We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Tokyo Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tokyo Plaza Hotel
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent location, just a few steps away from Shin-okubo station (yamanote line). The staff speak very little english, but enough for basic interactions. The room was average size by Japanese standard, clean, but a bit outdated. Wi-fi was available, as well as wired connection. The room wasn't noisy as it was facing a side alleyway. The only complaint is that the air conditioning was difficult to regulate and blowing directly onto one bed.
Overall a good choice for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soccmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 224 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Amazing location, right across from Shin-okubo station. There is breakfast in the cafe for 500 yen, and several restaurants with breakfast within walking distance. Free wifi and tv. Rooms get cold, and pillow is a little uncomfortable, so you may want to bring your own. Overall, I couldn't recommend this hotel enough. Staff is friendly, location is great. Saw several complaints about the steep stairs at the entrance, but hotel staff carried my bags up before I had a chance to even ask so it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcteasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great location!! 1 stop away from Shinjuku JR. Walk to Shinjuku area is about 15 mins and no bad at all, if you dont want to take the train always. Room very small, but that is to be expected in Japan. Heaps of places to eat etc around the hotel and 7-11's, grocery store right next door. The Sushi train is a few doors down the road to the left of the hotel is AMAZING and CHEAP!! Staff are nice. Free wifi provided. not that great in all rooms, but works well enough and is FREE. Didnt try the brekkie from the cafe attached to hotel. Did hear some noise from the street overnight on occasion. Bed is quite hard and not very comfortable. I would stay again simply for the location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel is located just a 2-minute walk from the closest JR station (shin okubo station), that is one stop away from shinjuku station; so if you're looking for good location, you can afford a hotel but are still on a budget, this would be the way to go. Be warned though, the rooms are quite small and very cold. The staff's attentiveness is quite average and so is their english. I recommend you know exactly which places you want to visit, and then ask them on how to get there. Since there is a small cafeteria on the first floor, you tend to be tempted to have coffee/tea there; I recommend otherwise because it's quite pricey and there's a Family Mart and other convenience stores nearby. Wifi is available on the 2nd floor right by the front desk.

Room Tip: Third and fifth floor rooms have good wifi; avoid 4th floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NofSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Good location, 2 JR stations nearby. 5 minutes from Koreon district with shops and many restaurants. Rooms clean and functional but no kettle to make hot drinks. The hotel does not have a restaurant but a cafe with access from hotel reception will serve breakfast. There is a 7/11 shops and Mc Donald's 2 Minutes away from hotel. The downside is the reception is on the first floor and you have to carry your cases up a flight of stairs. The lift operates from the first floor. No one offered to help. Can be a bit noisy at night but acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The location of the hotel is less than 5 mins walk from Shin-okubo station on the Yamanote Line and maybe less than 10 mins walk from Okubo station. Room was big enough; we had a double bed and plenty of room for our suitcases. The hotel has free wifi with strong connection. I agree with previous reviewers regarding the lack of sound-proofing in the room. We had the room on 3rd floor facing the alleyway and we could hear the trolleys and bicycles but it didn't bother us too much.

Near the hotel, there's 24hrs McDonald's, very nice little bakery, lots of food options, plenty of convenient stores including a 7-11 that is opposite the hotel. If you need to find an ATM for your overseas ATM or credit card, you can use the ATM in all 7-11 (which is everywhere in Japan) and ATM in post offices.

We love Tokyo and this hotel and will definitely stay here when we visit Tokyo again. Domo Arigato Gazaimasu Tokyo Plaza Hotel.

Room Tip: If you are light sleeper, should request for room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlueberryKisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The location is great, only one train stop from Shinjuku station. I walked to Shinjuku station area from the hotel in about 15-20 minutes though, not bad at all. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very small, but that's to be expected in Japan. My only complaint is the total lack of soundproofing. I could hear everything in the halls. Also, I didn't sleep well my first night because my 3rd floor room was facing a back alley full of bike racks. I don't know what people were doing exactly, but there was a ruckus and incessant banging coming from that rack area all night. I had a different room my second night (for unrelated reasons - I had two separate bookings) on the 5th floor though and didn't hear outside noise as bad.

If I ever visit Tokyo again I think I'd stay here. I loved the location and the price!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LisaROK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Premier Hotel -CABIN- Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Listel Shinjuku
Hotel Listel Shinjuku
#42 of 84 in Shinjuku
408 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Higashi Shinjuku Ekimae
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Shinjuku Gyoemmae
Shinjuku
Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku
Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku
#15 of 84 in Shinjuku
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyo Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo Plaza Hotel

Address: 2-15-1 Hyakunincho, Shinjuku 169-0073, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range: $74 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokyo Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tokyo Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyo Plaza Hotel Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing