We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up to par with Hilton's worldwide.”
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Tokyo
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Having stayed in several of the newer Hilton properties in UK, US and Asia, the Tokyo Hilton, itself already a legend, has been renovated to reflect the modern minimalist design that had become the trademark of the newer Hiltons.
The lobby is indeed busy, but ushers prompt you to the next available staff. Rooms in the executive floor are large and well-appointed with free wifi and free light meals at various times during the day at the Executive Lounge on the 37th floor, with a stupendous view of Tokyo. The staff in the lounge are extremely pleasant and converse well in English, with a peculiar American accent.
Access to the main train stations is aided by a free shuttle to Shinjuku or a basement walkway to the subway which can connect you on to the other stations.
Will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorBakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

My team and I sincerely appreciate the time taken to share your experience with readers of this forum.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when your travels next take you to Tokyo.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,451 - 2,457 of 4,703 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

One of the best hotels I've ever been to in my life. The price is high, but there is a reason :) If you're visiting from another country and can afford this hotel, go all out! You won't regret it.

The bathrooms were alright, the bed was very comfortable, the view was amazing and the staff were very friendly and spoke English very well. The breakfast was amazing with a traditional Japanese section and a more Western type of breakfast. The hotel is within walking distance of many shops and a nice park across the way that was very well lit even in the early AM hours.

Room Tip: Try getting a higher floor for views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfnyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am so happy you had such a wonderful stay and that you have recommended our hotel to other travelers.

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Staying here right now. Clean, up-to-date, well cared for. I have only two issues to keep it from a higher rating. First, though they advertise that you can watch streaming video on their internet, I have been unable to -- it keeps pausing, making it un-watchable. Second (and this isn't something they can probably avoid), but their executive lounge is always very crowded. Can't really move in it without bumping into someone. That's probably more of an east-vs-west comfort with personal space.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigJConrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am glad you are enjoying your stay and we appreciate that you have chosen to stay with us.

I am however concerned that you have not brought any issues concerning internet bandwidth to our attention. The hotel has access to significant bandwidth and we have not experienced reports of this nature previously. Please contact our provider iBahn from your room and they will rectify this immediately. If you are accessing the complimentary wifi in our lobby please note bandwidth is limited and this service is intended for web browsing and email.

Our Executive Lounge is a very popular place especially during the current bad weather and holiday season - we appreciate your understanding.

I hope that we can assist you and if you need further assistance to make your stay perfect please contact our manager on duty 24 hours.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

When I travel outside the US at an American chain hotel, I expect the service to be on par if not better than in my home country. While traveling to Tokyo for work, it was hard to feel like anything more than a number at this hotel given it's massive size and the throngs of people passing through daily.

Getting There
The most convenient way is to take a shuttle bus directly to the hotel from the airport (with the hotel name written in Japanese). However, since I arrived late at night they could only take me to Shinjuku station, which is a fairly confusing and lengthy walk with luggage in the humid summers. Taxis are way too expensive, so if you do get dropped off near the train station, make sure you have clear instructions in Japanese and English or can get the shuttle bus from the train station. The surrounding location has a Starbucks relatively close as well as other shops and restaurants, but you will have to look for them within other buildings without super clear signage for those not fluent in Japanese. Luckily, this location was very close to my company's Tokyo office, so taking a taxi proved to be the easiest.

Common Spaces
The lobby has recently been redone according to the hotel. Upon arrival, I was told that my room type wasn't available in non-smoking, so I was put in a room with two twin beds. However, once my key did not appear to work the first time, the staff did personally escort me to my room to make sure it worked the 2nd time.

The areas throughout the hotel all appear clean, but the lobby during the day feels a bit like a zoo with lots of different people including business men, tourists groups and other travelers. The concierge desk right by the door was fairly helpful with finding nearby places to eat and even making reservations. The taxi stand outside also works very efficiently though it's critical to have your destination in Japanese.

The breakfast buffet is around $25 USD if it's not included in your room. The Japanese breakfast items and European style pastries are all top notch. The rice dishes and dumplings were worth a 2nd visit daily. The more Western hot breakfast items can be hit or miss depending on the day.

The restaurants one floor up from the lobby are very expensive but overall very good. This is where I felt the service exceeded my expectations. Everywhere else felt liek the service was courteous, but due to the size of the hotel, it is virtually impossible to feel any sort of personalized touch here.

Room
Other than my key not working the first time, which was a minor inconvenience, the room was well appointed. Daily housekeeping service did a good job. Noise levels were fine though in the mornings yelling children would often awaken me.

There wasn't much of a view from the room other than of some tennis courts and other nondescript buidlings. The tea and kettle in the room worked well and the bathroom was updated an modern. It took a little guesswork to figure out how to use the remote for the TV since it was all in Japanese.

The elevators were usually speedy but almost always packed with people no matter what hour of the day.

Overall
I felt this hotel met my expectations but rarely exceeded them. Given the higher cost and distance from Shinjuku station, I would recommend staying in another part of town if you want to feel like you have a chance to soak in the local culture and be closer to other major tourist attractions, even if you're only trying to see them during down time from your work duties.

Room Tip: Apparently part of the hotel is NOT updated, so make sure to ask for a modern/updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upgrademe81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for providing your feedback. I am however disappointing that you were not totally satisfied and would like to assure you that my team will continue to focus on delivering exceptional service and experiences for all guests at Hilton Tokyo.

Hilton Tokyo is proud to be ranked in the Top 5 APAC Hilton Hotels in terms of guest satisfaction and we are committed to continuously enhancing our hospitality through training and team member development. Forums such as this are also very important to collect further guest feedback and allow us to provide information to the team that is very valuable.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and to show you our true Hilton Tokyo experience.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Tokyo in September 2013 for four nights. It was perfect for a holiday in Tokyo. Location is convenient and close to shops, restaurants and only about 7 minutes walk from Shinjuku station which connects to many JR and subway lines. It's a very short walk from the hotel to Yoyogi park and the Meiji shrine which is great if you arrive early before check in and need something to do for an hour or two.
The Hotel itself is superb. Rooms are large for Japan and the beds were long enough (I'm 6 foot). Clean, modern and the staff are professional and eager to assist. All that we encountered spoke English perfectly. The Concierge managed to effortlessly arrange a Michelin Star restaurant booking for two at very short notice.
Sign up for a package that includes the breakfast buffet - it is extensive and delicious and if you're sightseeing, load up and you won't need lunch. Highly recommended. After visiting Kyoto I returned for a final night and stayed at the Palace near Tokyo Station - it was luxury for sure, but for value and location, it was not a patch on the Hilton.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

As the General Manager of this hotel I am very pleased to read the title of your review and also your ensuing comments.

Thank you for sharing your great experience and I am very pleased you had a wonderful stay.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is not your typical Hilton Hotel!
The rooms are quite small, especially the bathroom. And the bathroom is a very old design. I have stayed a few times at this Hilton in the last few years and twice I have had the toilet blocked with water pouring all over the bathroom floor. Not a pleasant experience.
At more than 30,000 Yen per night I would expect better standards, especially from a Hilton Hotel.
The restaurants in the hotel are very nice but very very expensive. I tried the Dynasty Chinese restaurant which has a nice selection of Yum Cha Dim Sum dishes though expect to pay more than $50 a head just for food.. I also tried Musahino Japanese Restarant and had there Sukiyaki which was delicious but at 13,500 Yen (almost A$150 per person) it is too expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scott0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us.

At Hilton Tokyo we have a wide variety of room types and based on the quoted room rate it would indicate that you stayed in a standard guestroom (28m2). This room size is however quite large for Tokyo standards in this hotel category and at this rate level. Deluxe and Executive category rooms provide greater space and range from 30-60m2. On your next return to Tokyo if additional space is required I would recommend reserving the larger room type.

Concerning plumbing - it is most unfortunate that you experienced a blocked toilet and this is an extremely rare and most unusual report. Please accept my sincere apology for this and I would like to assure our guests that this is not at all typical of this hotel.

Regarding restaurant pricing our restaurants are competitively priced in the local market and provide very high quality food and beverages. We also offer two popular priced restaurants with reasonably priced meals and buffets.

We thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The rooms are very nice, this is the good point, and the included breakfast buffet is exceptional. BUt the corridors, the bathrooms are very old. Also, we cannot beleive that at 300$ per night, they charge you for the internet in the room. In 2013, this is inacceptable for us. A last positive point is the free shuttle to shinjuku station, which is convinient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascale1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is very disappointing to read the title of your review.

Hilton Tokyo would never deceive our guests and our hotel is maintained to the highest standards. All guest corridors are fully renovated and all Deluxe and Executive guestrooms fully renovated. Further renovations of standard guestrooms including bathrooms will be completed by May 2014 and once completed will be market leading in the upper upscale segment.

Internet is charged at all full service upscale hotels in Tokyo and we provide complimentary internet in all public areas on level 1 and level 2. Internet inclusive packages are also available at the point of reservation.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,209 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 87 in Shinjuku
3,272 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 87 in Shinjuku
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#12 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,030 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#14 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,467 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: $292 - $713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 821
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo is located in Shinjuku, the heart of Tokyo's business, shopping and entertainment district, and is an ideal place to experience modern Japan. A complimentary shuttle operates between the hotel and Shinjuku station and the Tokyo Metro subway is connected to the hotel. Relax in one of the modern Japanese-style rooms and admire stunning city views. The hotel offers WiFi and internet access throughout all rooms and public space. Rejuvenate in the 24-hour on-site health club and relax in the sauna or soothing whirlpool spa. Play tennis on the rooftop courts or swim laps in the indoor pool. Exercise with Technogym equipment, the official supplier of the Olympics and Paralympics. TSUNOHAZU expresses folkloric traditions and boundless energy of the Shinjuku neighborhood in an open-format space composed of colorful materials, surprising design elements and four distinct dining and entertainment zones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing