We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good”

Tsurutontan Shinjuku
Ranked #54 of 8,791 Restaurants in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shinjuku
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So good”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Huge bowls of udon. They have English versions of their regular menu and their seasonal menu. I had their Gorgonzola cream sauce udon. It was so, so good. My friends had miso-based bowls. We were glad they gave out paper bibs.

You can change the amount of noodles you get. I got 1.5 and had a few leftover. All the amounts from 1-3 are the same price. Our bowls were about 1,500yen each, which is really reasonable for a lot of food in Tokyo.

Yes there is a long looking line, but it moves fairly quickly and it's worth the wait! If you have more than 4, I would try and make a reservation.

Try this!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeJo0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    52
    17
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Amazing ramen - worth the wait.”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We were looking for a good ramen restaurant in the Shinjuku area and found Tsurutontan on trip advisor. We didn't have the forethought to book in advance so we were left to line up with the others looking to dine. I'd say we waited about 30 minutes, we almost gave up when we thought we were almost there and realised that the line extended inside of the restaurant.
It's downstairs and a little hard to find as we couldn't find any signs in English, but a friendly tout on the street was happy to walk us there.
The restaurant appears to be frequented mostly by locals as we only saw one other foreigner, the fit out is lovely, we sat around the bar in the non-smoking area on lovely high back couple leather seats.
The service is great and they do have an English menu which makes it much easier to make a choice.
I had the miso-Nikomi no oudon - it was amazing! The soup bowls are bigger than my biggest mixing bowl back at home and I can't think how anyone could eat a whole serve. The noodles are fat and tasty, made fresh. We didn't try anything else as we saw the size of the bowls and decided that would be plenty.
The umeshu was also great.
If you don't think to book in advance don't let the wait put you off - it's well worth it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank wabeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Make reservation to bypass the queue!”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We made a reservation and we were glad we did ! By 7pm, the line was out the door, up onto the first floor.

The restaurant has a cool decor, with booth settings as well as open dining area. The waiter had difficulty understanding english but he was very polite and did his best to accommodate our requests. The main menu was available in English but the others (specials etc) were not.

All the food was really good, especially the udon (of course). Tempura & sashimi are worth ordering as well. Do not order too much food in your first order as each bowl of udon is pretty big !

PS: apparently you can smoke inside the restaurant. If you are allergic to smoke, you might want to reconsider dining here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gsung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Long queue but worth it”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just got back from our 1st night in shinjuku. Took 10 mins to walk over from the shinjuku isetan at about 7 pm and was greeted with a queue that stretched to level 1. The restaurant is on B1. Got our seat 40 mins later just next to the stage. Order the house specials:: sukiyaki beef udon, soft shell crab in cream sauce for the wife and the carbonara for the daughter. All 3 did not disappoint, something about the springiness and texture of Japanese udon that just makes it work. The jazzy life music by a 3 men band was an unexpected treat. I would go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VBJ_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We had to line up for 45 minutes and we we the only Gaijin so we assumed it was a very popular restaurant. We were not disappointed. The atmosphere was great and the food, Ramen was gigantic and tasted great. We went with our kids ages 9 and 11 and they both thoroughly enjoyed it. The bowls are really BIG! The band was not that great but it was entertainment and a nice background.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AussieGrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsurutontan Shinjuku also viewed

 

Been to Tsurutontan Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing