We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic big chain hotel”
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Classic big chain hotel”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a classic big chain hotel; efficient, clean and large rooms , totally soul-less. That said, we found the concierge service excellent. And the availability of free buses to and from the enormous Shinjuku railway station is a great plus.

Room Tip: Go up high for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewjameswarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are however not happy that we did not impart any significant impression on you during your stay and Hilton Tokyo is committed to creating a unique and memorable environment through our unique Japanese/Western style and service. My team and I will continue to focus on this and to refine what we offer to ensure an experience unique to our Japan Flagship hotel - Hilton Tokyo.

Our current renovations which will be completed in 2014 will also further enhance this with outstanding Japanese design and materials of a very high standard.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,155
    1,452
    377
    103
    69
See reviews for
1,050
1,142
394
973
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

First time in Tokyo and this hotel exceeded my expectations. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Location is really good as well although I wish the shuttle ran a little later. Overall a 5 star experience

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5/5 review and my team appreciated your feedback.

We wish you safe onward travels and look forward to seeing you back at Hilton Tokyo.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights on the 50 year anniversary deal in an executive suite. The hotel, room (the bed is the best I've ever slept in)Funky bathroom. metro is connected to the hotel it is very central.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Souxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable in our suite accomodation.

Thank you for choosing Hilton Tokyo and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
177 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

If you are in town for business, consider The Hilton Tokyo only if you are in this part of town.

If touring, I would consider other areas closer to the popular sites. On thing to consider, if you are here in the summer and considering visiting Mt. Fuji, this is a great location as the Mt Fuji bus to the 5th station(level) on the mountain departs from a station just 10 minute walk from the hotel.

Rooms spacious, quiet, clean. Staff helpful and friendly. Two subway lines just minutes away, and the mighty Shinjuku Station a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattleflyer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is also wonderful to receive a review from such an experienced traveler.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed for two nights in October. It was a standard Hilton hotel. The room was however big compared to Tokyo standard. And they had the most comfortable bed and fluffiest towels. Breakfast was good with wide selections. But it appeared that the breakfast room was not big enough and those who were not early birds had to wait in line for breakfast.

The fact that airport bus stopped at the hotel was good. However, I did not find the location convenient. For us, there was not much sightseeing to do in Shinjuku. So next time, we will probably try to do better research and stay closer to the sights we want to visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kritima P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and I am glad you loved our beds, linens and service.

Concerning location, Tokyo is a very large city of over 30 million people (resident) and 44 million (working) and there is no central location for sightseeing. The various tourist sites are all over the city and Shinjuku provides the largest transport center to get around quickly and efficiently. Additionally we have two subway lines accessible from the hotel basement. Our 24 hour Concierge team are also available to assist you with all transport requirements whilst our guest!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TXAggieLady
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here to spend one night on the town while visiting family in Tokyo. It is convenient to the Shinjuku station but the issue is, when we went to walk around until our room was ready, we ran into a number of homeless people. Then we went into our room and behold, we had a view of the tent city. The rooms were nice and cozy and clean. My husband would advise that if you are not used to a group bath in Japan, that this hotel is mostly full of Japanese so they have no issues with sitting butt check to butt cheek in a group hot tub. He as the only westerner, so he did the polite wait 5 minutes and leave, but he much preferred the option of a private bath to rent.
The business office was wonderful shipping some items for us and we had a business lunch with a client form the U.S. at their restaurant which was quite good.

Room Tip: a room away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXAggieLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 4/5 review however I am rather perplexed with your comments on a tent city and the view of the tent city from the hotel.

Shinjuku Chuo Park is located approximately 300 meters from the hotel directly adjacent the Hyatt Regency and Park Hyatt. There are homeless people in the park however there is definitely no tent city and they pose no risk whatsoever to residents or guests. Tokyo as one of the largest city's in the world has homeless people in all areas of the city much like New York, London, Paris or Beijing.

I would however like to confirm for readers of this forum that the hotel has a view of the park but from 11-38 stories up and 300+ meters away with trees and other buildings there is no view of people using the park. The Tokyo Metropolitan Government and other organizations also work closely with the homeless residents of the city to provide meals and shelter accommodation. Hilton also conducts activities in the park periodically to assist in this cause.

Concerning our fitness center we do have a traditional Japanese bath and this is utilized only naked. The concept of communal bathing is a part of the Japanese culture and this facility is a part of our fitness area on level 5. It is a large area and personal space is always respected. For guests not wanting to experience this all of our guestrooms have full bathrooms with bath and shower.

We thank you for your candid feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merksplas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Excellent hotel in Shinjuku area of Tokyo. Well located, excellent service. It was a wonderful place to stay for 4 days. Nearby restaurants and shopping area. direct access to a metro station. walking distance to Shinjuku station. direct bus service to Narita Airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Herbert6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5/5 review it is sincerely appreciated.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,811 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,819 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Property: Hilton Tokyo
Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo boasts market leading contemporary guestrooms, spectacular bars and restaurants and one of the finest health clubs in the city. Enjoy Tokyo's most popular location - Shinjuku, with easy access to JR Shinjuku Station and direct access from the hotel to the Tokyo Metro (Subway). Follow us on facebook Hilton Tokyo (Official) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing