We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed for 2 nights at the Citadines. The room was huge! There was a living area with couch and desk, and a kitchenette. They leave a welcome bag for you upon arrival with tea, bottled water and cookies. I loved the location as well. It is on a quiet street away from the business of Shinjuku, but only about a 10 minute walk from it all when you do want to experience the bright lights and fun. There is a 7/11 next door and the street leading to the Shinjuku Gyommae subway station on the Marunouchi line. There are also a lot of authentic, delicious small restaurants to eat at on the surrounding block. We stayed in other areas of Tokyo, but this is by far my favourite area of Tokyo. There is so much to do and see in this area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yelobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,046)
There are newer reviews for Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,175 - 1,181 of 2,046 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Three of us stayed just recently at Citadines Shinjuku. We found the hotel to be fantastic. The room was ample for the three of us..a bit squeezy with the fold out couch out, but manageable. The room was clean. The bathroom and small kitchen was perfect. The bed was comfortable and we asked and got extra pillows with ease. Staff were friendly and helpful. It was great to have the laundry room downstairs. Washing machines and dryers were coin operated, and a real god send to help catch up with laundry.. Breakfast was ok, we had it once, but then decided to stock up and make it ourselves in the room. 7-11 was close by so we could buy milk, bread etc every day. The hotel is a fair walk from the main Shinjuku station, but there are closer subways nearby. We navigated from the main station with our suitcases fairly easily. Half the fun was getting lost on the trains, but we found the locals helpful when we asked for directions.
For the price i don't think you can pass this hotel up. Good value for money for sure.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and found it very quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lioness64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

It's very difficult to find any fault to the small hotel. The price is right, the location is good (unless you want to be in the madness of Shinjuku), great service, comfortable super clean room, a laundrymat is in the building, available breakfast if needed (we never ate there though), and so much more. You can even borrow umbrellas from reception when it rains.

There's a 7/11 next door and the street leading to the Shinjuku Gyommae subway station on the Marunouchi line is full of small places to eat.
Like its sister in Kyoto, the bath products are just amazing (great shampoo and shower gel).

The only think I would say they could improve on would be to offer bigger fluffier bath towels. The ones they have are a bit on the thin small size.

There is a Starbucks at about a 7mn walk towards busy Shinjuku on the main avenue (turn left when you get out of the building). It opens at 7:30 so not very early.

We used the subway a lot so I would recommend getting a Suica card which would avoid you to constantly buy a ticket. Just keep on charging it.

I would highly recommend to stay at the Citadines Shinjuku hotel like all the other reviewers. I have seen deals down to 9000 yen per night on their web site.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcgraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

After staying at Citadines Kyoto and having done some research on the internet we virtually knew what to expect.
As per other readers comments regarding it being located along way from the train station is not quite right. The main JR Shinjuku Station is about a 10 minute walk in one direction, and the subway is only 2 minutes away providing you exit from gate 2.
The hotel itself was lovely and unlike the Kyoto Citadines they provide a "welcome pack " in the room consisting of tea, coffee, milk,and sugar which is a godsend for those in need of a "cuppa" on arrival. Replenishment of the packs can be done by helping yourself to the free assortment at reception.
The lobby of the hotel is not as nice as the Kyoto Citadines but it is modern and tastefully appointed in bright purples and silver.
The kitchenettes are compact, but practical and provides the opportunity to make breakfast or a simple meal.This is a plus after a long day of beating the crowds and sight seeing. Not only that, but all the Japanese department stores, supermarkets and convinience stores have amazing prepared boxed meals which you can easily heat up in the microwave,and is usually delicious.
Staff are polite and there is always someone on hand who can speak English.
Tokyo subway is called Metro and the hotel is only 2 stops away from Shibuya which is a big shopping and entertainment area.
I actually found Shinjuku to be more interesting than that of Central Tokyo. The Metropolitan Government Building is there and you can go on a free guided tour, and the view from the 45th floor is amazing.
We also visited the cities of Hiroshima and Osaka and we wished there was Citadines property there as the hotels we stayed in were no comparison.

Room Tip: For the Non Smokers... I suggest you email the hotel directly prior to your arrival and insist that...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil_evans55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Lovely location, 2 minutes walk from Shinjuku Gyeomae station, 4 minutes away from Shinjuku Sanchome and 15 minutes away from the main Shinjuku station. Small room, but maximum and excellent utilization of space. I loved the modern and mild decor. The bed was very comfortable. Bathroom had a bidet and they managed to fit a bathtub too. The kitchenette came in handy and helped us making making breakfast. They even provide an iron in the room. The reception staff were quite helpful too.
We had booked it for 5 nights, but just after arriving we cancelled one night. We expected a hefty cancellation fee, but absolutely no fee was charged! Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chk86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Absolutely the best deal in Tokyo. I did a lot of searching and comparing before booking this hotel for 7 nights. I fretted about getting lost finding it but with the help of other tripadvisor reviews it was an easy walk from the subway (even if it was raining!). We got on the Marunouchi line at Ginza and off at Shinjuku-gyoemmae so we didn't have to go through Shinjuku station but be warned - there are about 3 lots of steps and it is hard work with suitcases. We purchased a Pasmo card at a machine at our first station so we didn't have to buy any tickets - and added to it as required through the machine again.
Booked a studio double and was very happy (although I found the the bed a little hard - my husband thought it was okay). All the other reviews about the rooms are quite right. The reception staff were just wonderful and happy to respond to all our queries. We got a coloured/glossy Tokyo subway route map and a photocopied map of the area. If we asked where a certain restaurant was they would look it up on google and then mark it on the map. Laundry and gym were both easy access on the ground floor.
Japan has a great system of transferring luggage to your next location so the lovely reception people arranged for our bags to be transferred to Kyoto the day before we went. It made our transfer a lot easier!
It was our first visit to Japan so there were a few things to learn. Wi-fi is not readily available in places like Starbucks or MacDonalds (unless you have a Japanese provider) so having it free in your room at Citadines was great. Not all ATMs dispense money for foreign cards but there is a Citibank (already marked on the map) just before Shinjuku station that solved that problem. Lots of fast food and sit down places around Citadines which are inexpensive and good but our favourite was the basement of Daimaru (just before the station) which is a mecca of prepared Japanese foods and included breads, salads and beautiful deserts - all ready to take back to your room and heat up in the microwave if needed. Loved that basement!
In summary, Shinjuku is a fantastic area to stay. Lots of maps on street corners in English. Good supermarkets and restaurants around Citadines and it continues all the way down to Shinjuku station. Great choice and fantastic value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mayaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at Citadines, Shinjuku. It is located about 3 minutes from Shinjuku Gyoenmae Station and maybe 12 minutes from the main train station: Shinjuku.
Next door is a 7-11 store you can buy food or drinks. There is also a Yoshinoya on the corner with a cafe Neo above. Both places had good affordable food.
The staff was always very, very helpful and courteous.
Room was perfect size, though I did have a executive double to myself. There was a fridge, microwave, glasses, silverware, TV, and toilet with shower.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,331 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
#2 of 83 in Shinjuku
439 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 83 in Shinjuku
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Address: 1-28-13 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#4 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#9 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: $116 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of the Shinjuku East area, one of Tokyo's thriving urban centres, Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is a contemporary residence which enjoys a prime location close to the Marunouchi and Toei Shinjuku subway lines. At Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo, you can look forward to a pleasant stay that combines the convenience of a hotel with the freedom and privacy of a Tokyo serviced apartment. The residence's range of optional services are customized to suit your business and leisure needs, allowing you a choice of short or long term stays. Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is conveniently situated near restaurants, supermarkets, shopping malls, the Shinjuku hospital and Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Booking.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Tokyo Shinjuku Hotel Shinjuku
Citadines Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Shinjuku Citadines Tokyo Hotel
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing