We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shinjuku Prince Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Western Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

It is good hotel to stay. Recommend for anyone.

Close to everything, 7/11, train station, shopping, restaurants.

Good staff team. Does help you getting info and so on.

Very Old style Restaurant, and cafe lounge in side hotel.

For business people, there are no business centre or room for it. Not good for business.

Price okay for $150 usd, if more I'm not sure for the room I stayed in.

I would stay again but no more than $150.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    421
    216
    44
    21
See reviews for
141
248
121
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hotel in the month of March 2013. The room was small but I believe that's normal by Japanese standards. We had a good night's sleep and the beds were comfortable. The service and information offered by the people at the reception was very good. Surprisingly, they spoke quite understandable English. As far as location goes, it right next to the Shinjuku station and Kabuchiko district is just around the corner from the entrance of the hotel. I would definitely stay here again when I'm in Tokyo again.

Please note, since tripadvisor does not allow to state a date of travel before August 2013, I have mentioned that my date of travel was in August 2013 though we actually traveled to Tokyo in March 2013.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvind0288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is right in the middle of all the action. It is steps away from the main Shinjuku station. From here, you could go anywhere. The hotel itself is modern, clean and safe. Staff are friendly and speak English. Overall, it was a great stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Khanh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Shinjuku Prince Hotel not by choice as we bought a free n easy flight and stay package. It turned out quite alright for us, given its convenient location. It's just above the Seibu station and just a 5-min walk to the main Shunjuku station, not daunting even with a 4 year old with us. There're some coffee joints and small shopping at the annex attached to the hotel, which is a nice to have.

Room, as expected by Japan standard, is compact and clean, although no frills.

Breakfast spread is quite decent which is good for family with young kids, although there's no lack of food options once you step out of the hotel.

If any, my only gripe would be that the front desk is a flight of steps from the main entrance, which the concierge makes effort to help with the luggage to minimize the inconvenience. Don't expect polished 5-star concierge service here, but they are mostly friendly and helpful.

Overall a nice experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bingercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

In the heart of shinjuku, prince hotel has you in the middle of the action.
Fast paced, noisy, crowded - staying at this hotel has you feeling you're REALLY in Tokyo.
Lots of great food and shopping to be had nearby.
Room is small, bathroom is tiny, but well fit out. Very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memcey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

My first hotel in tokyo which brought me a nice experience.

Good location situated at the heart of the city, surrounding by many shops and restaurants which made shopping becomes easier.

Staff is nice and cheerful, very kind to ask if we have umbrella with us when it's raining outside.

We paid extra 400 yen daily to stay at bigger double room (around 300 sq. ft). There's sitting area with 2-seated sofa, so it's spacious for watching tv. Washroom is clean with stylish design. Amenities are sufficient and useful.

Surely will return this hotel on our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sw L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

I stay here at least once a month for the past 5+ years so maybe I'm biased but it's an excellent hotel for business and sightseeing around Tokyo. Prices for a single room are as low as $100 but can go up to $250+ for a larger room. I recommend any visitor to sign up for the Prince Club International (PCI) which will get you room discounts and a free late check out.

Overall the rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. The beds are comfortable and the pillows are perfect for me. Keep in mind though this is Tokyo so don't expect much in terms of room size and amenities.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#13 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,493 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Prince Hotel

Property: Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Address: 1-30-1 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-8487, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinjuku Prince Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinjuku - a city constantly on the move. Here in this fast-paced subcenter of Tokyo, you'll find the striking, brick-colored tower of the Shinjuku Prince Hotel, which boasts 571 guest rooms and the trendy shops of the Seibu Shinjuku PePe. Located near the towering Tokyo Metropolitan City Hall, this elegant hotel is just a few minutes walk from the skyscrapers of the financial district and the neon lights of the famous Kabuki-cho, a constantly humming nightlife quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Shinjuku Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Shinjuku
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Prince Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing