We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tokyu Stay Nishishinjuku
Ranked #19 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

A very nice place to stay. Though small room but Comfy. There is a washer/dryer inside and its very convenient. There is also a nice green tea spray bottle for the room you can use. Friendly staff. Breakfast is ok for not high expectation people. McDonald's, Curry Rice restaurants and convience store are all nearby. Walking distance to Denny's Restaurant. Around 5-7 mins walk to the subway and 10-15 mins to the Supermarket. Bus stop heading to Shinjuku is also walking distance. A definate place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    125
    40
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
76
49
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

After reading the reviews I was concerned about the room size and breakfast but after staying there are no concerns at all! We had a standard room that had plenty of space for bags, it had a fridge, microwave, wahshing machine, bowls, cups etc as well as plenty of desk space for charging phones etc. the air cond was great and the tv worked well.

Breakfast was really great if you are will to branch out a bit. I had tomato rice, a really lovely chicken (honey soy) and some salad before taking on the slightly unusual bread offering. Again I thought it was excellent.

I would stay here again

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor with a view of the Government building towers and the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaycogal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

As noted, rooms are small but clean-Although bathroom was more about efficiency than style, the shower water pressure and temp. were excellent. My travel pillow was used at night as the hotel pillow was like a bulky foam rock. The beds were extra firm but surprisingly excellent for sleep quality. Hotel staff was neutral- answered questions but not much interaction beyond required greetings. You will get a nice walk going to shinjuku. Walk a route staying to the north of the park when going to and from the hotel to avoid the many homeless living under the overpasses. You will also pass a 24 hour grocery store that is quite convenient. The beer garden at the nearby Hilton was nothing more than plastic tables and chairs on the rooftop and beer was expensive-skip it unless paying $30.00 per person for all the beer you can drink meets your needs for value.
There was no cozy place to hang out in the hotel lobby...to play cards or have a beer-as the lobby is quite sterile and the rooms are too small.
We went to McDonalds for coffee pre-breakfast every morning as the hotel coffee cups were very dainty...The hotel breakfast lost appeal after 3 mornings and egg mc muffins at McDonalds next door tasted glorious for our 4th morning. The McDonalds is clean with a local mix and the workers hustle and are really friendly so it's like you're not even in McDonalds.
We chose this hotel as we were traveling with a budget conscious couple and although no regrets as we had a fantastic time, I would pony up some cash for a bit of additional aesthetics and to be closer to trains for the next visit. Can't beat the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plantingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We are family of 4 and had to stay in 2 separate rooms because rooms are really small. Not a problem, but rooms do not connect to each other. Rooms have small frig, microwave, and hot water pot. We liked the location, few restaurants and coffee shops around, and short walk to Government Building where you have to go to see the view of Tokyo for free. The breakfast was okay but its a good thing my kids will eat anything! When riding the subway there are many Nishi stops - the closest is the Nishi-Gochome, although we went to wrong station and it was not a long walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I'm a bit torn with this hotel. It was ok.

Positives...

It is in a good location (by a subway station but not by Shinjuku Station - 30 min walk). There are some restaurants nearby but you will mostly be taking the train to another area or walking at least 30 minutes to the heart of Shinjuku.

The hotel was clean when we arrived.

It has a washing machine. This is very beneficial.

There is a 24hr McDonalds downstairs.

The price. This hotel was MUCH cheaper than other hotels in the area.

Negatives...

We were not advised when we booked the hotel that our room would not be serviced daily. No one will make the bed, change sheets or remove garbage or do a general clean. We stayed 8 days and the room was cleaned once.

The staff are ok but not overly friendly and one gentleman was very rude.

The breakfast is ok for travellers on a budget that are ok with toast and a small selection of pastries and soup. We only had the breakfast once.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to travellers on a budget. It isn't terrible. I probably wouldn't stay here again though (at least not for an extended stay - longer than 2 nights).

Room Tip: The pillows are flat and hard. We requested another pillow and were unable to get it for the first 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

If you want to feel the vibe of Tokyo, I think this is the right place to stay in. You will be in the heart of Shinjuku, busy district with lots and lots of things to do. The hotel itself is very clean with cosy beds, nice staff and more than reasonable price. Only backdraw might be traditional japanese breakfast served at the hotel lobby which consists mainly of eggs, rice & meat. There is also some pastry with fruit jams but if you want to start your day with healthy stuff, you will be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on higher floor if you want to enjoy the view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filmulienka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

It's been a really nice stay in this hotel. Near the the nishi-shinjuku-gochōme ( oedo line) subway stop (3 min walk) in the middle of the business area near the government building,
this hotel offers a really nice stay. The rooms are nice, clean and we had a really nice view on the city ( requested ). Small bathroom but functional. The concierge staff is very kind and useful. High speed Wi-fi free in all areas. Not excellent buffet breakfast but good. Generally it's been an amazing stay in Tokyo. Tip: Near the hotel there is a little soba restaurant that is excellent!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaDrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
#2 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
#9 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku
Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku
#13 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku New City Hotel
Shinjuku New City Hotel
#40 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyu Stay Nishishinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyu Stay Nishishinjuku

Property: Tokyu Stay Nishishinjuku
Address: 5-9-8 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokyu Stay Nishishinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Rakuten, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tokyu Stay Nishishinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyu Stay Nishishinjuku Shinjuku, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing