We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value”
Review of Tokyo Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tokyo Plaza Hotel
Ranked #31 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here in July and would recommend. Seem to be the standard hotel room for Tokyo and only a few stops away from Shinjuku station on the JR line. The hotel is 1-2 minutes away from the JR line stop and there are many shops around as well as a 7/11, grocery store, and a McDonalds. Every single room in the hotel has a strong wifi connection as well.

Only con is that we arrived in a heatwave and the air conditioning was not very strong.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Tokyo Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 216 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

The room is small but clean, receptionists are nice. Location is just Ok, convenience to JR if you know how to use JR. But, surrounding environment is kind of messy, noisy and low class. Restaurants selection is limited, nothing fancy or recommendable. My worst experience was the lost of my IPhone 4, I remember very well that I kept it inside my backpack and never took it out during our stay. It just went missing. I found out after we checked out and arrived in the Narita for transferring. I emailed them couple times and the only reply was, "Our hotel Policy forbids our employees to touch customer's belongings." What can I say?

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShawnYin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I booked a night stay for the 1 double & 1 single room with Agoda for less than US$100 but upon check in, need to top up another US$20 for 2nd person checking in.

Pros:
Free Wifi
Sizeable room for couples with space for your large luggages
Excellant location less than 2 mins walk from Shin-Okubo Station via JR Yamanote line
Located in close proximity to chains of restaurants, 7-11, MacDonald
To explore Korea Town, turn left from Hotel exit and walk straight for less than 5 mins
1 station away from Shinkuju Station and 3 stations away from Harujuku

Cons:
Small toilet complete with toiletries and a small bathtub
Poor sound proof

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne118642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Strategic location and helpful staff. Right across from Shin-okubo station and Shinjuku JR. Room very small, but that is not too bad for a family. Lots of places to eat and buy around the hotel like McDonalds, cafe, restaurants, pastry shop, 7-11's, grocery store right next door. Wi-fi was available, as well as wired connection and it super fast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent location, just a few steps away from Shin-okubo station (yamanote line). The staff speak very little english, but enough for basic interactions. The room was average size by Japanese standard, clean, but a bit outdated. Wi-fi was available, as well as wired connection. The room wasn't noisy as it was facing a side alleyway. The only complaint is that the air conditioning was difficult to regulate and blowing directly onto one bed.
Overall a good choice for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soccmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Amazing location, right across from Shin-okubo station. There is breakfast in the cafe for 500 yen, and several restaurants with breakfast within walking distance. Free wifi and tv. Rooms get cold, and pillow is a little uncomfortable, so you may want to bring your own. Overall, I couldn't recommend this hotel enough. Staff is friendly, location is great. Saw several complaints about the steep stairs at the entrance, but hotel staff carried my bags up before I had a chance to even ask so it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcteasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great location!! 1 stop away from Shinjuku JR. Walk to Shinjuku area is about 15 mins and no bad at all, if you dont want to take the train always. Room very small, but that is to be expected in Japan. Heaps of places to eat etc around the hotel and 7-11's, grocery store right next door. The Sushi train is a few doors down the road to the left of the hotel is AMAZING and CHEAP!! Staff are nice. Free wifi provided. not that great in all rooms, but works well enough and is FREE. Didnt try the brekkie from the cafe attached to hotel. Did hear some noise from the street overnight on occasion. Bed is quite hard and not very comfortable. I would stay again simply for the location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Premier Hotel -CABIN- Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
ibis Tokyo Shinjuku
ibis Tokyo Shinjuku
#16 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku
Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku
#15 of 83 in Shinjuku
463 reviews
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Shinjyuku Gyoenmae
Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
#10 of 83 in Shinjuku
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyo Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo Plaza Hotel

Address: 2-15-1 Hyakunincho, Shinjuku 169-0073, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: $76 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokyo Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tokyo Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyo Plaza Hotel Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing