We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but very expensive for poor food”
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
purley
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good but very expensive for poor food”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Japan is expensive so no shock there. However the Checkers buffet the most basic form of dinning in the hotel is outrageously expensive for a poor selection of luke warm tired looking food that was mostly fish based.

The staff seemed indifferent to the suggestion of a hot buffet being just that not warm and dry because it had been standing for too long.

Being made to wait for 8 minutes until the official check in time of 14.00 "Japanese system sir" is hugely irritating and just puts you in a bad mood!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardPurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for your review and sharing you overall good experience at Hilton Tokyo.

Your comments on Checkers Brasserie and check in time is however concerning as I have never had anyone comment to wait the exact minutes to check in time. We always try our very best to get guests into their rooms as soon as possible and would never make guests wait a few minutes for check in time. This is definitely not the Japanese way, yes this country likes systems however service, common sense and guest satisfaction always takes precedence.

Checkers is also our most popular 'western' restaurant and has consistently high satisfaction ratings. I do apologise if you did not find the selection to your personal preference and will follow up with our chef to ensure temperatures are maintained at all times.

Thank you again for choosing Hilton and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,151
    1,450
    377
    103
    69
See reviews for
1,049
1,138
394
972
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I've stayed in Hilton for 9 nights starting from the 3rd of october, the staff were of great help and always served with smile. I got 20% discounts on dining and services for my long stay.

The bus service to the Shinjuku station was super and we loved the breakfast. I only wished if the pharmacy staff spoke english as I had difficulties getting some prescriptions.

Regards,

Hamed

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank-you for your great feedback! My team and I are so very pleased you had a great time in Tokyo and at our hotel.

Next time please ask any member of my team if you need assistance in the pharmacy. We do not operate this store and unfortunately the pharmacist on duty does not always speak English.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We treated ourselves to one night in what was billed as a top class Tokyo hotel and we were not disappointed. Everything from breakfast, to sports and spa facilities, to the deep muscle massage was exactly as it says on the tin, top class.

The room was spacious and comfortable with a view of the Japanese sunrise peeking through the neighbouring buildings.

The staff were attentive, courteous, polite and efficient without being overbearing.

The only thing that i could criticise it for is £11.50 for a half of lager, yes i did say HALF. but that may not be fair as drinks prices in every establishment throughout the trip were horrendously priced. Don't that put you off, its well worth the trip.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Your rating of 'Fabulous' really is well received and we thank you for your very complimentary review.

My team and I really appreciated that you enjoyed your stay and loved Japan. Next time you may find that an Executive Floor room may represent good value as breakfast, evening drinks/canapes and afternoon tea is included in the rate plus other benefits.

I trust you had a good trip home and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Arrived at the hotel at midday, very tired after a long flight from the UK.

We couldn’t find the hotel shuttle bus from the west exit of Shinbuku station and ended up getting a taxi from the station until we got our bearings.

To get the shuttle bus you need to go up a level and go left when exiting from the station, round the corner and look for bus stop 21. {Its easy to find when you have done it once}

Check in was a painless process and people at reception spoke very good English.

We were offered a room upgrade to a deluxe room on the 32nd floor on arrival for 3000 Yen for our first stay of 1 night. We already had breakfast included in our rate. 32nd floor was a good option as it was room with a great view.

The room itself was very spacious and had a big TV, mini bar/fridge. Also very clean.
The bed was nice and comfy and provided a good sleep after our long trip.
The bathroom was very clean and had a shower over the bath. Although a general criticism of all similar arrangements; why does the shower screen never seem to stop water going onto the bathroom floor?

Air conditioning is very quiet and the room itself was very quiet for such a large and busy hotel.

For alternative breakfast, SB is right across the road from the hotel next door to another well know American eating establishment.

There is also a 7/11 store directly across the road in underneath the Hyatt.

Would stay here again if could get a good room deal including breakfast.

Room Tip: Breakfast is very expensive if not included in your room rate. Superior rooms on 33nd/33rd seemed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkAddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for the great comments and I am glad our hotel was able to welcome you to Japan.

JR Shinjuku station is a very large station and to find our shuttle stop we suggest all guests take the West Exit to ground level and the stop is in fron of the landmark Keio Department Store #21.

From January 2013 all of our guest rooms will have been refurbished as we continue to ensure Hilton Tokyo remains as one of Tokyo's pre-eminent hotels.

I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your stay in Japan and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerley

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our experience was excellent from the time we checked in (October 14th, 2012) to the time we checked out (October 20th, 2012). We were impressed with the overall cleanliness of this hotel and the hotel in general. The staff, especially in the Executive Lounge, were always very kind/friendly, polite, eager to serve us, etc. etc. etc. The daily housekeeping of our room was excellent and the bed was very comfortable. The staff at the Concierge desk were always very helpful and their tips and recommendations for places to go, restaurants, etc. were excellent/much appreciated. The staff of this hotel all work together in serving you, the customer, the best way they can - First Class service.
The location of the hotel is pretty much in Central Tokyo. It is easy access to the subway which is very efficient. We would take a 5 minute walk from the hotel to the Nishi Shinjuku subway station to go anywhere in Tokyo. They also have a Hilton shuttle bus to and from the hotel to Shinjuku Station. The best way to get here from Narita is by Bus - a cost of 3000 YEN ($37) each way/person. It takes about 1 1/2 to 2 hours to or from Narita. Also take in the Tokyo Government Buildings (North and South Towers) close to the hotel - it is free to go to the 45th floor and get some excellent views of Tokyo. Tourist information is also located on the bottom floor of this building. There is good shopping in and around Shinjuku station.
The restaurants in the hotel are very expensive. Perhaps if they were to lower prices slightly they would have more customers. There are lots of choices in and around the hotel especially in the Shinjuku Station area which is very modern. Recommend JoJoEn restaurant in the Odakyu Halc on the 8th floor. A very enjoyable stay!!!!

Room Tip: Taking a room on the Executive Floors includes a larger room, breakfast, fitness, afternoon tea, hor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilotne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Your review title "Excellent Hotel" is so pleasing to a hotelier, and my team and I sincerely thank you for your detailed review on tripadvisor.

I will also have your comments translated and shared with all team members.

Our restaurants are currently impacted by the strong Japanese yen and the restaurant positioning/quality is upscale - however pricing is comparable with all other premium restaurants in Tokyo. We do however have great value lunch course menus in all outlets starting at JPY 3000 per person which represents good value for the quality of food offered. Our Marble Lounge and Checkers also have a la carte menus with meals for under USD$20. Alternatively as you mentioned there are many casual dining restaurants around the hotel where you can get a good meal for USD$10-$20 giving our guests ample choice. Our concierge is also able to direct guests to many restaurants as there are over 160,000 in the Tokyo metropolitan area.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Reviewing a Japanese hotel is always going to be difficult, due to the fantastically high levels of service you receive here compared to pretty much everywhere in the world. Trying to think of negatives is difficult as I found pretty much everything to be first class.

The only minor gripe I had was that the restaurants and bars in the hotel are shockingly expensive - although this is similar in other large hotels in the Shinjuku area. A 5 minute walk from the hotel you could find a similar restaurant or bar where the bill would be less than half the price.

The hotel is located nearby to the Nishi-shinjuku and Tochomae stations on the Marunouchi and Oedo lines connected via underground walkways so getting around Tokyo from here is very easy. Alternatively a free shuttle bus to Shinjuku station departs outside the hotel - although to be honest it's only a short 10 minute walk anyway.

Standard rooms are good sized for Tokyo and are clean with large comfy bed and recently refurbished bathroom. Breakfast was very nice with both Japanese and Western style buffet options (and the service was very good).

Overall I really enjoyed the stay here - and perhaps the only 2 things that 'might' put me off staying again would be the high cost of the hotel restaurants and bars (£10+ for a bottle of beer!) and the fact that it is a very 'westernised' hotel so you won't get the 'true' Japanese experience. Other than that it was excellent!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eks101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

My team and I are so pleased you had a wonderful stay and that you shared your experience on tripadvisor.

We aim to provide the highest level of personalized service and quality in everything that we do and it is really reassuring to hear directly from our guests that we met your expectations.

Our restaurants and bars are also focused on the highest quality product and service and also on sourcing food and beverages from only select areas of Japan including organic items. This is what is demanded by Japanese guests and our restaurants have been recognized and awarded multiple times. Our pricing is also in line with all other hotels and upscale restaurants in the city. As you mentioned however there are many casual restaurants and bars nearby that offer items to suit nearly every budget. Our concierge is available 24/7 to help provide options and ideas for our guests all around Tokyo as there are some 150,000 restaurants to choose from!

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed only 1 night at the Hilton Tokyo, so feel free to ignore our review as it is only based on that experience.

We were recommended the hotel by our travel agent as a luxury 1 night stay before we left for Narita Airport the next day. Yes the hotel is located in Shinjuku but it is on the western skyscraper side and therefore out of the way of most of the things Shinjuku has to offer. We took the hotel shuttle bus from the train station so can't comment on how long a walk it might well be from there.

Check-in was routine and we were advised that we could have a room on a high floor which had good views. We had requested a double room but all that was left on arrival was a twin room. For 1 night we weren't too bothered so accepted anyway. The room though was very dated and while still clean and functional, was really in need of a renovation. I say this in comparison to the two other hotels we used in Japan - one a budget/boutique hotel also in Tokyo and the other a 4-5 star place in Kyoto. However, we paid a premium price for a luxury 1 night stay and the room was a disappointment in that regard.

One other problem when compared to other hotel experiences in Japan was that there was no free wi-fi or internet connection included in the room rate. Unlike the 2 other hotels we stayed in where these were included in the price, the Hilton charged over 1600 Yen per day per device! Now I don't have that much of a problem paying a bit extra for wi-fi, but considering the price of the room, in a hotel aimed at the luxury market, this extra charge was quite excessive. The other hotels we experienced on the trip also provided complimentary water bottles each day, which was very convenient and one of those little things you expect for the extra price of the room, but the Hilton charged. Now these things might seem pretty petty to some, but considering the Hilton is supposed to be a luxury hotel, the premium price we therefore paid for the room, and it's dated fittings, well I don't think it is good enough.

To summarise, even though we only had 1 night at the Hilton Tokyo, I would not recommend others stay there until the rooms are renovated, and management reconsiders the excessive internet charges and the few other minor things needed to make choosing a luxury hotel over other less expensive though perfectly nice hotels worthwhile.

Room Tip: Ask whether to room has been recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camnicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you for choosing Hilton Tokyo.

At the hotel we have three levels of accommodation (Standard, Deluxe and Executive + Suites) and the room type you reserved was a standard room. This is our entry level accommodation and it seems that the style of this room was not suited to your needs. I am sure had you wanted a more opulent room experience you would have been very happy with our higher room categories and it is unfortunate that your travel agent did not advise you of what was available. We do however provide for all of our guests the highest quality sleep experience, guest services, safety and security, food and beverage, business support, HHonors, leisure services and a prime location regardless of room type booked.

As mentioned on this forum we will also be launching all new standard guest rooms in January 2013 and this product will be market leading in style and quality. From the end of 2013 the current standard rooms will no longer be available.

Concerning internet we have room rates and room types including access and if this is not included we provide complimentary wifi on level 1 and 2 of the hotel and also PC and Mac access in our Business Centre. In guest rooms a single daily charge is for up to 3 devices per room and our charges are in line or less than other upper upscale hotels in Tokyo.

Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope to welcome you back to experience our new product from early 2013.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,804 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,816 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Property: Hilton Tokyo
Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo boasts market leading contemporary guestrooms, spectacular bars and restaurants and one of the finest health clubs in the city. Enjoy Tokyo's most popular location - Shinjuku, with easy access to JR Shinjuku Station and direct access from the hotel to the Tokyo Metro (Subway). Follow us on facebook Hilton Tokyo (Official) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing