We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable price for a good location and a standard quality.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in Citadines, which we booked through a booking engine.



LOCATION




The hotel is located in Shinjuku, 2 stations away from the main Shinjuku metro station. It is nearby a small and charming local neighborood, but not ideal to get a meal unless you speak japanese. However, it is about 5 minutes walk from the metro station, and from there, you can basically go anywhere in Tokyo. However, you should not expect a skyscraper, nor a very urban landscape, around the hotel, there are mainly low rises and the hotel itself has about 10 stories. There is also a very nice park nearby.



AMBIENCE



The hotel is mainly functional, and has no charm at all. However, there are plenty of comfortable seats in the somewhat small lobby. It is a choice of convenience, rather than trendiness or interior design.


ROOM



More than a room, what Citadines offers is a small and convenient apartment. There is a small kitchenette directly in the hallway, a small alcove with a 2 place sofa, and a 140cm double bed. The room is not large, but still comfortable. You can easily get at ease for a few days, and it is even possible to cook there, as there is a hot plate, a microwave, a fridge as well as plates and cutlery. There is more than enough closet space for 2 people, and you get the usual conveniences, such as a hair dryer, an iron, a safe, etc. The room also offers a flat screen TV with a couple of channels in english. The bathroom is small, but with a bath and the usual high-tech japanese toilet. Again, not really charming, but extremely convenient. Bathroom amenities are non descript.


SERVICE



The staff is agreeable, but there is no particular service to speak of. You get to carry your own luggage, and basically, the staff is around to check you in and answer the occasional question. It is worth noting that we had an issue with the internet (free), and that a staff member immediately came up to our room to find us a solution.




VALUE



This is where it gets interesting. We looked at many choices for Tokyo, but have to say that the Citadines was definitely the most interesting in terms of price vs quality. We were not disappointed and would not hesitate to return. Of course, it is not stylish, but the location is good, the rooms are a good size and the price is a steal for Tokyo.




IN SUM



An excellent choice for Tokyo if you want to save your budget for other things besides accommodation, as Japan is very expensive. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly return on a future visit to Tokyo.



  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jewels_Gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,208 - 1,214 of 2,079 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is a great hotel/apartment in the heart of metropolitan Tokyo. I stayed in the property for 4 nights in September '12.

Room size is bigger than the average Tokyo hotels, with a nice space for sofa & a kitchenette. For the budget travellers not eating out daily, the micro-wave oven is great for bento sets.

Location is great as well, 4 minutes walk to Shinjuku Gyonmae station on the Marunochi Line. Will take you to almost all of the tourist spots.

I cannot recommend highly enough and will return to stay whenever I am in Tokyo.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xhrstphr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

An aparthotel which we grew to like. First impressions were not quite what we were expecting. For some reason we thought it was going to be a bigger room, we found it had a smallish kitchen with a smallish lounge with a sink and couch, and a smallish bedroom with an even smallish bathroom (in the closet). You would not want to be too overweight getting in that shower as it is tiny. Toilet is Japanese style with all the bells and whistles. Not bad shower pressure. Good instructions for the satellite and tv remotes. Good cleaning staff, who are very dedicated. I threw out some old clothes and came back at end of the day to find a note asking if I really wanted the clothes thrown out and also an email was sent to me when I left querying the same thing. No mini bar so fridge was able to be used for your own purposes. Safe also available, but you’re talking Japan where most things are safe. 7 11 just down the road where we bought pineapple in a container for our breakfast and it was quite refreshing. Did not have breakfast at the hotel so can not comment. Nice quiet hotel and didn’t hear traffic noise at all. 4 lifts so no real wait, but they did seem to move slowly once you were in
.
Laundry available and reasonable price and if machines were full and finished, staff would remove clothes and put a note on machine to say see reception. The ubiquitous drink machines that are seen all around Tokyo are also in the laundry area.
Bit of a walk to the station, which we thought was more a 15 – 20 minute walk which isn’t much but at the end of the day or during Summer when it’s real hot, it does seem like a long way. We would often get taxis back to the hotel and they did have trouble for some reason finding the hotel, unsure why as it is on a main road and hotel gives out a map.
Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful with good English spoken by most staff. I’m conflicted as to whether I’d stay here again as I’d rather a hotel closer to the train station but the staff were so good and the room grew on me.


If you have time visit the Shinjuku Gyoen park near the train station as it is a nice break from the frenetic activity that is Tokyo. Plus if it’s hot you will find a drinks machine or 2 or 3.
We found the Sky Tree very busy and went to the Tokyo tower, where there was no wait at all,quite sad really, it seems to have been totally forgotten. If you go to Sky Tree and the queue’s a bit daunting it might be worth considering the tower.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CyberGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Excellent room, kitchen facilities make for a top stay. Beds were comfortable, rooms very clean (they even wash your dishes for you!!!
The location is ideal, walking distance from Shinjuku and a number of train stations (but far enough away that you don't cop the noise), hidden laneways with some amazing food and the Shinjuku Gyoen Park. From Shinjuku you can get nearly anywhere in Tokyo in a flash as it is so central.
Service = excellent, stay is easily a 5/5

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevator are much quieter, it can get noisy in the evenings if you stay too clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank js2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Having stayed in numerous hotels around Japan I found the Citadines excellent value for money. I found the staff excellent and flexible in delivering our requirements. The rooms are very clean and contain free WIFI which is also very useful for us. There is a 7-eleven located very close where we bought breakfast and ate in the room. This hotel is great for those with a busy schedule or visiting friends and relatives in Japan. A little bit of a walk to Shinjuku's main center but conveniently located overall.

Room Tip: With a family ask for adjacent rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markawake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I recently stayed 5 nights at the Citadines, Shinjuku.
Check-in was a bit slow, as the two front staffers very totally unorganized.
The small apartment itself was great, large bed, kitchenette, good bathroom and
everything very clean.
There was one small window which was permanently covered with a curtain as the window
faced the next building which was a mere 50 cm away, so no sunlight here.
The free internet and the wide selection of international channels was an added bonus.
The next subway is a mere 5 minutes away and the famous Isetan Department Store can be reached by foot in 10 minutes.
Tokyo in general has become extremely expensive and the price of € 165 per night was a bit steep, otherwise there is nothing to complain.

Room Tip: There are plenty of convenience stores close to this place where you can buy drinks and small snacks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Citadines was clean and it was reasonably priced. It was about a 10 minute walk to the closest train station which can get a little annoying if you forget something... But still handy! The staff all speak English and are very helpful :) Beds are comfy and the room is quite spacious. It's not an authentic Japanese hotel - it's very much western. But if that is what you are looking for, stay here! :) Can't really fault the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ness91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,352 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
#2 of 83 in Shinjuku
450 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Address: 1-28-13 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#4 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#9 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: $86 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of the Shinjuku East area, one of Tokyo's thriving urban centres, Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is a contemporary residence which enjoys a prime location close to the Marunouchi and Toei Shinjuku subway lines. At Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo, you can look forward to a pleasant stay that combines the convenience of a hotel with the freedom and privacy of a Tokyo serviced apartment. The residence's range of optional services are customized to suit your business and leisure needs, allowing you a choice of short or long term stays. Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is conveniently situated near restaurants, supermarkets, shopping malls, the Shinjuku hospital and Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Rakuten, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Tokyo Shinjuku Hotel Shinjuku
Citadines Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Shinjuku Citadines Tokyo Hotel
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing