We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The main advantage of the Prince Shinjuku is the location, situated close to the station in the heart of lively Shinjuku. The room had an amazing view over the Tokyo skyline.

It offers great value if you are not too worried about service and general quality. The place was a bit dated, and it took three requests to obtain a wifi box. I also had the bathroom smell issue.

The staff were OK, although I wasn't so sure they were keen to offer local recommendations and advice.

All in all I'd probably choose again due to the location and easy situation with the heart of disorientating Shinjuku.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aber_james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

My Husband and I stayed in Osaka, Kyoto and Tokyo whilst in Japan. When looking for the best hotels we had three requirements 1. Must be in a central / safe location 2. Good Value $$ and Clean 3. Comfortable beds & pillows. The Prince Shinjuku Hotel did not tick all of these boxes for us...

The only reason that bumped up our overall rating of the Prince Shinjuku Hotel is due to the central location; otherwise we would have marked it as 'Poor'.

Pros:

- This hotel is only a few minutes away from the train station as well as Starbucks and Cold Stone Creamery (we predominantly used the trains / subway and the bullet train to travel within Japan).

- The staff was OK and spoke a small amount of English, some better than others. The staff that didn't speak much English just stared blankly if they didn't understand - awkward.

- Free Wi-Fi.

Cons:

- The beds were terribly uncomfortable, my Husband and I barely slept for the 4 nights we stayed here! The 2 hotels we stayed at previously in Osaka and Kyoto were double beds and extremely comfortable so we were not expecting this.

- The pillows were just as bad; it was like sleeping on nothing. However when we asked for 4 additional pillows they obliged without question.

- There was a pungent small emitting from the bathroom, so we had to keep the door closed the entire time we were there.

*** Just a few must sees in Tokyo ***

- Electric Town - Akihabara
This place was amazing! We made sure to go on a Sunday as they close down the main street between 1pm and 6pm, we caught the JR Chuo line to Akihabara and followed the signs to 'Electric Town'. For lunch we had the best sushi ever at a place called 'Sushi Zanmai' on level 8 at the Yodobashi Akiba building. This building is 9 levels of hi tech equipment, cameras, laptops, mobiles etc.

- Tokyo Times Square.
If you have a JR pass get onto the Yamanote Line and go from Shinjuku Station to Shibuya Station. The Hachiko Crossing is only a few minutes away. It was great sitting in Starbucks sipping a coffee at the window whilst watching the masses of people crossing everywhere.

- Hard Rock Cafe - Roppongi
After eating Japanese food for 2 weeks straight my Husband and I decided a burger would be a nice change and it was also a nice trip to Roppongi. And although we didn't visit the Tokyo Tower it's only a few klms away from the station.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheBahBahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Tokyo is really big so if you want to know it take one ward at a time. This time I'll do Shinjuku. Hotels are pretty expensive in Tokyo so if you get a 15-20 sqm room for decent price you should be happy. The hotel's location is great for exploring this part of town with the excitement and strange wonders of Kabukichō just across the street. Shinjuku train station 5 min walk away and the Tokyo metropolitan government building with both Hyatt park and regency on both sides. The strange and futuristic Mode Gakuen Cocoon Tower is here to along with some parks, shrines and temples. Ask for a room on the upper floors to get a vantage point either facing low rise buildings on the Kabukichō side or the other side with clusters of skyscrapers. Take your dirty clothes somewhere else unless you want all your money to go with them. Dry cleaning at this hotel cost as much as staying here several nights. There is a dry cleaner just outside the hotel which i assume is a lot cheaper though I was not smart enough to use it. The rooms look quite nice and the bathroom is typically modern Japanese style with the toilet having options and buttons we westerners never knew existed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PMEkeiehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

If you are looking for convenience, this hotel is just right. As I was planning a shopping trip, got myself a big luggage which fortunately this hotel is one of the stop for the airport shuttle bus too. It's just a stone throw to the railway and metro station which is so convenient and the shopping malls are right on the door step, you can also get a discounted tickets to most attractions like Disneyland at one of the shop opposite the Lumine, a lot of locals bought their bus and rail tickets here. Must go to the Takashimaya food court and all the Japanese food and snack there is not to be missed.

Room Tip: like many hotel rooms in Tokyo which is smaller in size this hotel is the same, their wifi is only a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALKEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The best thing going for the hotel is the staff and free internet. rooms small, smells, lots of lint under the beds, Tub is tough getting in and out if I squat I am flopping in the tub trying to get up. Our room smelt tabacco and soy sauce. Breakfast buffet was cheap but was nothing to write about. The Bellman was efficient and great we checked out and left our luggage and went shopping before we had to get the Narita Express to the airport. That two min. from the train station is if you fly. Since we had to walk anyway to catch the limo bus to Narita, we had the JR pass and used it to ride the Nexpress for free. I am night a night person and this hotel is right there in the night life so its what what you want

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Rooms are terribly small. bathroom was very small and smelt. conveniently located is the only thing going for this hotel. I would prefer to stay out after Town and in nicer environment I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have stayed at the Shinjuku Prince Hotel several times since its so convenient to get to, it's located 2 minutes from the Shinjuku Train Station which makes it very easy to get around Tokyo. The airport bus does not go to the Price but it stops at the train station. The hotel itself is nice, however for most Americans the rooms are REALLY small unless you get a larger room than the most basic. Also, during the winter the hotel shuts off the AC and the hotel windows do not open, the rooms get really hot and stuffy. I would not stay here during the winter becasue the rooms are way too small and get way too hot.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlwaysGl0beTr0tting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#13 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,438 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,522 reviews
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,658 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Prince Hotel

Address: 1-30-1 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-8487, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: $127 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinjuku Prince Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinjuku - a city constantly on the move. Here in this fast-paced subcenter of Tokyo, you'll find the striking, brick-colored tower of the Shinjuku Prince Hotel, which boasts 571 guest rooms and the trendy shops of the Seibu Shinjuku PePe. Located near the towering Tokyo Metropolitan City Hall, this elegant hotel is just a few minutes walk from the skyscrapers of the financial district and the neon lights of the famous Kabuki-cho, a constantly humming nightlife quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shinjuku Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Shinjuku
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Prince Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing