We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great value aparthotel in the centre of things” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great value aparthotel in the centre of things”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

For €80 per night, we couldn't have been much happier with this accommodation. Hotel is located about 10 minutes walk from the Maranouchi Line which connects with the Narita Express. The heart of Shinjuku itself is about ten to fifteen minutes walk from the hotel.

Rooms are spacious and have all the mod cons you could think of (although no English language channels on the telly). Bed was comfortable too.

Reception staff are friendly and helpful for the most part although we did have to wait a long while for our room to be prepared which was annoying after travelling for nearly 24 hours. It was only when the reception staff saw us falling asleep in the lobby that they got the finger out.

Regarding Shinjuku, my two recommendations would be Golden Gai (especially the very welcoming heavy metal bar which had no cover charge and all drinks 500 yen) and the Shinjuku Tsunahachi for brilliant tempura.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CruelFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    704
    104
    9
    9
See reviews for
476
687
79
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We haven't stayed in a Citadines before but if they are all like this then will be looking out for them in future. It's incredible value for such a great location - only 15 minutes walk from Shinjuku station. There are also subway stops closer - Shinjuku sanchome in particular is great for getting to Shibuya and Meiji-jingumae (for Harajuku and Omotesando). The nearby street is full of cafes, so if you don't fancy making breakfast, it's on your doorstep.

We were really pleased by the size of the studio apartment and kitchenette, which has everything you need. It's great to have a little home from home when in an unfamiliar city.

The only negative would be that there is a bit of road noise - even on the 7th floor - and that it isn't the most atmospheric of places but then we weren't really expecting rustic charm from a worldwide chain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louisetaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel/apartment is ideal in many ways. The price is extremely good for Tokyo ($118 US, thanks to weakening Yen) , and it is located very close to Shinjuki main railway/metro/suburban train station. The modern, basic but elegant rooms are indeed larger that normal hotels and certainly more that the average for Tokyo. Is is next to a lovely street with many restaurants that cater for the locals who work in the many offices and government buildings in the area. There is microwave, kettle and a small kitchenette in the rooms, plus washing machine and dryers on the ground floor. Tea bags and coffee are complimentary. The staff all speak very good English and are extremely friendly and willing to help with info, reservations etc.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a relatively busy rood so perhaps best to chose a room in the back. Yet, this being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Also just remember that I did not write my review for my stay in Feb 2013 at Citadines Shinjuku.

My most wonderful stay for my Feb 2013 Tokyo trip is at Citadines Shinjuku. We have a Modern and Comfortable room with Excellent and helpful staffs. The room is equipped with a nice small dry kitchen, a sofa seat, useful writing desk, nice TV and comfortable bed. It is about 10-15 min walk from the station but you will not feel boring when walking as there are many shops and restaurant along the way that attract your eyes.

Highly recommended if you want good service, value for money and comfortable accommodation in Tokyo.

Room Tip: Studio Double and High floor room should be a good choice for 2 person. Room facing the road is good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scasperqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Citadines for 4 nights. Staff were nice and helpful. Location was excellent with 3 subway stops all within walking distance. Price was also excellent. Would recommend others to stay here.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Excellent. Comfortable room with a “Japanese flavor” – smaller beds & room than typical but equipped with hotplate stovetop, microwave. Quiet despite central location. Friendly and efficient staff. My personal rating would be 5 stars but I rated it 4 since I would expect most travelers to see it that way.

Room Tip: High floor for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hertz314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We chose to stay at the Citadines Shinjuku based on reviews and price point. With so many hotels options and not being familiar with Tokyo at all, we half expected a tiny room in a scary neighborhood. We could not have been more wrong and we were more than pleasantly surprised! We arrived early and luckily our room was ready. We were able to freshen up, grab a snack and plan our adventure for the day. Unfortunately we only had one day in Tokyo as we flew out the next afternoon. However, the staff went above and beyond assisting us with how to purchase tickets to the baseball game at 7-11 (who knew!?) and assisted with trains/subway information. Five star service...keep up the great work.

The room was huge compared to others we stayed in in Japan. It had a small kitchenette, nice bathroom, couch/desk area (with free wi-fi) and a surprisingly comfortable bed. I would highly recommend this hotel to others and will definitely stay here again when we can spend more time in Tokyo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#10 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 stars 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
#2 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 stars 3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Property: Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Address: 1-28-13 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#4 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#9 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of the Shinjuku East area, one of Tokyo's thriving urban centres, Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is a contemporary residence which enjoys a prime location close to the Marunouchi and Toei Shinjuku subway lines. At Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo, you can look forward to a pleasant stay that combines the convenience of a hotel with the freedom and privacy of a Tokyo serviced apartment. The residence's range of optional services are customized to suit your business and leisure needs, allowing you a choice of short or long term stays. Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is conveniently situated near restaurants, supermarkets, shopping malls, the Shinjuku hospital and Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Tokyo Shinjuku Hotel Shinjuku
Citadines Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Shinjuku Citadines Tokyo Hotel
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing