We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Expedia.com
$49
View deal
Destinia.com
$47
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/01/21
Booking.com$53
Hotels.com$49
travelup.com$77
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,625)
Filter reviews
2,625 results
Traveler rating
1,341
1,077
167
25
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,341
1,077
167
25
15
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,604 - 1,609 of 2,625 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Booked this hotel on the basis of the reviews on TA and were not disappointed. We stayed twice. Three nights at the beginning and one night at the end. The rooms were spotless, although some have complained about the beds the three of us all found them really comfortable. The small kitchen facility was excellent we did breakfast there every day and he 7/11 next door was really a great source of eggs and we saved a small fortune. The staff were really helpful and were always able to make great suggestions for dinner. We ate really well and whilst language was a bit of a problem everyone really tried to help us. The rule is keep smiling be polite and be a bit adventurous. We genuinely enjoyed every meal and ate in a different place every night. Great location but Tokyo is vast. This is s good location and a great price. Would not hesitate to go back

Room tip: The map and instructions on the hotel web site was really helpful
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welshtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

RECOMMENDED: Compared notes one evening with another traveler who was at the Best Western Shinjuku (another highly rated). They were not as satisfied with the BW indicated staff was poor and room size very small (they had regretted they had canceled their booking at the Citadines to stay at BW).

This Citadines is a great choice, the immediate neighborhood is known for it's bars, but there is no noise or concern, several food choices though more closer to subway. It's a 10 min walk to Shinjuku-chrome where you'll also find a huge assortment of restaurants and night. Be aware it's a full 25 min walk to Shinjuku train station.

The staff was excellent during our 3 night stay, helpful and spoke good English.

Rooms are large for Tokyo. We had an executive studio and these rooms face the side. The single large window faces the building (though no one can look in). Room lighting was good and comfortable for 2 or perhaps 3 (but not more). Internet was free and fast. The bathroom is a prefab unit that you will see commonly in Japan. At first glance, it's a little off putting, but in usage, it's functional. The sink sits outside the bath area. Everything is quite clean and all functional.

Towels are a bit thin but in good condition. Bedding was a minor complaint, mattresses were quite hard, unfortunately this is a common attribute in Japan. There was no room to room noise and no slamming doors.

Overall this is a good choice and good location for a Tokyo stay.

Hint: As others have noted, taxi drivers don't show this property on their eveready GPS systems, a quick call to the hotel who quickly gave directions (cab fare from Shinjuku is Y800-900).

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roadwarrior30
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed for 2 nights at the Citadines. The room was huge! There was a living area with couch and desk, and a kitchenette. They leave a welcome bag for you upon arrival with tea, bottled water and cookies. I loved the location as well. It is on a quiet street away from the business of Shinjuku, but only about a 10 minute walk from it all when you do want to experience the bright lights and fun. There is a 7/11 next door and the street leading to the Shinjuku Gyommae subway station on the Marunouchi line. There are also a lot of authentic, delicious small restaurants to eat at on the surrounding block. We stayed in other areas of Tokyo, but this is by far my favourite area of Tokyo. There is so much to do and see in this area.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yelobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Three of us stayed just recently at Citadines Shinjuku. We found the hotel to be fantastic. The room was ample for the three of us..a bit squeezy with the fold out couch out, but manageable. The room was clean. The bathroom and small kitchen was perfect. The bed was comfortable and we asked and got extra pillows with ease. Staff were friendly and helpful. It was great to have the laundry room downstairs. Washing machines and dryers were coin operated, and a real god send to help catch up with laundry.. Breakfast was ok, we had it once, but then decided to stock up and make it ourselves in the room. 7-11 was close by so we could buy milk, bread etc every day. The hotel is a fair walk from the main Shinjuku station, but there are closer subways nearby. We navigated from the main station with our suitcases fairly easily. Half the fun was getting lost on the trains, but we found the locals helpful when we asked for directions.
For the price i don't think you can pass this hotel up. Good value for money for sure.

Room tip: We were on the 7th floor and found it very quiet.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lioness64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

It's very difficult to find any fault to the small hotel. The price is right, the location is good (unless you want to be in the madness of Shinjuku), great service, comfortable super clean room, a laundrymat is in the building, available breakfast if needed (we never ate there though), and so much more. You can even borrow umbrellas from reception when it rains.

There's a 7/11 next door and the street leading to the Shinjuku Gyommae subway station on the Marunouchi line is full of small places to eat.
Like its sister in Kyoto, the bath products are just amazing (great shampoo and shower gel).

The only think I would say they could improve on would be to offer bigger fluffier bath towels. The ones they have are a bit on the thin small size.

There is a Starbucks at about a 7mn walk towards busy Shinjuku on the main avenue (turn left when you get out of the building). It opens at 7:30 so not very early.

We used the subway a lot so I would recommend getting a Suica card which would avoid you to constantly buy a ticket. Just keep on charging it.

I would highly recommend to stay at the Citadines Shinjuku hotel like all the other reviewers. I have seen deals down to 9000 yen per night on their web site.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcgraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews