We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed in a suite; very good location; excellent staff”
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“stayed in a suite; very good location; excellent staff”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is connected to an underground retail area & tunnel which leads to a minor metro stop, 1 stop away from the main Shinjuku train station. You can also get to the main Shinjuku station via the hotel's free bus shuttle. Walking would take 10-15 minutes. Ideally, we had wanted to stay in Shibuya but at the time we booked, every hotel listed in the top 15 on Tripadvisor was fully booked. However, because of its location and the many department stores, Shinjuku ended up being a very convenient district to stay in. A supermarket was conveniently located just 2 blocks away - great for drinks & even sushi (fresher than the sushi that we've had at suburban restaurants in the USA).

As for the hotel, the staff was wonderful - they spoke excellent English, were very welcoming and friendly. The concierge desk was OUTSTANDING. Except for 1 tour, we had opted to plan out our sightseeing on our own. The concierge gave us all the info we needed to have a terrific time in Asakusa & Shibuya/Harajuku, Meiji shrine.

Our suite was huge - much larger than suites we've had in NYC where each square foot costs a premium. And the view was spectacular! My only complaint & why I gave only 4 instead of 5 for the rating was the size of the bathroom - very tiny/cramped & nothing special. Wish they had taken a few square feet away from the extra large bedroom or ridiculously large living room area to add to the bathroom.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Runster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very complimentary review.

As communicated in earlier management responses we have launched new larger bathrooms in our new Executive Guestroom and Executive Suite, Executive Tower Suite and Executive City Suite room types. Progressively these new rooms are being progressively introduced and 600 new rooms will be available from May 2014. I am certain you will enjoy the new spaces and new designs of bathroom and guestroom.

I will also have your comments translated and shared with the team.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and thank you for taking the time to share your experience on this forum.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,242
    1,491
    389
    105
    71
See reviews for
1,092
1,191
406
997
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Well appointed and very good room size for king size double in Tokyo.
Excellent gym and mini onsen style sauna/ bath attached to gym. Very helpful staff at the gym. Pool is small but useable. This is a very comfortable hotel and beds and furniture and room fixtures etc are very good quality. Bathroom a little dated but nice.

The hotel is a 20 min walk from Shinjuku station, although there is free shuttle bus. I found this moderately inconvenient but on balance worth it for the good room size. If you like walking out of the hotel and being in the centre of the action then bear this in mind. Unless you are in a club room then the wireless Internet is only free in the lobby, which is pretty annoying. The price per day is pretty steep.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HL0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Hilton Tokyo.

My team and I appreciate that you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed our hotel.

Concerning location, Hilton Tokyo and all other international/full service domestic hotels are located in Nishi Shinjuku and this is an easy 10 minute walk to Shinjuku station. Alternatively guests can access the subway directly below the hotel on B3. There are no full service international hotels at JR Shinjuku Station.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for choosing Hilton.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great location - very close to restaurants and shopping. Comfortable stay - rooms spacious - staff extremely helpful and friendly. Offer a complimentary shuttle to Shinjuku Station. Great conferencing facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very complimentary review and I am glad we provided a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

In my experience, Hilton International is usually consistent on the good level of service and room amenities in its different hotels. The Hilton Tokyo is not the exception due to the either recent renovation or the good maintenance of the site. In addition to that you receive the great Japanese service and attention to details from all personnel. On the other hand, as expected, the high charges for extra services like in-room wifi (offered free at the loby), restaurant, room service, etc. are oriented to expense accounts of business travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlgtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and my team and I are pleased that you had a great stay.

We are committed to excellence in service and with the progressive completion of our redevelopment we will have a fantastic product to complement this commitment.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked 1 suite and 1 room for July 21-25 months in advance. We were very tired from a long flight from LAX and checked in around 1am only to find out that we were given rooms on separate floors. I was informed that the hotel was fully booked – I then politely insisted on at least having rooms on the same floor. Okay…they were supposedly full but were able to move us to a lower floor with no access to Executive lounge. The rooms we were given were far apart and I had to constantly check on my kids in the other room. Both rooms were nice and we liked the view. The shuttle was a nice touch and staff were pleasant but we were disappointed with the carelessness with which our reservations were handled. We also visited Bali and Bangkok after leaving Tokyo. On this trip, Hilton fell short in comparison to the other properties that we stayed in (SPG in Bali & Renaissance in Bangkok) – both properties esp. Renaissance went above and beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agaviola10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

My team and I are disappointed you were not satisfied with your room allocation however appreciate that you enjoyed our hotels service and comfort.

I have reviewed your reservation made via our website and there was no request for adjacent or interconnecting rooms. Due to high occupancies it can be quite difficult to allocate adjacent rooms taking into consideration bedding preferences and the suite type booked. For future reservations with specific requirements please contact the hotel directly by telephone and we will ensure that the appropriate room types are allocated in advance.

As a Hilton Hhonors Blue member complimentary lounge access is not available unless Executive Floor room types are reserved. On this stay your reservation was for a standard guestroom and suite and upgrades are only eligible for Hhonors Gold and Diamond VIP's.

Thank you for your feedback and we assure you that every effort was made to meet your request on arrival.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Second stay in this Hilton property in downtown Shinjuku. Great staff, very nice rooms (suites recommended), good location immediately above metro, many restaurants nearby - good base for business trip or site seeing within Tokyo.

Rooms are very well appointed, quiet and offer great views of downtown Shinjuku. Room style is warm, modern, Japanese style - modern lines, dark wood, and Shoji room dividers, shutters on windows - and has a very nice upscale feel. Suites have nice couch, leather chair, and desk. Mini bar, teas service. There is a small safe in room. Very good, modern baths with quite nice shower/bath "room", distinct from vanity and toilet (typical hi-tech Japanese style commode).

Staff is, without exception, warm, professional and utterly accommodating. Very high marks and thanks to staff throughout - from concierge to front desk to restaurant and other staff.

Very good breakfast buffet - with board range of Western and Asian fare.

All in all, solidly recommended for business or tourism.

Room Tip: Reco high floor Suite or Junior Suite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_from_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you sincerely for your 5/5 review and detailed photographs of the Hilton Tokyo.

I will share your feedback with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, BC
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with my 2 boys in July 2013. I liked the fact that the hotel had a free shuttle from Shinjuku station to the hotel. I tried to check in early but they tried to stick me with a 2500 yen bill per room. We had two rooms for our boys and ourselves. I also found the restaurant pricey, so we had breakfast at a nearby Starbucks.

We stayed at on a newly renovated floor that was updated and very nice. The room had a great view of the city and the room had all the amenities we needed. Internet is free in the lobby and in the business centre. That was fine.

The conceirege was excellent and pointed us in the right direction for some inexpensive meals in the area. The is a tower nearby that has a series of rest. on the 50th floor- its about a block away.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

To clarify regarding check in - the room type reserved was not available and the team offered a higher category room with a discounted supplement to allow you to check in prior to check in time. Every effort is made to accommodate early arrivals in the reserved room type however due to high occupancies this is not always possible.

Regarding breakfast, Hilton Tokyo offers a very extensive breakfast buffet and the pricing is similar to all other full service hotels in Tokyo. If a full buffet is not required our a la carte menu offers items under USD$10 and a lighter Continental Buffet is also available.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 82 in Shinjuku
3,925 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 82 in Shinjuku
2,927 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 82 in Shinjuku
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,262 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,293 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
3,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Property: Hilton Tokyo
Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 821
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo boasts market leading contemporary guestrooms, spectacular bars and restaurants and one of the finest health clubs in the city. Enjoy Tokyo's most popular location - Shinjuku, with easy access to JR Shinjuku Station and direct access from the hotel to the Tokyo Metro (Subway). Follow us on facebook Hilton Tokyo (Official) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Priceline, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing