We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location.. Period.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shinjuku Prince Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Best location.. Period.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Tokyo is a crazy large city.. You can easily be staying in a hotel in an area that's away from everything.. This is not the case here at the Shinjuku Prince! This is by far the most optimum location in Tokyo!

The hotel is super clean & the staff is fantastic! Rooms are tiny! I would recommend going for the larger rooms which are still small but atleast not a shoe box.

It's extremely expensive but hey.. It's Tokyo!

Room Tip: Book one of the larger sized rooms on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheCanadianNavigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    421
    216
    44
    21
See reviews for
141
248
121
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Pleasantly surprised by the spacious hotel room that this hotel has to offer. The room we booked had two double beds as well as a pull out twin bed. The bathroom was very spacious and well kept every day by the staff.

A very short walk to the Shinjuku JR station, which will take you all around Tokyo. Lots of food places, ramen, curry, fast food, and traditional Japanese dining experiences. There is a nearby 7-11 type convenience store that is open late. There are also vending machines near the elevators that offer snacks as well as beer.

Unfortunately, there is no free WIFI in the room, only in the hotel lobby, which is 1 level down from the street level. You can buy WIFI daily, for about $5 USD. The staff is very friendly, greeting with a smile every time you pass them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stayed 3 nights at Twin Room A with a friend. The room was very spacious and I loved how the bathroom and washing basin was tucked away between the entrance and the beds. The hotel is located five minutes (on foot) from the East Exit of JR Shinjuku Station and closer from the Marunouchi Line. Great if you are taking the Narita Express to/from the airport but a hassle if you are taking the airport limousine bus as the hotel is not a designated bus stop. The closest bus stop for the airport limousine bus is right outside the Keio Department Store near the West Exit of JR Shinjuku Station, 10 minutes’ walk (or more if you are carrying luggage) from the hotel.

Overall, it is conveniently located in a prime area of Shinjuku and surrounded by major department stores and shops. Will I go back? Sure, why not?!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Chunnylittleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

It is good hotel to stay. Recommend for anyone.

Close to everything, 7/11, train station, shopping, restaurants.

Good staff team. Does help you getting info and so on.

Very Old style Restaurant, and cafe lounge in side hotel.

For business people, there are no business centre or room for it. Not good for business.

Price okay for $150 usd, if more I'm not sure for the room I stayed in.

I would stay again but no more than $150.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hotel in the month of March 2013. The room was small but I believe that's normal by Japanese standards. We had a good night's sleep and the beds were comfortable. The service and information offered by the people at the reception was very good. Surprisingly, they spoke quite understandable English. As far as location goes, it right next to the Shinjuku station and Kabuchiko district is just around the corner from the entrance of the hotel. I would definitely stay here again when I'm in Tokyo again.

Please note, since tripadvisor does not allow to state a date of travel before August 2013, I have mentioned that my date of travel was in August 2013 though we actually traveled to Tokyo in March 2013.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvind0288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is right in the middle of all the action. It is steps away from the main Shinjuku station. From here, you could go anywhere. The hotel itself is modern, clean and safe. Staff are friendly and speak English. Overall, it was a great stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Khanh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Shinjuku Prince Hotel not by choice as we bought a free n easy flight and stay package. It turned out quite alright for us, given its convenient location. It's just above the Seibu station and just a 5-min walk to the main Shunjuku station, not daunting even with a 4 year old with us. There're some coffee joints and small shopping at the annex attached to the hotel, which is a nice to have.

Room, as expected by Japan standard, is compact and clean, although no frills.

Breakfast spread is quite decent which is good for family with young kids, although there's no lack of food options once you step out of the hotel.

If any, my only gripe would be that the front desk is a flight of steps from the main entrance, which the concierge makes effort to help with the luggage to minimize the inconvenience. Don't expect polished 5-star concierge service here, but they are mostly friendly and helpful.

Overall a nice experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bingercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#13 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,494 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Prince Hotel

Property: Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Address: 1-30-1 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-8487, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinjuku Prince Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinjuku - a city constantly on the move. Here in this fast-paced subcenter of Tokyo, you'll find the striking, brick-colored tower of the Shinjuku Prince Hotel, which boasts 571 guest rooms and the trendy shops of the Seibu Shinjuku PePe. Located near the towering Tokyo Metropolitan City Hall, this elegant hotel is just a few minutes walk from the skyscrapers of the financial district and the neon lights of the famous Kabuki-cho, a constantly humming nightlife quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shinjuku Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Shinjuku
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Prince Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing