We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Excellent location. Only 5 mins walk from the JR East exit. Since transportation is so expensive in Tokyo, to choose a good location can save you some money. The hotel itself is very old. The lobby is still in a very old decor. However, the room is renovated and have a modern twist. I had a deluxe twin room and it is spacious in Tokyo standard. The room is overlooking the whole Shinjuku area. Surprisingly the noise from the street does not goes in to the room. The hotel is connected to a 8 floors shopping center and there are restaurants, clothing, even a huge 100 yen store. There is a 7-11 just on the opposite road from the hotel. So basically it has everything. Internet cost 500 something yen per 24 hours. I think this is pretty cheap for hotel. The only thing I can pick on is the mattress is so soft. I personally like harded bed so that is not a dream bed for me. However, I will definitely choose this hotel again next time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mochaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (976)
There are newer reviews for Shinjuku Prince Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 487 of 976 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2011

Foreigner friendly and very accommodating hotel. Less than 5 minutes walk from Shinzuku station. Right next to the district. Great room views. Rooms are small by US standards but has everything you need. Had a double room and was better than the small European rooms I've stayed on in the past. Very clean. Vending machines have everything you need. Toiletries are included in the room (tooth brush, comb, soap, etc.).

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holamobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Prince is located in the red light district of Kabukicho and right above the subway line which made it very noisy, especially on the first couple of nights that we were there. Although in a very convenient location with Shinjuku at it's doorstep and lots of shops and restaurants it was still a seedy area. It would have been better to stay on the other side of shinjuku. Also, perhaps because of the area and maybe the price (although it wasn't that cheap), it attracted some 'seedy' guests!

The rooms were clean, although when we first checked in we noticed that the kettle was filty and asked for a replacement. The service was very average - we had come from Osaka and had stayed at the Swissotel there, so we found a considerable difference in service between the two. The concierge wasn't helpful and/or friendly at all and the reception staff were ok. Make sure you go for the 30sqm rooms and not the 15sqm - you can barely fit ONE suitcase in those 15sqm because they are that small.

We personally wouldn't stay here again if we returned to Tokyo.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Located at the edge of Kabuchiko at Shinjuku and on top of Shinjuku line subway. Location very central in Shinjuku and a stone throw away from Shinjuku main station (Odakyu shopping centre) for transfer to varioius subway and JR Line. You can board the train to Hakone from Shinjuku station.

Plenty of food around and a 24 hr McD is just outside the hotel. There is a sushi kaiten shop right outside the hotel and open for 24 hr. Very reasonably price.

As for the room, it's quite small. A semi-queen size bed (not full queen size bed) and a study table with TV. Not much moving space but sufficient for a couple.

The wall is pretty thin though and you can hear your neighbour pretty clearly but it doesn't bother me coz we are hardly home.

Recommended for it's location.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xcalliber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Being able to find such a nice hotel in this robust location is a great benefit. The room and level of service is as best as you can expect to receive in Tokyo. The attention and care the staff provided is excellent and commendable. Overall, I can’t say much about this hotel besides excellent and will return in the future for my trips to Tokyo.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAngeDeMort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I arrived at the Shinjuku prince 24hrs after the disastrous earthquake struck in March. Subways were shut down, businesses were closed, but everything in the hotel was running so smoothly, it was like the chaos outside didn't even exist. Room service was excellent, and everything that we asked for was accommodated. Rooms were extremely clean and well kept. I especially liked the robes, slippers, and Japanese green tea that made you feel right at home. The rooms were very small, but considering the fact that we didn't spend much time in the room anyways, it didn't make a difference to us.

We had paid for our trip in advance and it was non-refundable. But due to rising fears of radiation, we had to cut our trip short. The staff at the front desk were more than helpful in booking our flight back to the US. What's even more, the hotel refunded us for our unused nights due to unforeseen circumstances. My husband and I had a very memorable stay in Japan, and we thank the Shinjuku Prince hotel for all that they have done.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dreemz05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

From the minute you step into Shinjuku Prince you know you're in for something different from all the other hotels. Clearly the hotel's efforts to seamlessly transport you back to the 1980s have been substantial -- everything seems to be authentically from the period, as if it hasn't been updated in 20-30 years! The only thing out of place are the computers, which appear to be from the 1990s. Oh well, 99% ain't bad.

Then you get up to your room. Everybody loves campervans, so Shinjuku Prince has recreated the experience of living in a campervan for all guests! There is the double bed, pushed up against the wall to maximise space in the ridiculously small room. The bathroom is entirely made of prefabricated fibreglass, which you step up into. Presumably the cleaning staff hose this cavity down each day so you know it must be very clean! The towels are thin, worn, and rough, and the room comes with a handy bottle of odour spray, with which you are invited to use in case you come across any odours.

The Shinjuku Prince also goes out of its way to show you what it would be like to be extremely wealthy. For example, how much would a wealthy gentleman pay for ice in his drink? The Shinjuku Prince will delivery ice to your room for 350 yen (around $4). There is no ice machine. Need some underwear cleaned? 400 yen ($5) each. There is no laundry room.

Is it really this bad? Yes. Undoubtedly the worst hotel experience I have ever had.

Want to stay in the same area in a nicer hotel but with cheaper rooms? Try the Best Western, a couple of blocks to the east. The rooms aren't bigger but the entire hotel is much nicer, including staff, decor, and service.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nambio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,332 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,019 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Prince Hotel

Address: 1-30-1 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-8487, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: $129 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinjuku Prince Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinjuku - a city constantly on the move. Here in this fast-paced subcenter of Tokyo, you'll find the striking, brick-colored tower of the Shinjuku Prince Hotel, which boasts 571 guest rooms and the trendy shops of the Seibu Shinjuku PePe. Located near the towering Tokyo Metropolitan City Hall, this elegant hotel is just a few minutes walk from the skyscrapers of the financial district and the neon lights of the famous Kabuki-cho, a constantly humming nightlife quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shinjuku Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Shinjuku
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Prince Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing