We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #9 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed March 20, 2009

I just returned from Japan and one of the hotels I stayed at was the RIHGA Royal Hotel. I had some trepidation about booking here because one of the reviews stated how out of the way this hotel was. Will I was pleasantly surprised to find that there is a shuttle to a JR Line terminal and once there you can get anywhere. My business was at Sunshine City which I was able to get to taking a tram that is 3 blocks from the hotel.
The service was great and our large room overlooked the garden. The bath had a separate WC and the tub was one of the biggest I've seen in Tokyo. Breakfast was expensive so we headed out for our morning meal and we were never there for the other meals.
For a Tokyo hotel I think this is a place to stay at a good price and great service. I will stay here again if my trip puts me North of the Tokyo City Center.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wizsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    200
    50
    5
    2
See reviews for
129
71
43
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2008

Nice hotel not overly far from the station.... but on the other hand, if you want to be in the thick of things in Tokyo, there are better places.

That aside, this is a good quality hotel. It sits next door to Tokyo's famous Waseda University, and so is very useful for academics or those visiting friends or family at that university.

Being a Rihga Royal, the standard of service is high, as is the cuisine. I found the rooms not to be massive, but perhaps more spacious than your typical Tokyo room. Well appointed and a good bathroom (with a decent-sized bath).

It's may a ten or so minute walk to the nearest station, that being Takadanobaba. If walking's not your thing, the hotel does operate a complimentary shuttle bus, or failing that, taxis are safe and relatively cheap.

Like I said, it's not in the thick of things, but is in a pleasant enough area. Getting into the busy areas of Shinjuku and the like won't take long on the train, but there are other hotels which don't seem as out of the way.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Naniwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

This is my third trip to Tokyo, but the first where I couldn't stay with family or friends. So, I looked online to find a reasonably priced hotel close to the Four Seasons, where a friend was getting married.

The Rihga Royal was US$165 per night, and much larger than I expected. Our room was probably 600 square feet, as large as my friend's apartment, and larger than my brother in law's. The hotel was very Western style, though the tea and instant hot water were a nice Japanese touch. The staff was attentive, helping us with our bags and to flag down taxis. (We do not speak Japanese and it was fine.)

The hotel has a shuttle to the metro Takananababa (sp?) station, though we usually walked <10 minutes to Waseda station. We didn't eat in the hotel, so I can't comment on the restaurants.

The room showed signs of age, a worn carpet here, a worn couch there. But the sheets and towels were in excellent condition and our tenth floor room was very quiet. There is nothing particularly special about this hotel. But, it was at least $400 a night cheaper than the Four Seasons, and a fine place to sleep. Perhaps if we were there a week later, we would have enjoyed a view of the cherry blossoms in the park from our room.

  • Liked — Price and amount of space
  • Disliked — A little far away from Tokyo attractions
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chiccobean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller973
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2007

I stayed at the Rhiga Royal Hotel for 5 nights and can only recommend this hotel. The location might not be perfect (the hotel is located next to Waseda University), but in Tokyo location is not an issue: taxi fares are cheap, there is a metro stop nearby and the hotel offers a shuttle to one of the major train stations.
This hotel is not very popular with tourists and the 99% of the client base is Japanese which makes it even more interesting.
I have stayed in Hyatts, Sheratons and Hiltons in many different countries and can honestly say this hotel is up there with the best. The service is impeccable, the rooms spacious and the hotel offers a wide range of services (including a wedding chapel, photo studio and dental clinic :-)).
If you considering this hotel book online and select the super saver rate: 24.000 yen (excl. taxes) for a 50m² suite with a great view is pretty much unbeatable in Tokyo.
The hotel staff is very helpful but do take into account that is not a very international hotel so don't expect international TV channels.
In a nutshell, this hotel is gem to be discovered. The fact that this is the first comment on tripadvisor is the living proof.

  • Liked — Service levels
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 83 in Shinjuku
3,962 reviews
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,351 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 83 in Shinjuku
2,980 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 83 in Shinjuku
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo

Property: RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo
Address: 1-104-19 Totsuka-machi, Shinjuku 169-8613, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Shinjuku
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#8 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#10 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo, located on the edge of Okuma Garden in downtown Tokyo, is a luxurious and elegant retreat set in the centre of one of the world's busiest commercial capitals. Although our presence in Tokyo is recent, we have brought with us a legendary level of service and the experience of operating Osaka's premier hotel, The Royal, for over half a century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Rakuten, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Shinjuku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing