is the number one location for international visitors to Japan due to its location and the easy access it provides to all parts of the city. Additionally Shinjuku is the largest single shopping destination, home to Tokyo's Central Park, The Skyscraper district and Kabukicho.

Tokyo is a city that is explored by train/subway and walking with a myriad of options making travel easy and inexpensive. Unlike concentrated locations like Hong Kong, Singapore or Sydney this does take time but truly immerses travelers in the location.

We wish you safe onward travels and look forward to welcoming you back to one of our hotels around the globe.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel. As a family of four with two young boys, we booked a suite to accommodate two extra roller-a-way beds. This was cheaper than booking two rooms, which we had to do at most other Japanese hotels and a great option to really spread out and feel relaxed. The suite was very large, with a great view over Shinjuku office buildings. Our king size bed was so comfortable, it was just so good, I keep wanting to be back in it! The large room with great beds was a wonderful way to rest after all our shopping. The breakfast was fantastic with Western and Japanese options. The kids loved the pancakes & donuts and my husband loved the omelette station. Breakfast was included in the advance payment web option, so great value. The bathroom could have been a little more modern, but we were happy with it. The free shuttle bus to & from the train station was great for getting to the shopping district. We loved this hotel & would stay again.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank ColeFamilyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review and we appreciate the time taken to share your experiences.

We truly appreciate that you recommend Hilton Tokyo to other travelers.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General manager
'\Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our stay in this hotel was nothing short of fantastic. The hotel is very clean, the beds are comfortable, and the room we stayed in had an updated bathroom.The hotel is also situated in a very convenient area. It is close to a number of eating places and within walking distance to Family Mart and Starbucks. Transportation is not a problem as well since the hotel has a link underground to the Marunouchi Line. The complimentary shuttle service to Shinjuku Station was also frequent and convenient during our stay.

Our experience with Hilton Tokyo was almost perfect in every way except that, when we checked in, it took a while before we were able to get a room. This was, however, not so much of an issue as we stayed in the lobby while waiting, and the entire place smelled terrific (some sort of green tea fragrance). Their staff was also very helpful. My brother bought plenty of stuff from Amazon, and we were always notified by phone to pick them up just when we get back to our room.

We stayed in the upper floors and the city view outside was also nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone though their rates may be a bit steep for budget travelers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wickedsundowner09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5/5 review and we sincerely appreciate the time taken to share your experience.

We are committed to providing the finest levels of hospitality and it is great that we were able to create a wonderful stay for you.

Wishing you a wonderful 2014.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 84 in Shinjuku
4,138 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 84 in Shinjuku
3,175 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 84 in Shinjuku
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 84 in Shinjuku
1,008 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 118 in Minato
3,265 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 84 in Shinjuku
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: $261 - $736 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 821
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo is located in Shinjuku, the heart of Tokyo's business, shopping and entertainment district, and is an ideal place to experience modern Japan. A complimentary shuttle operates between the hotel and Shinjuku station and the Tokyo Metro subway is connected to the hotel. Relax in one of the modern Japanese-style rooms and admire stunning city views. The hotel offers WiFi and internet access throughout all rooms and public space. Rejuvenate in the 24-hour on-site health club and relax in the sauna or soothing whirlpool spa. Play tennis on the rooftop courts or swim laps in the indoor pool. Exercise with Technogym equipment, the official supplier of the Olympics and Paralympics. TSUNOHAZU expresses folkloric traditions and boundless energy of the Shinjuku neighborhood in an open-format space composed of colorful materials, surprising design elements and four distinct dining and entertainment zones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Rakuten, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing