We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best japanese beef”
Review of Rokkasen

Rokkasen
Ranked #2 of 8,791 Restaurants in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shinjuku
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The best japanese beef”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommended for matsuzaka beef. The beef is melted in your mouth. Make a reservation in advance, because it's always full for dinner.

Helpful?
2 Thank foootrip
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    119
    23
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“matsuzaka beef galore!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We visited this restaurant for Dec. 31 lunch. We wanted dinner but it was fully booked. Good thing that the hotel was able to make a reservation for us.
We arrived 10 minutes earlier than our reservation time and really had to wait for the exact time to be seated.
Ordered the Matsuzaka Grill assortment and was not disappointed. We even ordered a second round as we couldn't get enough from the first order.
The service was bit slow probably because of the volume of customers but left very satisfied with our meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WGTy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tried the 10k all-you-can-eat option. Wasn't disappointed.”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Normally, when people think about all you can eat, the image of cheap meat comes to mind. However, in Rokkasen, it's all you can eat DELICIOUS MEAT OMNOMNOM. We tried the 2nd option since we were broke from the shopping spree. It felt like orgasm. Continuously since it's all you can eat. I'm pretty sure we left the place 10 pounds heavier. Will come back again once I make sure I'm not at risk for a heart attack.

However do be aware that there is a 90 min timer on the all you can eat. You should also make reservations before hand as the place is quite popular.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“High quality shabu shabu in Shinjuku”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

English menu was available, so that made ordering easier.

Since we made a reservation, we were seated on the 7th floor in a private room (no view though). We chose shabu shabu over the grill. Service was really good, all the waiters could speak basic english. I love how there was a bell (button) in the room so that we could ask for a waiter whenever.

We ended up order the Shabu shabu course of Japanese Black Cattle (7870 yen per person). All the food was high in quality...the only small complaint I had was the beef was cut to massive slices (as big as my palm!).

It was an very expensive meal but once again, you pay for the quality. I would recommend it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gsung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Felt like I was eating in a chimney”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

What are you folks talking about? You realize people go by these reviews and when a place is number two in Tokyo it should be wonderful. This place is hot, cramped and way overpriced. Fancy beef? Please. Go to walmart. Slice their Walmart strip in thin slices. Stick that on a metal grill and ask an Asian guy to come over and blow smoke in your face while you dip that piece of sizzleen in some vinegar sauce. When you are done take out $200 from your wallet and set it on fire.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WarEagle621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rokkasen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing