We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant value in Tokyo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant value in Tokyo”
Reviewed April 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed in an apartment for 8 nights in April 09. We paid 7916 Yen per night for a Studio Double room, plus 10% service charge and 5%tax.

Getting there: We caught a taxi to Citadines from the south east exit of the main Shinjuku station. Citadines is very new so I wouldn't assume that taxi drivers know where it is. We had printed an access map from the Japanese website to show the driver. The taxi ride cost us about 1000 Yen but was worth it for the convenience. It is possible to walk from the subway station (shinjuku gyoenmae) but unless you're familiar with the area, it wouldn't be fun to try to find Citadines when you're lugging bags.

Location: There a few convenience stores and restaurants nearby and the area is really safe like all of Japan. We normally caught the subway from the Shinjuku Gyoenmae station (5 min walk) but could easily walk into the main Shinjuku shopping area (about 15 minutes along the main street).

Room: Modern decor, well designed apartment, queensize bed, big deep bath, a double cupboard plus a couple of extra smaller cupboards and drawers for your clothes, great little kitchen which is fully equipped, flat screen TV, couch. The bathroom sink is actually just outside of the bathroom itself but I thought it was a clever design which saved on space. The apartment was immaculately cleaned each day.

Extras: safe, toothbrushes, yukatas, slippers, hair dryer, weighing scale. Internet access in foyer: 500 Y for 30 minutes. Washing machine and dryer downstairs - buy detergent from the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChewySG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    833
    116
    12
    10
See reviews for
591
802
89
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2009

The hotel is located about 5-10 minutes walk from the nearest subway station (take exit B2 from Shinjuku Gyoemmae, turn left and then left immediately again and then right when you reach the 7/11 shop). Alternatively it is about a 20 minute walk to Shinjuku main station (which has access to both JR lines and also the subway).

The hotel itself is great. The staff are helpfuly and friendly. The rooms are exceptionally clean and a good size for 2 people. The rooms are well deorated. They have a safe as well as TV, several cupboards, sink, bathroom, cooking area. Also internet access is free but you need a cable as it is not wireless. Take your own (long one) if you can alternatively they may be able to lend you one. Ask in advance for a non smoking room if you want one.

The introductory rate is excellent value. However, even without that I think it would be good value accommodation for Tokyo. The Shinjuku area is a good one to stay in. If I went back I would either stay in this area or in the Shibuya area, which is great for shopping.

Just to mention about Japan generally that many places do take visa cards but you would be surprised at how many restaurants / shops do not. As such make sure you take enough cash. If you run out of cash whilst out there I think one of the only places to get cash is from ATMs in the 7/11 shops.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichasUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

i totally agree with all the other reviews!
We stayed at this hotel from april 11-13 2009. The staff were all super helpful and spoke excellent english. Our room was modern, clean, and funky. Very boutique and relatively large for tokyo.
we had a really good rate because the hotel was brand new, but the rooms would be worth it even paying more than we did compared to a lot of other hotels.
We LOVED it.
If anyone cares, the TV has english chanels, but why are you watching TV in Tokyo anyway?
Its an easy 10-15 minute walk to shinjuku central along Yasukuni dori (street). The breakfast was cheap at about 600 yen for toast, coffee, cheese, pastries, cereal and juice.
The expedia location map is crap so check the hotel website for a better one, but it's not clear either (lack of st name signs when you get out of subway station)
So here's how you do it, basically if you take the subway (M-line to Shinjuku-Gyoemmae) when you get out on to the street look for the street with the big garden, you'll see lots of trees. With your back to the garden, walk up the street in front of you until you get to the major busy St. of Yasukuni Dori, about 4 or 5 blocks. (no st names unless you can read japanese so look for the 1st big main st). Turn right, go about 1-2 blocks. Look for the 7-11 and it’s right there. Because it was new no one we stopped and asked knew where it was, but everyone knows where yasukuni-dori is so that's a good starting point.
Tons of great restaurants and shopping in the funky area on the left as you're heading up to shinjuku. (you'll see the start of the funky area as you pass Meiji-dori and the police box). on the right of the main st as you head up to shinjuku is the golden gai, look for the temple tori and it's the next street. Albatross g is one of the few bars in the golden gai that welcomes outsiders. really nice people. yes, all of these places have a cover charge (seating charge) to get in but really it's only about $5-12 depending, and hey, you're on holiday. unless you go to the park hyatt after 6 when the cover is $20-25, ouch, and drinks are $12-25, ouch, ouch. Again, worth it just once for the sunset and the spectacular view. Be warned, everyone smokes and you'll come out stinky.
pick up a good map. we had a copy of time out tokyo and it was pretty handy for recommendations for restaurants and stuff even if the directions weren't always the easiest to follow. it's easy to get lost, just go with it...everyplace we got lost in was safe and clean.
one general recommendation: if you're taking the train from the airport to the city, while in the airport look for the big JR ticket office. (downstairs on the way to the train platforms). this is where you can exchange your rail pass voucher for the rail pass. if you're not getting a rail pass right away or not at all, in the same office you can get tickets for the N'ex into tokyo. This is basically the same as the narita express but you also get a 2000 yen suica subway pass. it's like free money! it's really handy and you'll have to use the subway to get around anyway. Just place the suica card flat on the card reader circle on the turnstyle for the subway train. (the N'ex train goes to shinjuku station as well as tokyo station, so it's not far to the hotel).
you can add money to the suica card at the machines in the bigger subway stations and if you have any money left you can use the card at the duty free shops in the airport as you're leaving. (you can also use the suica card at a lot of little shops in the stations too) it's excellent value.
more info on the JReast website under special offers, N'ex & suica.
hope it was helpful, have fun!
-c

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caramk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2009

We have enjoyed staying at Citadines Paris before, so we jumped on this brand new one in Shinjuku. We got the introductory rate 8800 Yen per night which was a bargain. It is located close to the Shinjuku JR station, and there are many stores, shops and restaurants around which was excellent. The kitchen is well equipped, it is a pity that it did not have a small dishwasher. The room is well planned for its small size. We liked the toilets (in all Japan!).
The only bad thing was we were given smoking rooms although we booked weeks before and requested non-smoking. The rooms did not smell too much,but the smoke smell in the doona and the pillow was horrible! They changed one of the rooms the next morning.
Overall, we had a great stay and would definetely go back to Citadines Shinjuku again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JapanL0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from 28th March to 5th April
The staff was fabulous and always very helpful in giving us guidance whenever we asked for it
The rooms were very clean comfortable and large for japan standards ,since this is an apartment it comes with the added facilities of stove and basic cutlery.
The colours of the room make it very lively and everynight we were happy to go back to our room to relax after a long days walk
We paid 11550 yen per night per room incl taxes
The breakfast was ok we felt for the price ( appx 500yen per person ). We preferred buying cornflakes n milk from 7-11 or lawson stores next door.
The location is very good abt 15-20 min walk to main shinjuku station, it is abt 5 min from the shinjuku gyonmae station
We would definately return to this place if we are in tokyo again

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlyEDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2009

From Shinjuku station we didn't know how to get to Citadines so we decided to hop into a cab. We got one and, so new was the Citadines that the poor bloke looked puzzled when he sighted our hotel address printout until he made a few stabs at his GPS (yup all cabs so equipped) and finally nodded following his enlightenment.

Anyway, upon arrival, the staff handled the check-in process smoothly, all in welcomingly fluent English. The room, frankly was not too large but the little available space was well utilized to fit a kitchenette, desk, coffee table and couch and the bed itself. We made good use of the provided Wenger silverware, dinner plates, microwave oven and chopping board.The freezer was rubbish, tho, turning our icecream into lumps of gooey slosh. Decor is essentially contemporary without being opulent and makes for a great place to call home at the end of each day of ceaseless (window) shopping. Colour choices are spritey with judicious use of orange in many places. Another much appreciated detail was the free in-room internet access, which was, relative to my ISP on home soil, blisteringly quick, clocking 18Mbs/sec bouncing off Korea!

The bathroom is a relative letdown, where the reality of Japanese limited-space-living becomes starkly apparent. Next to no attempt was made to depart from the monochromatic pallette (white!) on all sides. The sole nice touch was the (admittedly quite standard in Japan) TOTO toilet with heated seats and built-in bidet (if that kinda thing floats your boat. Creeps me out though).

On the whole, for the price of below 9000 yen, this place is, for lack of a more sophisticated term, a bargain! During our stay, we also checked into another hotel twice the price which, apart from a expansive sprawling main lobby, pales in comparison on a room-to-room comparison, in terms of decor, space and utilities. Not to mention internet access is chargeable.

For travellers looking for chic accomomadation on stingy budgets, this is the place y'all.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tbugpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

This service apartment is newly opened in March 09. We stayed 3 nights at JPY10,000 (excluding tax) per night for a Twin-Sharing room (introductory rates).

APARTMENT & FACILITIES
The pictures speaks for itself! We simply loved it. There is a small kitchen, LDC TV and DVD player. I also love their launderette which is located at the hotel lobby. It only costs US$2 per 30-mins wash, you can buy the detergent from the reception or the 7-11 store nearby.

LOCATION
1. 2 stops away from Shinjuku stations
The nearest Subway Station is called Shinjuku Gyoemmae Station

2. Taxi from Shinjuku stations will cost about JPY800 - 1,000. Remember to print the map of the hotel in JAPANESE.

DINING
There many cafes and small restaurants nearby the hotel. But, if you are more adventurous, you can also walk to Isetan or Takashimaya directions. There are so many restaurants to choose.

Overall, I like Citadines Shinjuku very much and I will definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lian_123Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,258 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 81 in Shinjuku
938 reviews
Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
#2 of 81 in Shinjuku
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Property: Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Address: 1-28-13 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#4 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#9 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of the Shinjuku East area, one of Tokyo's thriving urban centres, Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is a contemporary residence which enjoys a prime location close to the Marunouchi and Toei Shinjuku subway lines. At Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo, you can look forward to a pleasant stay that combines the convenience of a hotel with the freedom and privacy of a Tokyo serviced apartment. The residence's range of optional services are customized to suit your business and leisure needs, allowing you a choice of short or long term stays. Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is conveniently situated near restaurants, supermarkets, shopping malls, the Shinjuku hospital and Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Tokyo Shinjuku Hotel Shinjuku
Citadines Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Shinjuku Citadines Tokyo Hotel
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing