We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touring Japan in October 2017”
Review of Japan Custom Tours

Japan Custom Tours
Ranked #11 of 34 Tours in Shinjuku
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: From Tokyo day tours, day trips and multi-day tours across Japan, we specialize in delivering custom tours for small groups (10 max) or private excursions.
Reviewed November 12, 2017

Was our holiday excellent? No, it wasn’t, it was INSANELY excellent. The tour met all our expectations and much more. It was tailored to meet all demands.
Our guides, Wendy, Koji and Patrick could not be more kind, friendly, patient, helpful and knowledgeable.
Hotel accommodation was luxurious.
We have no reservations recommending the Japan Custom Tour agency.

3  Thank drwsoszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"from place to place"
in 2 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"day trip"
in 3 reviews
"private tour"
in 2 reviews
"koji"
in 3 reviews
"jct"
in 2 reviews
"patrick"
in 12 reviews
"ryokan"
in 3 reviews
"kanazawa"
in 2 reviews
"itinerary"
in 4 reviews
"toured"
in 2 reviews
"company"
in 4 reviews
"japan"
in 12 reviews
"cherry"
in 2 reviews
"blossom"
in 2 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 24 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2017

My partner and I were looking to get married in Japan during our holiday in October. After finding Patrick and his company on a trip advisor forum we approached him to create the ultimate custom tour.

Patrick communicated with us via email in advance- taking on board our tight schedule. He made everything really simple. Then accompanied us to various appointments across Tokyo.

I am pleased to say we were successfully married in Tokyo. Thank you Patrick- we could not have done it without you!!

I would highly recommend Patrick to arrange your logistics!

Thank Rachael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JapanCustomTours, Owner at Japan Custom Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Rachael and Ian, you both looked great for your wedding day in Tokyo. As our 2nd "wedding" it was interesting how the requirements changed so much in just a year, but we were well prepared and that preparation paid off. While it was a very niche "tour" it was great you got to see Japan while we looked after the documentation side of things here in Tokyo. Maybe we will see you when you visit next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

If you are planning a visit to Japan and need some help with the logistics and language then this is the company for you (unless you really like being on a bus in a large group). We recently completed the 4 week grand tour of Japan with Patrick and can honestly say we have never had such an easy and stress-free holiday. The train travel is a marvel and being just ourselves there was plenty of opportunity to vary the itinerary and do something different. We had experiences we would have struggled to find had we been on our own. What we learned with Patrick did mean we were more than comfortable looking after ourselves for our add-on week in Tokyo.

Thank JandPNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017

In late March we did the first of Patrick Harnett's cherry blossom tours in Japan. I found him excellent for all the pre tour organisation...nothing was a problem and everything was taken into account. Amazingly most of my enquiries were responded to within hours. The cherry blossom was a little later than expected but had no impact on our trip...we saw beautiful plum blossom in many gorgeous gardens earlier in the trip, and some stunning cherry blossom towards the end. The mix of old and new in every aspect of Japanese life was a highlight. I loved the stress free manner in which we moved from place to place with a great mix of experiences. The food was a highlight..and the art...and the architecture, gardens...etc. Kanazawa was a highlight in the tour we took. Japan is a photographers delight...and I am very keen to go back to see the autumn colours one day. If I do I will spend more time researching the food and restaurants in the places we go to - to expand our knowledge and experiences. Highly recommend Patrick and Japan Custom Tours.

1  Thank Helen2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2017

We recently booked 10 days in Japan with JCT. No worries about where to stay, eat or how to figure out the transportation system. JCT handled all details. Wendy and Koji accompanied us every day to places we wanted to see and suggested other places we didn't think about. My wife got sick with strep throat and Wendy arranged a very good English speaking doctor to help her out and prescribe medicine, which got her back up and running in two days. We were able to travel to an Onson village and stay in a Ryokan and be entertained by geishas and eat fantastic huge multi-course meals in a private dining setting. We had reserved train seats for all long distance travel, including to and from the airport which made travel a pleasure. We never waited more than 15 minutes for train connections and where trains might be difficult, we would take taxi's. No parking issues at all. I highly recommend Japan Custom Tours for anyone wanting a worry and stress free trip to Japan.

Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JapanCustomTours, Owner at Japan Custom Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Thank you Paul - we aim to make things as stress free as possible and getting sick on holiday is never good, but you were in good hands with Wendy and Koji looking after you. We aim to have our schedules work efficiently so you get more time doing Japan and it is nice to hear any wait times were kept to a minimum. As for the great experiences you had along the way - that's what we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japan Custom Tours also viewed

 

Been to Japan Custom Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing