We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay inTokyo even during an earthquake”
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
South Florida, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay inTokyo even during an earthquake”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure to stay at this beautiful hotel on December 6-7 2013. What an adventure for someone who has never experienced an earthquake. On arrival we requested and received an upgrade to a mini suite on the 26th floor (I would highly recommend doing this by the way). From our nicely decorated, comfortable room we had a beautiful view of the city. In the early morning hours and later that night we got the thrill of a lifetime; a rumbling sound and the feeling of the ground moving under your feet. We looked outside our window to see buildings swaying. We saw people walking around like it was just another slight inconvenience. The longest of the two earthquakes we experienced lasted about 90 seconds. Fortunately, there didn't appear to be any damage. The only slight inconvenience that we had was that the elevators were shut down for about an hour.The staff at the hotel were very calming and professional. I loved Tokyo and all of the convenience this hotel has to offer. I am glad to see it passed the earthquake test. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caremanager01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear guest,

We sincerely appreciate the time taken to post your review and your great impression of our Hotel.

It is unfortunate you experienced an earthquake however as noted the team and building here are fully prepared for this occurance.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,236
    1,488
    389
    105
    70
See reviews for
1,089
1,186
406
996
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

This is our 2nd time staying at this hotel and both times it hasn't disappointed. The staff are welcoming, friendly and knowledgable. The free shuttle to Shinjuku station is great, really easy to find and always on time. This is a great service and adds to the overall experience. The hotel it's self is fantastic, really well maintained and has everything you could need. If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel in a great location, the Hilton Shinjuku is the place to stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and my team and I thank you for your time and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haenam, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

As an expat living abroad, rarely do I find a hotel that reminds me of home, but the Hilton Tokyo nailed it! The bed was a western bed and extremely comfortable, the breakfast was superb, and the concierge was wonderful. We unfortunately only had 24 hours in Tokyo and wanted to make the best of it, and the concierge helped us plan out our activities so that we saw everything on our list.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

The title of your review is so nice to hear for a hotelier as we aim to make our guests feel at home!

Your feedback is sincerely appreciated and I will translate and share your review ith the team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Tokyo.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for four days on the 21st floor. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit out of date, but entirely functional, and when we're talking about Japanese toilets, that includes a few buttons for bum washes, if you're interested. The service inside the hotel is excellent, very much up to five star standards. The breakfast is very good, but can be expensive (¥2,500) if it's not included.

The hotel itself is a 15 minute walk (at least) from Shinjuku Station. There is a shuttle that runs from 8:00 to 21:40. At other hours if you're in a hurry, you're taking a ¥710 cab ride to and from. As my meetings were everywhere but Shinjuku, this wasn't entirely convenient, but the costs of other major hotels outside of Shinjuku were nothing short of outrageous (starting at ¥27,000). Try to avoid booking last minute, because rates only go up from there, into the stratosphere. I booked ¥19,700 per night a month in advance; a week in advance and the rooms were going for ¥90,000!!!

Room Tip: For those used to non-smoking, it's important to make that clear at the time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irritant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed our hotel.

Concerning location, Hilton Tokyo is located in Shinjuku which is the primary transport hub of Tokyo and provides access to the majority of rail/bus and air options to the city and also Narita, Haneda and Yokohama. Located in B2 we also have direct access to two subway lines making all areas of the city easy to access within minutes.

Greater Tokyo is one of the world's largest cities and due to the sheer size it is impossible to be close to everything however access to transportation hubs is the key to efficiently getting around. Our concierge is available to assist all guests on efficient transportation planning to make a stay as enjoyable and productive as possible.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I am an Australian who stayed at the Hilton Tokyo after a ski trip to see tokyo for a few days. I was staying for three days and am often staying hotels that are deemed 4/4.5 star. While I stayed there i stayed in a twin share room with my gf. The overall stay was dissapointing to what I was expecting and at best would give it 3.5 stars. When I checked in they did not have a non-smokers room so I was forced to stay in the smokers room level, which stunk of cigarettes. The bathroom was small and outdated, and the concierge was not particually friendly (perhaps the language barrier, I am not sure for her bad demeanour.) The lobby area only has a handful of chairs to sit on which are usually occupied, so if you want to sit and wait you have to do so in the restaurant. Furthermore if you want wifi you have to be in the lobby to have free access, if you want it in your room you have to pay for it which is poor considering at most hotels it is complimentary. On the plus side, the room had a great view over the city, the bed was very comfortable and large. The best feature was a complimentary bus that ran from the hotel into the shinjuku shopping district which we used very often. Overall though, I would not recomend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doolie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very disappointed to hear your feedback and would like to clarify some points for this forum.

Hilton Tokyo offers a variety of room types and you booked a standard twin room. These rooms are currently under full renovation and will be completed at the end of Q1 2013. My team did however explain to you that due to your early arrival only a smoking room was available (check in time is 2pm) and we would have provided a non smoking room if you preferred to wait as rooms were not available.

Concerning wifi - internet access is charged in all Hilton Hotels and complimentary access is available in the lobby and level 2. Additionally there is free access in our business centre with wifi, PC's and ample seating.

The team at the hotel is consistently recognized for their service and it is unfortunate that you felt that the service did not meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the team in our ongoing effort to further improve our service.

I would however like to assure all tripadvisor readers that Hilton Tokyo is a full service upper upscale hotel committed to the highest quality of product and service.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Room 2925 is a Jnr Suite which is a triple + upgrade from the 40,000 Diamond Reward points booking that usually gives you a standard Queen City View room. A pleasing although the room is surprisingly sparse; I am guessing this is just Japanese simplicity.

The receptionist at check-in is not sure whether Diamond members can eat the full buffet breakfast at St George's Bar and suggests I enjoy the complimentary continental breakfast in the Executive Lounge. But I keep my composure and after entering my suite dial concierge and re-ask and they profusely apologize stating of course as a Diamond Member I can enjoy breakfast in the main restaurant. Ten minutes later the chief concierge knocks on my door, bows deeply, and presents my breakfast voucher.

Luckily I held to my guns as the Executive lounge was a real mess - people everywhere, food haphazardly placed on bench-tops; after a quick Asahi Beer, I am out and to the gym.

The gym is state of the art. Excellent facilities with a tennis court, indoor pool, and über relaxing 'ofuro' Japanese bath, spa, and sauna. Heaven.

Breakfast is Hilton standard - excellent and plentiful, served by smiling, 'can-do' staff. It's always a pleasure dining at a Hilton!

After dropping my Express check-out envelope into the box, I catch the 'on-time' 8.32am shuttle to Shinjuku station.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Japanuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing Hilton Tokyo.

The suite you experienced is of Japanese style and is very subtly decorated. We do however have 'City' suites that may suit your preferences better as they are of a more western style.

Concerning Diamond HHonors benefits - a complimentary Continental Breakfast is provided as detailed in the members benefits schedule. My team offered the correct amenity to you and only as a gesture of goodwill provided a breakfast voucher for the main restaurant. A full buffet breakfast is not an entitlement of the HHonors program at any membership level.

Your comments concerning our Executive Lounge is disappointing as we take great pride in the quality of food and beverages served in this area. Food is definitely not haphazardly placed on benches and we provide a selection of quality hot and cold canapés with full bar service, extensive morning continental breakfast (plus two hot dishes), all day refreshments and afternoon tea.

We do however thank you for your feedback and appreciate your positive comments concerning our fitness centre and breakfast food and service quality.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were back at the Hilton Tokyo after our last visit 2 years ago. We'd say the hotel is still among the very best in Japan as well as elsewhere we travel in Asia. Its Executive Lounge is probably the most outstanding one among all other Hilton Hotels. All staff is professional, speak perfect English and with high service standard all the time despite the very busy environment.

Room is cozy and comfortable, and with a wide varity of pillow choices.

The shuttle bus to Shinjuku JR station is convenient though the hotel is still within walking distance to the train connection.

Will surely go back again if we are in Tokyo in the future. Thanks to the perfect team there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenieYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you back and also to receive such a wonderful review from you.

My team is proud of their consistent focus on our guests and on maintaining the highest standards at the hotel.

I will surely share your feedback with the team and convey your thanks.

I look forward to seeing you again in Tokyo.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 82 in Shinjuku
3,922 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 82 in Shinjuku
2,921 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 82 in Shinjuku
2,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,259 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,290 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Property: Hilton Tokyo
Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo boasts market leading contemporary guestrooms, spectacular bars and restaurants and one of the finest health clubs in the city. Enjoy Tokyo's most popular location - Shinjuku, with easy access to JR Shinjuku Station and direct access from the hotel to the Tokyo Metro (Subway). Follow us on facebook Hilton Tokyo (Official) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing