We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel in every way”
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in every way”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Our family group of seven adults stayed in the Tokyo Hilton for five nights recently. We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay, and we will return to the Hilton if we are ever fortunate enough to visit Tokyo again. I've read the reviews below, and absolutely concur about the excellent service, wonderful views, pretty rice paper screens, quiet location, and most of all, the friendly and professional staff who were there to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Since so many positive attributes of the hotel have been mentioned in other reviews, I'd like to add a couple that haven't been mentioned recently. First, the concierge staff was extremely helpful, and provided excellent information for us. They gave us advice on buying a PASMO card, made several phone calls for us when we inquired about specific places we wanted to visit, and suggested some wonderful restaurants, varying from cheap and authentic to fine dining. Their help was invaluable to us and really enhanced the quality of our trip, which had been planned somewhat hastily. Another great feature of the Hilton is the lobby escalator that goes down to a passage linking the hotel with the subway. Very convenient. And lastly, the location, while quiet and a few minutes walk from Shinjuku station, is convenient to some great breakfast options. Royal Host is a diner that is almost next door (to the left exiting the hotel) and offers a cheap American breakfast. Also, there's a 7-11 in the basement of the building across the street, and like all 7-11s in Japan, it has an ATM and free wi-fi. In summary, we heartily recommend the Hilton and wish we were back there now!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful for my team to receive such praise and thank you sincerely for taking the time to share your experiences on tripadvisor. We aim to personalise the stay of every single guest and to ensure they experience a unique Japanese and Hilton experience whilst visiting us - I am really proud that you received and appreciated our commitment to quality and service.

I will also translate and share your detailed comments with my colleagues and celebrate their great service at our next team member celebration.

We all look forward to welcoming you back and thank you again for recommending our hotel to others visiting Tokyo.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,156
    1,452
    377
    103
    69
See reviews for
1,050
1,143
394
973
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Somehow the service here is very precise and consistent. You always get hello from every staff member, they will always offer to help you with transport, checkin is very polite, maids do a great job cleaning the rooms. There was even a maid supervisor who came around to the rooms to check if I was happy with the way it was cleaned. Never had that in any other Hilton. Good breakfast, good bed, good shower, enough space in the room to spread your stuff out (all important to me as a frequent traveller).
Whoever the staff drill seargent is, he needs a pat on the back, he's really good at his job. Or maybe its the team who hire good staff.
Either way the service delivery is precise and excellent.
If I had to nitpick it would be a couple of things they can't change easily. Some of the common areas have a slightly darker set of colours which makes it feel a bit late 90s in design, and the location is a 10min walk to Shinjuku station which is a bit irritating in winter if you walk it.
Also stayed at the Cerulean Tower up the road in Shibuya, which while good, doesn't stack up to this.
Impressed.

Room Tip: They're all good, do you want to be near the lift on the floor or walk further?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank-you sincerely for the very complimentary feedback on our hotel and in particular on our service and team culture.

Hilton Tokyo aims to consistently exceed our guests expectations with a very highly personalised style of service. It is really satisfying the hear that you appreciated what we are doing.

Concerning decor, you will be pleased to know that we will open new guest rooms and new public areas this year and will continue to upgrade the hotel in all other areas. Our aim is to remain as the upper upscale hotel of choice in Tokyo.

Thank you again for your review on tripadvisor and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Tokyo.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

First class EVERYTHING

A very profession person at check-in, gorgeous huge room and cleaned to a high standard. The views were great – especially to watch a morning rush through the window holding a morning cup of coffee from well equipped mini bar with plenty of tea, coffee and other items. The bed was humongous! Powerful shower could not be better to wake you up.

Staff very polite and discreet, reception, food and beverage and housekeeping Team can't do enough for you. In the morning, the small breakfast queue at Marble Lounge moved remarkably quickly, the dining area was quiet and clean (despite being packed) and the staff were incredibly professional, polite and efficient. Breakfast was delicious and a very relaxing experience - can thoroughly recommend starting your day there.

During 6 days stay did all the touristy things so the hotel being where it was, was just perfect! Very quiet and just close enough for everything with short walking distance to Shinjuku station. No need to take the complimentary bus shuttle ride and loose the view of skyscrapers.

Upon arrival requested for early check-out and were asked to arrange the return service to Narita airport by Friendly Limousine bus service. The fare – with no extra cost, were added on my hotel bill so I didn't have to worry about having enough Japanese Yen.

Overall, 5 star service! As work in the hotel industry myself and being well travelled I am not an easy judge. I would stay here again.

Thanks again
Maciej

Room Tip: Ask for the higher floor with a view towards Mount Fuji
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very complimentary review of Hilton Tokyo and my team and I appreciate your feedback.

Our aim is to exceed our guests expectations with the best service and personalised treatment in a uniquely Japanese way. It is so rewarding to hear you appreciated our hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back and I am really glad you had a great holiday.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Great hotel. I'd say rooms are bigger than Japanese standard and have everything you could ever need. Location wise, it's about 10 minutes walk from Shinjuku JR station and they do offer complimentary shuttle bus service. Amazing service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for your positive review of Hilton Tokyo and we sincerely appreciate your business.

It is also very satisfying to know that you enjoyed our "Amazing Service" as my team really strives for exceeding our guests expectations.

I trust you had a comfortable trip home and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2012

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in and as a well-travelled airline employee, would highly recommend this property. Front desk couldn't do enough to ensure my stay was perfect. Room was spacious and very clean. Internet costs extra but no problems with speed. Will definitely return.
There is only one issue and that's the location from the nearest train station, Shinjuku. There is a hotel shuttle bus operating three times an hour but not later in the evening so if you have just taken the airport limousines from either of the two airports to Shinjuku, a taxi will be required. Approx 700 Yen.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very happy that your were truly impressed by our service at Hilton Tokyo and will share your great feedback with my team.

Concerning the Airport Limousine Bus service - please note that buses from both Haneda and Narita Airports offer door to door service directly to the Hilton Tokyo. It is not necessary to get off at Shinjuku station and transfer to Hilton Tokyo. I apologise if you were misinformed by the Bus operator when booking your transfer.

Once again thank you for choosing Hilton and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

This being my first trip to Japan I found this Hilton Hotel made for a good transition into Japanese culture. You will find all the comforts one is accustomed to in a Western style hotel - a very good English speaking staff as well as high quality and spacious accommodations. The basic room design is clean and simple and attests to the theory of less is more.

I especially liked the sliding rice-paper window shades which allowed soft light into the room while providing privacy from potential voyeurs from neighboring tall buildings. Not to worry, there are blackout screens to help those overcome their severe jetlag. There is an electric kettle for self service coffee and tea; but, for those who are not crazy about instant coffee just keep in mind there is a Starbuck’s just behind the hotel which opens at 7 AM daily and figure about $5 for a grande.

This high-rise hotel is serviced by the best elevators I have found in any hotel - fast, smooth, almost silent and even more important, a sufficient number of them!

The hotel offers an adequate exercise facility, indoor pool, “his and hers” locker rooms each with a sauna, Japanese soaking tub and relaxation area. Remember to remove your shoes before entering these areas! Be careful when entering any area with a bamboo floor or one with mats, you will probably need to remove your shoes or fear insulting your host.

The hotel offers dining alternatives for virtually any international taste – Western, French, Japanese, Chinese, etc. But a word of caution: hotel dining is very expensive and figure on close to $30 for buffet breakfast in the lobby lounge area. The good news is the buffet offering is quite extensive and if you are on an expense account, this is probably no issue.

There is probably no city on the face of this planet that has more restaurants than Tokyo. You might want to consider purchasing a dining guide to assist you in your culinary planning.

If you want a real culinary adventure, visit the food halls in the basement of virtually every Tokyo department store. And on the top floors of these same stores you will find a wide array of high quality small restaurants. While not inexpensive, these restaurant generally offer a pretty good price-value relationship with their culinary offerings.

You will be amazed at what is available in the Japanese department stores and should you purchase an item, you will quickly learn anything you buy in Japan is respectfully wrapped and then a clerk will come from behind their counter, present you with the package and bow. Macy’s should take note…

But if you are looking for a relative dining bargain close to the Hilton Tokyo, consider Denny’s (open 24 hours) located adjacent to the Starbuck’s right behind the hotel. An inclusive breakfast of an egg, slice of bacon, link of sausage, little cup of coffee and a small green salad will cost about $7, a veritable bargain compared to dining prices within any Tokyo hotel.

If you start to go through hamburger withdrawal, you can find a McDonald’s is some locations; but, there is a Sizzler just a block from the front of the Tokyo Hilton. While I do not normally place Sizzler on my dining map – a charbroiled burger with fries and beverage for $10 tasted awfully good after five days in Tokyo.

"Arigato" Tokyo Hilton, it was a very nice visit and I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking towards Tokyo Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RealTimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very positive and detailed review of Hilton Tokyo. My team and I appreciate the time taken to share your great experience on tripadvisor and really appreciate your appreciation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Japan in the near future.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Tokyo is a complex city for Westerners to visit and this hotel makes the experience all the better.

It is a chain but it differentiates itself. The service is very good and courteous and there is a lot of help to assist you in navigating this city.

The rooms are smallish but more than adequate and very well equipped. I stayed on the executive floor and the executive lounge and facilities were all extremely good. The higher rooms have wonderful views over the Tokyo skyline.

Tokyo is so big that nowhere is near to everywhere. However, this is within easy walking distance of Shinjuku, with all the night life that has to offer and the enormous railway station.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrLivingstone100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very happy you had a great experience with us and that you found our Executive Floor product to be 'extreemly good'.

In particular I will share your positive service feedback with my team as this is very motivating and rewarding.

Concerning room size we have many different room types and categories due to the unique 'S' shape of our hotel tower with rooms up to 50m2 and suites up to 150m2. If you would prefer a larger type room or a specific view please let us know when you make your next reservation and we will do our very best to allocate the best possible room/suite available.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,819 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Property: Hilton Tokyo
Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo boasts market leading contemporary guestrooms, spectacular bars and restaurants and one of the finest health clubs in the city. Enjoy Tokyo's most popular location - Shinjuku, with easy access to JR Shinjuku Station and direct access from the hotel to the Tokyo Metro (Subway). Follow us on facebook Hilton Tokyo (Official) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Rakuten, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing