We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The tour for independent travellers”
Review of Japan Custom Tours

Japan Custom Tours
Ranked #11 of 34 Tours in Shinjuku
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: From Tokyo day tours, day trips and multi-day tours across Japan, we specialize in delivering custom tours for small groups (10 max) or private excursions.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

If you are planning a visit to Japan and need some help with the logistics and language then this is the company for you (unless you really like being on a bus in a large group). We recently completed the 4 week grand tour of Japan with Patrick and can honestly say we have never had such an easy and stress-free holiday. The train travel is a marvel and being just ourselves there was plenty of opportunity to vary the itinerary and do something different. We had experiences we would have struggled to find had we been on our own. What we learned with Patrick did mean we were more than comfortable looking after ourselves for our add-on week in Tokyo.

Thank JandPNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"from place to place"
in 2 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"day trip"
in 3 reviews
"private tour"
in 2 reviews
"koji"
in 3 reviews
"jct"
in 2 reviews
"patrick"
in 12 reviews
"ryokan"
in 3 reviews
"kanazawa"
in 2 reviews
"itinerary"
in 4 reviews
"toured"
in 2 reviews
"company"
in 4 reviews
"japan"
in 12 reviews
"cherry"
in 2 reviews
"blossom"
in 2 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 24 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2017

In late March we did the first of Patrick Harnett's cherry blossom tours in Japan. I found him excellent for all the pre tour organisation...nothing was a problem and everything was taken into account. Amazingly most of my enquiries were responded to within hours. The cherry blossom was a little later than expected but had no impact on our trip...we saw beautiful plum blossom in many gorgeous gardens earlier in the trip, and some stunning cherry blossom towards the end. The mix of old and new in every aspect of Japanese life was a highlight. I loved the stress free manner in which we moved from place to place with a great mix of experiences. The food was a highlight..and the art...and the architecture, gardens...etc. Kanazawa was a highlight in the tour we took. Japan is a photographers delight...and I am very keen to go back to see the autumn colours one day. If I do I will spend more time researching the food and restaurants in the places we go to - to expand our knowledge and experiences. Highly recommend Patrick and Japan Custom Tours.

1  Thank Helen2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017

We recently booked 10 days in Japan with JCT. No worries about where to stay, eat or how to figure out the transportation system. JCT handled all details. Wendy and Koji accompanied us every day to places we wanted to see and suggested other places we didn't think about. My wife got sick with strep throat and Wendy arranged a very good English speaking doctor to help her out and prescribe medicine, which got her back up and running in two days. We were able to travel to an Onson village and stay in a Ryokan and be entertained by geishas and eat fantastic huge multi-course meals in a private dining setting. We had reserved train seats for all long distance travel, including to and from the airport which made travel a pleasure. We never waited more than 15 minutes for train connections and where trains might be difficult, we would take taxi's. No parking issues at all. I highly recommend Japan Custom Tours for anyone wanting a worry and stress free trip to Japan.

Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JapanCustomTours, Owner at Japan Custom Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Thank you Paul - we aim to make things as stress free as possible and getting sick on holiday is never good, but you were in good hands with Wendy and Koji looking after you. We aim to have our schedules work efficiently so you get more time doing Japan and it is nice to hear any wait times were kept to a minimum. As for the great experiences you had along the way - that's what we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017

Patrick Harnett of Japan Custom Tours is a marvel! He ever so smoothly and calmly shepherded our Gang of Four-Joan, a New Zealand couple and I- through thronged train stations, along urban sidewalks and among the masses at famed sites. He knows the most opportune times to experience the temples, shrines, gardens, museums and restaurants before the crowds arrive. We not only saw the iconic, but were taken to the secretly splendid off the beaten track to quiet hillsides, forested paths and blossom bowered riversides. Patrick balanced it all, contrasting the ancient with the modern, the natural with the man made. We were able to visit the the suggested itinerary of the Late Cherry Blossom Tour, April 16-29, plus our personal requests: an origami class, a silk painting session, a Kabuki theater presentation. Our "tour" was true to the company name "Custom." JCT is a five star operation and Patrick scores an Olympic ten. Joyce and Joan

Thank earlgreen2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JapanCustomTours, Owner at Japan Custom Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Thank you for the review as it highlights many of the elements that we build into our tours for people - the iconic and the secret, the busy and the quiet. Being able to show the diversity and contrasts of Japan and add in activities that you actually wanted to do. A memorable trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2017

My wife and I completed a two-week tour of Japan during the first half of
April 2017. This was the first time we had ever traveled as part of a tour
group. But after reading several positive reviews about Japan Custom Tours
on the web in 2016, we felt comfortable booking a trip with this company.
It was really nice to leave details about arranging hotels, train passes,
museum vists, etc to JCT, especially since we do not speak any Japanese.

The cherry blossoms and Jigokudani Monkey Park met our (high)
expectations. But we also really enjoyed nearly all of the other sites that
were on our recent tour. They included the Hiroshima peace museum,
Miyajima island, the Inari Fushimi shrine, the deer park at Nara, Nijo Castle
and its spectacular gardens, and the even more spectacular Kenroukuen
gardens in Kanazawa (my favorite city in Japan). The only significant site
which didn't live up to its billing was the cruise around Matsushima Bay in
Sendai. Japan Custom Tours arranged for my wife to take an origami class
in Tokyo which she thoroughly enjoyed. And we both liked having free time
on our own to visit a major art museum in Tokyo.

Japan Custom Tours definitely tries to accommodate individual
preferences among their small group tours. We were probably among the
more adventuresome in our recent tour. Patrick and Wendy often let us go off
on our own ahead of the rest of the group and/or let us remain at
some locations for more time to site-see and gave us directions on how to
get back to the hotel at night. So I'd recommend working with this company
to let them know what you want from a tour. Given that you're part of a
group tour, it's not possible to always accommodate everyone's
individual preferences. But this company definitely tries to customize each day
on the tour so that different people can do different activities.

Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JapanCustomTours, Owner at Japan Custom Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Peter C thank you for your detailed review. Certainly the opportunity and flexibility for people to go exploring away from the rest of the group (or simply taking more time to enjoy a particular site) is an important feature of our tours, and it is good to hear that most of the sites lived up to expectations. Your comment on Matsushima Bay is very useful (listed as one of the "three views of Japan") but we do understand not everyone likes it, and that is the kind of feedback we incorporate into subsequent trips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japan Custom Tours also viewed

 

Been to Japan Custom Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing