We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Nearby Hotels
$175
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$266
$107
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Tokyo(Shinjuku)
$356
$261
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo(Shinjuku)
$376
$185
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $219/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$297
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$206
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$145
$127
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Shinjuku Prince Hotel(Shinjuku)
$209
$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$108
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$508
$491
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,277)
Filter reviews
2,277 results
Traveler rating
1,152
954
144
15
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,152
954
144
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall kitchenminute walkthe sofa bedserviced apartmenthot plateshinjuku gyoen national gardenlaundry roomsubway stationmarunouchi linemain shinjukugood sizequiet areastayed here for nightsjapanese standardsspoke good englishfamily marthotel breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,285 - 1,290 of 2,277 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

After booking many months ahead of travel (cheaper booking through the hotel website), there were a few email exchanges between the hotel and I regarding bookings for restaurants and other Japan related information and the staff always responded quickly and with very good English. The staff at the hotel are super helpful and can point you in the right direction on how to get somewhere quickest/easiest.

The rooms are well planned out and using the free wifi every day to plan activities was very good (not all hotels in Japan have readily available Wifi in rooms). We never used the kitchenette except to boil water for tea (teabags/coffee in the lobby) and the bathrooms were designed to utilise all space with a toilet and shower/bathtub which was very deep. Water heat and pressure was perfect, too. The size of the smallest room was one of the bigger ones we had while in Japan.

The location of the hotel is not the best in the heart of Shinjuku but it's convenient to getting to Ginza, Tsukiji, Akihabara, Ueno and Asakusa through the Gyoenmae station (5 min walk). It takes about 15 mins to walk to the centre of Shinjuku but it's a pleasant walk. However, if arriving in Shinjuku for the first time, one should get a taxi for about 710yen. There are lots of little restaurants and bars around the hotel and it is close to the gay district as well.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again in Tokyo!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank S_Beatoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Citadines is well located for local trains and shopping in Shinjuku. The staff were very helpful. Rooms are small but adequate and very clean. Do not pay for the upgraded room as they are almost identical to the standard room. Breakfast was ok but we found that the Ginko(?) restuarant located a block and a half to the left, just before the blue foot bridge was really good value and did a western style breakfast. There is revolving sign on the footpath outside it and you walk up stairs to locate it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kimboToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is great and as expected. It would probably be a 4 star in Australian standards. It has free, fast wifi & a 711 just down the road. It is safe and has an awesome restaurant district nearby. The only thing I under estimated was the distance to Shinjuku station and how far Narita airport is from the hotel. There is a subway nearby (5mins walk) but Shinjuku which is the main interconnect station from the airport line & bus drop off is a good 10-15mins walk or 900yen in a taxi. Also, Narita airport is about 1.5hrs by bus or train and the earliest they start are 5:30ish. We had a 6am flight so our only option was a 20,000yen taxi. I'd stay here again but don't under estimated travel time and distances like I did.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank benshunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our first visit to Tokyo and friends advised us to stay in Shinjuku. After some research we booked 4 nights at the Citadines. It was an excellent base for our visit.

In terms of location, it is an easy walk to either the main Shinjuku station or one of the smaller, neighbouring metro stations - Gyoemmae or Sanchome. That being said, it was just a bit too far with suitcases, so we used a taxi on arrival and departure. (Cost from Shinjuku Station to the hotel was only 1070 Yen which is about US$12.) Thankfully, we had the address of our hotel written down in Japanese as the taxi driver did not speak English. There are a number of convenience stores and supermarkets closeby and a wide variety of restaurants in the neighbourhood. As a tourist, there is alot to see in the Shinjuku and surrounding areas.

We had an "Executive Studio" on the 8th floor, of 16. Our room was excellent and very spacious by Tokyo standards. It was very quiet, extremely clean, very comfortable and had everything you need. The kitchenette was well equipped with hotplate, microwave, toaster, kettle, saucepans etc. We only used the kitchen for breakfast, but if you were staying longer and wanting to cook meals, it was perfect. The bathroom had a Toto washlet toilet. There is a good sized couch and desk and a room divider so you can close off the bedroom, if you like. The flat screen TV is set up so you can slide it along the wall, depending upon whether you want to watch TV in bed or on the couch.

The front desk staff was very helpful, giving directions, and everyone spoke good English.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for a room facing away from the street.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AusTravellerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We are just back from our trip to Tokyo and we couldn't pick better hotel... To be honest, my boyfriend chose it and before we got there I wasn't sure it was the best idea - I wanted to stay in west Shinjuku where all skyscrapers are.. I couldn't be more wrong! Yes we went there, too, had brunch in Hyatt Tokyo's lounge (it's a must!) but everything is hapenning in east Shinjuku! Life, lights, restaurants, shopping.. and if you want just nice walk through small cute avenues, that's there, too! It's bit tricky to find it if this is your first time and you decide to walk from Shinjuku station as we did:) taxi is an option - it will cost you up to 1000 yen. Or metro that will bring you bit closer and 2 min walk. The best and easiest option if you fly in and out of Narita airport is combination of return ticket for Narita express (train from airport to shinjuku station) and SUICA card that made it so much easier to move around Tokyo (travel card for metro, busses, most of trains and even shopping) and it's easily rechargeable. And about the hotel, not much that hasn't been said yet to say.. Fantastic english speaking staff (as you will find not many people speak any other language than japanese here), spotless clean, modern, well equipped, comfortable. Ask at reception anything - about food, transport, prices - they will help you with all of it. For frequent traveler and person who likes her comfort I can genuinly say I would stay again and will recommend easily to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karolina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews