We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel in Shinjuku” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Tokyo
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Shinjuku”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

This is a very nice hotel to stay in while visiting Tokyo. Location wise, it is close to Tokyo metro line (5 mins walk) and also 15 min walk to Shinjuku, which is a major metro interchange and very lively at night times. Hotel itself is very pleasant place to stay. Most of the rooms are the same size and quite big for Japaneses hotel. Rooms were very clean and the house maids do a excellent job with pride. This hotel so far has been the only hotel I have stayed across many countries that not only provide baby crib for free, but also provide toys and nappy dispenser bins. Hotel staff are pleasant to deal with who will help you out in any situation. Hotel gym isn't too big but has enough equipment in there to get a good work out. Just be there before 6am if you want to get a treadmill. Dry suna is also very nice. Service in executive lounge is good. Standard western type breakfast is served in the mornings and a very good range of alcoholic drinks are served in the evenings. Beer is available from the fridge all day !! . Airport bus stops at the door step for buses to and from airport. Overall i would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Rooms to face the Mt Fuji side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koro25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank-you sincerely for the feedback and for recommending the Hilton Tokyo on Trip Advisor.

All of the Hilton Tokyo team is really happy to receive your positive comments and in particular your recognition of our hotels service, cleanliness, quality and guest facilities.

I hope you had a comfortable trip home to Australia and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next return to Tokyo.

Sincerely

Mr. Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,048
    1,381
    369
    96
    61
See reviews for
995
1,053
387
942
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

The staff at the hotel were only to happy to be of service and nothing was too much trouble. A very central location to stay. The rooms were excellent and hotel was very quiet. No hesitation in recommending people to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoosaMacca58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
4 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank-you for your positive feedback and my team is very happy that you thouroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton when you return to Tokyo and we appreciate you sharing your great experience on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely

Jamie Mead
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We travel to Tokyo regularly and always enjoy our stay at Hilton. Our favourite treat is breakfast in the Marble Lounge. Great rooms, very comfortable and attentive service. I had an excellent massage at fitness centre - highy recommended! Great staff in the executive lounge with free wi-fi access.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMacQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for the wonderful feedback and I am really glad that you make the Hilton Tokyo your preferred hotel while in Tokyo!

We also really appreciate your positive comments concerning our Breakfast in the Marble Lounge and our Shiatsu Massage treatments.

I trust you had a pleasant trip home and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Sincerely

Jamie Mead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed in this excellent hotel for less than a week in the Executive Floor and remained truly impressed of it.

The hotel is located not so far from from Shinjuku-Ku railway station and provides every 30 minutes a free shuttle to it. The bus is quite small and tends to be crowded during the peak hours. From the Narita Airport there is a direct bus connection to the hotel. Hilton being one of the major hotels in Tokyo, it provides a good choice of excursions by different tour operators, which you may join directly from the hotel. These were among the main reasons why I chose this hotel.

My room had a lot of space (in downtown Tokyo!). It was clean, comfortable and overall beautiful. At least in my room there was free Internet which worked perfectly. The bathroom was quite small, but well equipped.

The Executive Lounge, located in the top floor of the hotel, is one of the best I have experienced in different Hilton hotels. I used it daily for breakfast and drinks. But even during the day and in the evening there was always something to eat there. What is more, there was nice and corteous staff to serve the clients. Truly impressive! I also enjoyed once the buffet dinner in one of the restaurants of the hotel. It was abundant and truly tasteful.

In the gym I used the swimming pool which was included in the price of my room. Whereas the locker room is small, the pool itself is large enough for true swimming. In the afternoon hours I often was the only one to use it, which was truly nice.

I certainly recommend this hotel, although it is a bit pricey (that is the general price level in Tokyo) and do look forward to visiting it again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiplTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank-you sincerely for your kind comments and it is appreciated that you took the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very happy that you were satisfied with your stay and compared Hilton Tokyo to other luxury hotels in the city. It is my teams aim to deliver the best in Japanese hospitality with the warmth, personality and individuality that is uniquely Hilton.

When you next choose to return to Tokyo we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr. Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I picked the Hilton Tokyo for my first visit to Tokyo and was not disappointed. As a Diamond HHonors member, I was upgraded to the 36th floor and given Executive Lounge access. The view from the upper floors is absolutely breathtaking at night, and the service from all staff, especially the Executive Lounge staff was amazing. They have a full bar at the lounge with an amazing bartender.

The only slight issues I found were the quality of WiFi from my room. Some rooms are a bit out of range, and since the hotel was completely booked, I wasn't able to move rooms.

The hotel website could also be a bit more specific on means of transportation from Narita or Haneda. I was able to find my way, but it required a bit of digging to figure out exactly how to get there.

Other then these very small issues, the hotel was absolutely amazing and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reflektion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
10 August 2011

Dear Guest,

My team and I are very pleased you took the time to provide your most positive feedback and we are glad that we impressed you.

In particular I was very happy you appreciated the service of our executive floors, lounge and team as it is our aim to provide a very special and personalised experience.

Concerning your comments on WiFi range - our IT engineers will review this and test your room as we aim for complete coverage. Please accept our apologies for any inconvience caused due to signal strength.

I trust you had a comfortable trip home and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Tokyo.

Sincerely

Jamie Mead
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed an extra 2 days in Tokyo after Air NZ cancelled our flight home. Thankfully we chose to stay at the Hilton Shinjuku as we were exhausted after 6 weeks of travel(Alaska,Aleutians,Kamchatka,Kurils,Sakhalin) The last thing we wanted was to spend more time away. We stayed on executive level which gives you Drinks & canapes, b'fast and use of your own concierge who was magnificent in helping us organise fresh flights home.The food was great,traditional Japanese of course but with a little western influence and all the staff were friendly and efficient in that lovely Japanese way.They helped us with transport to the airport and went out of their way to serve at a time when Japan was suffering from the results of earthquake and tsunami. The pool and gym were well equipped and interesting shopping was available in close proximity. Overall a relaxing way to finish a long journey.

Room Tip: Executive level well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob & Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Dear Guest,

My team and I are very glad we provided a relaxing and memorable finish to your long vacation.

Your comments regarding your total satisfaction with our service and features are appreciated and I will be sharing your comments with my team on our guest feedback wall and also in our team briefings.

I trust you had a comfortable trip home to New Zealand and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton Tokyo.

Sincerely

Mr. Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a hotel which is located in the main business district, hotel rooms are simple and comfortable, very clean.
Breakfast is very good,wide spread of selection to choose from. Service is friendly and prompt at all times. Concierge has been very helpful with local information and things to do and visit, shuttle bus service to Shinjuku station is very convenient or you can take a 10 minutes walk to get there. Very good Chinese restaurant in the hot elm food is excellent, highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for your great feedback and I will be sharing your comments with my team.

In particular I am very glad you enjoyed our Chinese Restaurant - Dynasty, and our breakfast in the Marble Lounge. Hilton Tokyo prides itself on excellence in food and beverage and it means allot to my Kitchen and Service Team to receive your positive comments.

I also appreciate that you found our location convenient. Shinjuku is extremely well connected for all types of travelers and I am sure your comments will be useful to others.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Tokyo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,673 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Property: Hilton Tokyo
Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo boasts market leading contemporary guestrooms, spectacular bars and restaurants and one of the finest health clubs in the city. Enjoy Tokyo's most popular location - Shinjuku, with easy access to JR Shinjuku Station and direct access from the hotel to the Tokyo Metro (Subway). Follow us on facebook Hilton Tokyo (Official) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing