We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food in nice environment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shinjuku Tsunahachi So-honten

Shinjuku Tsunahachi So-honten
Ranked #10 of 8,756 Restaurants in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Shinjuku
Description: We,Tsunahachi, has been a traditional Japanese tempura restaurant since 1923. You can enjoy a cozy atmosphere at a reasonable price, with counter seating providing guests with hot and airy tempura cooked right before your eyes. For traditional and delicious Japanese tempura, a visit to Tsunahachi is a must. 3 minutes from Shinjuku and Shinjuku 3-chome stations.
Malmö
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food in nice environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Easy accesible by Shinjuku station. Great Tempura, friendly service and a nice environment. Good place also for vegetarians since you can order fried vegetables. One of the better Miso soups I have tasted.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    181
    61
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tempura Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I was taken here last time I came to Tokyo some 4 years ago (too long), I asked about it again and managed to find it. This is just out of this world, how can something "deep fried" be so good?

I'm a big fan of Japanese food, mostly expensive business meals in London, New York and San Francisco and this is sitting on the top, certainly the best tempura but to be honest I've rarely eaten tempura since been here several years earlier.

I didn't see any English menus (not sure if they have one or not), I was with Japanese friends. It is not cheap but not excessive, some individual pieces were in the ¥500-800 range, abalone was over ¥2,000 for example, fixed meals in the ¥4,000 range, all within the right range for the quality level.

If you want to impress someone over business or a night out with some close friends then this is a perfect venue, if you're a large group looking for fun night out then probably not, having said that there's plenty to do in the area afterwards, you certainly can't go wrong around here.

If you're a westerner then please try to at least try everything, it's all a lot better than you can imagine. The eel by the way was my favourite (unagi), one minutes it's very alive, wriggling in front of you, the next it's one of the best things you've ever put in your mouth.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John-Terrell-Davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tama-shi, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NOT $10-13”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

The food quality and variety was pretty nice, but the portion sizes are small and the prices are quite high. The smallest set is about $20, and if you don't want the set but you want a full meal you will end up paying more than that.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ari O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
147 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good price - food quality ratio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Tsunahachi itself has quite a few different restaurants in Shinjuku area. The main original resaturant has a long history and still maintain its old style. I tried the one on Takashimaya department store before.

I arrived at around 7:00pm and waited for a moment before being led to the 2/F counter. The condition is kind of old and dated. Service is always good in Japan. I tried the basic set tempura. In terms of portion it is good enough for me. The good thing to eat tempura in Japan is that they have quite much fish to serve. Where as in other parts of the world you don't normally find fish on your tempura dish.

Each piece of tempura is served once it is fried in front of you. Usually shrimp is the first course, followed by fish and squid, and some vegetable. For ladies who do not eat much, a la cart menu is a good choice. The radish sauce for dipping is much better in Japan which you can not find match in other parts of the world. The salt is a good alternative to radish sauce.

After I finished dinner it was about 8:00pm and there were more than 20 people waiting at the door.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CLau888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

The food is cooked in front of you and is delicious and is well worth a visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank catchfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shinjuku Tsunahachi So-honten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing