We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Thoroughly enjoyable tour with Patrick

We had a great time travelling around Japan with Patrick and our small group of fellow travellers... read more

Reviewed January 7, 2020
Y3434VTchrisb
Fantastic tour - great variety of Japanese experiences, food and destinations!!!!

My husband and I travelled with another couple for a 2 week tour of Japan organised by Patrick at... read more

Reviewed December 1, 2019
holsaddictGlendowie
,
New zealand
Read all 47 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Shinjuku
from $135.75
More Info
1-Day Tokyo Bus Tour
1,064 Reviews
from $116.36
More Info
from $135.75
More Info
from $657.08
More Info
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
43
1
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
43
1
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews week tour train tickets snow monkeys small group hotel accommodation the rugby world cup an amazing trip rail network like clockwork these guys cherry blossom trees wendy koji jct takayama ryokan itinerary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 47 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2018 via mobile

We are very grateful to Patrick for his quick response to questions even when we had not yet engaged his services.

Travelling with family and friends is always not easy and when looking at the JR and Shinkansen systems one can be intimidated

Patrick has helped us with our various ticketing needs remotely and he’s truly a person of integrity and we appreciate his advance assistance and would happily recommend him and his company.

Hopefully we will meet him in person on our trip end of March

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank GeorgetownPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JapanCustomTours, Owner at Japan Custom Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Hi Mark, happy to be of help and sorting out a solution to your train ticket needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2017

We were looking for a comfortable, hassle-free way to get a sense of Japan and these two weeks did not disappoint. Patrick looked after us all the way through, adjusting things to meet our energy levels and interests. We saw so many things we would have missed had we been travelling independently. His fluency with the transport systems was impressive as was his wide-ranging knowledge of things Japanese. He had arranged quality accommodation throughout including two ryokans with memorable meals.
If Japan is not on your bucket list then you should put it there, move it towards the top and then use these guys!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank DocJon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JapanCustomTours, Owner at Japan Custom Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

DocJon - it was our pleasure to show you around and provide an overview of Japan. Two weeks is a good length to cover many of the facets that make Japan a fascinating and intriguing place to experience. And showing off the bits that so many people might otherwise miss, that is one of the things that we like to do for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2017

Following a five days by ourselves in Tokyo (including Typhoon Lan), we met up with Patrick and set off by rail to Takayama. Great train trip, with impressive mountain scenes and many hydro electricity generating facilities.
Takayama overnight accommodation was fine.
Next morning, Patrick took us on a very interesting walking tour, before heading off to Kanazawa. A great day with very fine accommodation overnight.
Next day off to Kyoto,
Patrick's knowledge of the rail system, railway stations (where the escalators rise and fall!) made traveling with our medium wheeled cases far less traumatic for a couple of 77 year old (relatively fit) Australian tourists. Patrick excelled in his management of all our rail and subway travel!
Kyoto railway station is most impressive (and new). Our hotel was close by and despite undergoing renovations, proved very comfortable.
A further talent of Patrick's, lay in his knowledge of local eateries. One of which was on the 7 floor of a shopping mall. Doubt that we'd have ever found several without his guidance. Interesting and very tasty food!
Patrick's arranging of a fine Japanese whisky tasting during half-price Happy Hour in our hotel was the highlight of my 78th.
Two standouts; the Inari Fushimi Shinto shrine (10,000 Torii gates) in Kyoto and a visit the following day to Nara. Passing showers did not detract from the visit.
All in all an excellent 6 day 5 night mini tour closing with a Shinansen trip back to Shinagawa, then onto Narita airport to return to Perth, Western Australia.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JapanCustomTours, Owner at Japan Custom Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Graeme and Wendy, it was a real pleasure to show you a slice of Japan. We did a lot in a short trip. With the "whiskey tasting" i was able to share my knowledge of fine Japanese whiskies with someone that really appreciated it and it was a fitting occassion (I priced some of them today at a store I know - we got a bargain!! A really serious discount). Retracing some of our tour steps currently and still remebering your tour fondly. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017

Was our holiday excellent? No, it wasn’t, it was INSANELY excellent. The tour met all our expectations and much more. It was tailored to meet all demands.
Our guides, Wendy, Koji and Patrick could not be more kind, friendly, patient, helpful and knowledgeable.
Hotel accommodation was luxurious.
We have no reservations recommending the Japan Custom Tour agency.

Date of experience: October 2017
4  Thank drwsoszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017

My partner and I were looking to get married in Japan during our holiday in October. After finding Patrick and his company on a trip advisor forum we approached him to create the ultimate custom tour.

Patrick communicated with us via email in advance- taking on board our tight schedule. He made everything really simple. Then accompanied us to various appointments across Tokyo.

I am pleased to say we were successfully married in Tokyo. Thank you Patrick- we could not have done it without you!!

I would highly recommend Patrick to arrange your logistics!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank 975rachaelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JapanCustomTours, Owner at Japan Custom Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Rachael and Ian, you both looked great for your wedding day in Tokyo. As our 2nd "wedding" it was interesting how the requirements changed so much in just a year, but we were well prepared and that preparation paid off. While it was a very niche "tour" it was great you got to see Japan while we looked after the documentation side of things here in Tokyo. Maybe we will see you when you visit next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews