We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shinjuku Prince Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrific place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Barely room to swing a cat, but since we weren't planning to stay in our rooms that didn't matter! Rooms were efficient and clean and functional and at a reasonable rate. The location is just fantastic - close to restaurants and shops and most importantly the railway stations are a short walk away. We found the subways confusing at first and had difficulty finding the hotel in the pouring rain - access is either via the street (24 hrs) or through the subway and escalators and shops (from around 10.00 am to 11.00 pm). Internet access is available in the lobby or in the rooms on request and payment, but we were unable to get room access as it had all been used up. Hence it gets a bit crowded in the lobby at times with everyone logging on! Reception staff might need a refresher on their own services - one sent me out a couple of streets away to an ATM when there was one in the building, and one didn't seem to know about the computer and printer services available to guests only 3 metres away from him.
Rooms were very hot - I was told that because of the cold weather the air conditioning was set at a fixed and warm 23c and could not be changed in the rooms - this made for very uncomfortable sleeping at night although they did provide me with a fan on request which made it a bit easier.
Nevertheless would stay there again as Shinjuku is such a great location to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coyote1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    434
    226
    46
    23
See reviews for
155
259
122
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were here 4 nights and was my first time staying in Shinjuku. The couple of times I came to Tokyo before I stayed in the Ginza/Nihombashi area. Shinjuku is great as a base for touring Tokyo and this hotel is very close to everything. Right at the door step of the hotel are numerous eateries, convenience stores and shops so there is no lack of choice.


Arriving via the Narita Express, it can be overwhelming to exit the tracks into a very high human traffic zone. There are several lines running through Shinjuku station hence the constant busyness. If you want to go to the hotel via underground, you will have to look for exit B10 ( escalator down) to where the Subnade shopping mall is. Take the first left when you reach a cross junction and go all the way to the end. Shinjuku Prince is right above the stairways.

If you prefer to go above ground, the hotel is fairly easy to spot from afar. The easiest would be to go to the west exit (Odakyu Mall) and keep walking towards the tall dark brown building. The Mode Hal Iko building ( the most distinctive I can think of) should be on your left when you are heading towards the hotel. You will walk down until you reach a major cross junction with the train tracks on your right. Cross the big zebra crossing and turn right to walk under the tracks. The hotel is on your left once you are out from under the tracks. There should be a bicycle parking area in front of you. You will see the signs for Pepe Shopping Mall which is right where the hotel is.

Service was great at the hotel. They were however very strict on check in/out times so no luck with getting the room at 11.15am when we arrived as check in was only from 12 noon. We booked the standard double room which was adequate for 2 persons who didn't expect to stay in the room much. I've read reviews about getting rooms reeking of cigarettes but was fortunate our room had no such issue. The design of the room and bathroom was clever and very clean. We registered for the green room voucher which basically meant the hotel will give you a 500 yen voucher for each consecutive day you do not have your room serviced by housekeeping. We got the 60 day advance room offer so we got the room for a really good rate at 11,000 JPY per night.

We went back via Haneda so we got the Limousine Bus service which can be bought right at the hotel's bell counter. ( 1200 JPY per person) The bus stop is at the West Exit near the Keio mall.

Room Tip: request for a high room. we were on the 22nd floor so the sounds from the train tracks were quite fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Junita56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here for the 4-5 times and we are still satisfied with their hotel and room. Although space is typically small, but still big enough to pass through the doorway with 2 person side by side.

Location to all eating places, convenient stores & JR is all a few minutes walk.

My package includes a room Internet which is great thing as i can do some surfing and research after a long day outside. Internet speed is fast and good.

Will come back in my next trip again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank admkewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed in shinjuku prince hotel from 22/12 to 24/12. This was my fifth stay in the same hotel. The location is perfect. Can go anywhere easily . The room is small ( Japan style!) but in general it is pretty clean n tidy. The best thing about this hotel is its location. For us hong kongers, we can't afford to walk a long distance. We love to reach everything within minutes. U can find sushi, noodles , BBQ seafood, all u can eat buffet nearby( within 5 mins). If u carry a lot of shoppings u can get back to the hotel anytime u want. This time I found the hotel has improved by providing in room wifi . U need to pay a fee for the in room wifi . It's 500 yen for 24 hours. The price is ok ! It's better than sitting in the lobby using the weak public wifi and its a 24 hour basis.(counting on hours) I think this is a good change. The down side is the windows are not allowed to open. U will find the air con is very hot n there is no way to turn it down. Do bring shorts n t shirts for pyjamus ! If need, just call front desk for a fan. U can walk from jr to the hotel directly without going up on the ground but its extremely complicated.
Will stay in this hotel again next time for its location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
285 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Good quality hotel in a great location to base yourself and explore Tokyo. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Shinjuku station. Shinjuku station is enormous and I found heading to the east exit (clearly marked) was the best way to get to the hotel.

The room was small but was comfortable, clean and contained everything that I required. I was travelling alone and the lack of space was fine but couples travelling with a few suitcases may have an issue with the compact nature of the room.

The staff were helpful (everyone in Japan is) although the english skills amongst staff varied considerably. Due to booking last minute I ended up in a smoking room however the only time I ever smelt it was in the hallway.

For the price I paid to stay here I felt like I got a very good deal, especially for Tokyo. I would happily stay again when I am in Tokyo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Rooms are so compact, but pretty average for Tokyo. Rooms are clean and beds are comfy. We had 2 twin room side by side and we never heard a noise from our kids next door. There was a nasty smell in the bathroom. We found it easier if only one person moved about at a time :) This hotel is right in the thick of it and out the window was a giant neon sign which flashes red and white, and very close to another giant screen with music videos which played very loud, I worried about being able to sleep with all this but they do turn it off at some stage during the night. Wifi was 500 yen per day in the room which we thought was worth it. Although the hotel is a block from Shinjuku Station depending on what exit you take it's easy to get lost. 3.5 million people travel through this station per day and I think we managed to annoy about a million of them. We didn't eat at the hotel, cheap eateries everywhere, good coffee from cafe under the hotel beside the steps into Pepe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sneece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel in a very good location next to Shinjuku train station. The room is quite small, however that is common for Tokyo hotels. The room was in great condition, clean and with all necessary amenities. Great value and a pleasant experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mi0soer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,681 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Prince Hotel

Property: Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Address: 1-30-1 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-8487, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinjuku Prince Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinjuku - a city constantly on the move. Here in this fast-paced subcenter of Tokyo, you'll find the striking, brick-colored tower of the Shinjuku Prince Hotel, which boasts 571 guest rooms and the trendy shops of the Seibu Shinjuku PePe. Located near the towering Tokyo Metropolitan City Hall, this elegant hotel is just a few minutes walk from the skyscrapers of the financial district and the neon lights of the famous Kabuki-cho, a constantly humming nightlife quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Shinjuku Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Shinjuku
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Prince Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing