We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good service and a good night's sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Ranked #14 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location, good service and a good night's sleep!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hotel in the month of March 2013. The room was small but I believe that's normal by Japanese standards. We had a good night's sleep and the beds were comfortable. The service and information offered by the people at the reception was very good. Surprisingly, they spoke quite understandable English. As far as location goes, it right next to the Shinjuku station and Kabuchiko district is just around the corner from the entrance of the hotel. I would definitely stay here again when I'm in Tokyo again.

Please note, since tripadvisor does not allow to state a date of travel before August 2013, I have mentioned that my date of travel was in August 2013 though we actually traveled to Tokyo in March 2013.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvind0288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    441
    227
    47
    23
See reviews for
162
260
126
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is right in the middle of all the action. It is steps away from the main Shinjuku station. From here, you could go anywhere. The hotel itself is modern, clean and safe. Staff are friendly and speak English. Overall, it was a great stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Khanh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Shinjuku Prince Hotel not by choice as we bought a free n easy flight and stay package. It turned out quite alright for us, given its convenient location. It's just above the Seibu station and just a 5-min walk to the main Shunjuku station, not daunting even with a 4 year old with us. There're some coffee joints and small shopping at the annex attached to the hotel, which is a nice to have.

Room, as expected by Japan standard, is compact and clean, although no frills.

Breakfast spread is quite decent which is good for family with young kids, although there's no lack of food options once you step out of the hotel.

If any, my only gripe would be that the front desk is a flight of steps from the main entrance, which the concierge makes effort to help with the luggage to minimize the inconvenience. Don't expect polished 5-star concierge service here, but they are mostly friendly and helpful.

Overall a nice experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bingercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

In the heart of shinjuku, prince hotel has you in the middle of the action.
Fast paced, noisy, crowded - staying at this hotel has you feeling you're REALLY in Tokyo.
Lots of great food and shopping to be had nearby.
Room is small, bathroom is tiny, but well fit out. Very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memcey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

My first hotel in tokyo which brought me a nice experience.

Good location situated at the heart of the city, surrounding by many shops and restaurants which made shopping becomes easier.

Staff is nice and cheerful, very kind to ask if we have umbrella with us when it's raining outside.

We paid extra 400 yen daily to stay at bigger double room (around 300 sq. ft). There's sitting area with 2-seated sofa, so it's spacious for watching tv. Washroom is clean with stylish design. Amenities are sufficient and useful.

Surely will return this hotel on our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sw L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

I stay here at least once a month for the past 5+ years so maybe I'm biased but it's an excellent hotel for business and sightseeing around Tokyo. Prices for a single room are as low as $100 but can go up to $250+ for a larger room. I recommend any visitor to sign up for the Prince Club International (PCI) which will get you room discounts and a free late check out.

Overall the rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. The beds are comfortable and the pillows are perfect for me. Keep in mind though this is Tokyo so don't expect much in terms of room size and amenities.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed here for 3 and two nights (05/23-05/26). Pros: (Yes there is wifi in every room :) )

Great location.Great room views. The Tokyo Metropolitan building is just 2 stations away or around 20-30 mins of walking. Tokyo hotels are small by standard so dont expect too much of what you're used to about hotels. There are vending machines for food and drinks next to the elevators in every level. This is where you also get your hot water for tea since they only only provide non electric kettle for hot water in your room. You can have the option of buying a prepaid card pass if you want to access the English movies,cartoons,series and etc. for 1000 yen or around $10 but it has a limited time of 12pm to 11am next morning great for kids but a bit expensive. Staffs are very accommodating and can speak conversational english. The lobby has a business center where you can access a computer if you don't have one(100 yen for 10min). They also have a xerox machine for documents and a currency converter machine there.

Shinjuku itself is a great starting point you can go anywhere around tokyo in just a short distance by walking or the metro. So many great places to see close by like ramen and conveyor belt restaurant in front of the hotel.
Also shops like Don Quixote a 24hr shopping store 2 blocks away where they sell everything you can imagine from candies and drinks that are only unique to Japan to household item and gadgets. Uniqlo and Bic Mac an electronic store that's very popular in japan is just walking distance.


Cons: The lack and quality of pillow. If you're someone who is used to having more than a pillow in bed you may get a bit uncomfortable. Me and my brother stayed in a twin room so each of us had our own bed. They will only provide 2 pillows each bed.One medium size for your head which is flat and always feels moist because of the cover and a small useless decorative pillow. No drawers or closet so if you traveled with big luggages it will cramp up your doorway and bathroom exit. No lotion, humidity in hotels in my experience can be a bit dry unless you can figure out how to use their humidifiers in Japanese, so if you've forgotten to bring one or decide not to especially the ladies you may have to buy outside.

All in all remember in Tokyo you will barely spend time in your hotel because there are so many sights to see but it does still add for a great vacation stay.

Room Tip: Choose rooms from 15th flor and above. Specifically left side because the view is more spectacular a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,749 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Prince Hotel

Property: Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Address: 1-30-1 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-8487, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinjuku Prince Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinjuku - a city constantly on the move. Here in this fast-paced subcenter of Tokyo, you'll find the striking, brick-colored tower of the Shinjuku Prince Hotel, which boasts 571 guest rooms and the trendy shops of the Seibu Shinjuku PePe. Located near the towering Tokyo Metropolitan City Hall, this elegant hotel is just a few minutes walk from the skyscrapers of the financial district and the neon lights of the famous Kabuki-cho, a constantly humming nightlife quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shinjuku Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Shinjuku
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Prince Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing