We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short rest and brunch”
Review of Canal Cafe

Canal Cafe
Ranked #86 of 10,005 Restaurants in Shinjuku
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Shinjuku / Nakano / Suginami
Reviewed December 31, 2016

Suitable location for a short stop during sightseeing. Nice quiet place to relax and enjoy nice view. I was visiting in December. I presume view must be perfect in cherry blossom season.
Cafe is offering decent and tasty Italian themed food. (Expression Italian style would be too strong for somebody familiar with real Italian food). Price not cheap, service not perfect, both acceptable.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Marvin-42-SI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 255 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2016

Canal cafe has been going strong for nearly 15 years. It started as a rowboat hire stand by the outer moat of the Palace. Years of renovations later, it is now a moat-side bar, outdoor cafe and surprisingly good indoor Italian restaurant.

I took 9 people there for an impromptu celebration dinner on a Sunday night without very high expectations. Many cocktails, bottles of champagne, pizza starters and multi-course meal later, the total bill was less than JPY 7500 per head. That's by no means bargain dining, but the quality of the food and the service were outstanding.

The main room of the restaurant is spacious and overlooks the moat, which is fringed with cherry trees and lit up in lights at night in winter.

Its a lovely space, easy to get to (Iidabashi and Kagurazaka station exits are right outside) and my guests, foreign and Japanese, were utterly charmed.

Date of visit: December 2016
2  Thank Fushiki_Tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 20, 2016

Lovely place for couples and friends. This place is used for wedding parties and it's a easy to access locations

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ninjagrooves
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

Fancy quiet restaurant by the water have seats either inside or in decks area. Worth visiting both in the afternoon or evening time. Perfect for visiting during cherry blossom in Japan, all the trees by the river turn pink which make view even more gorgeous. The food is delicious, drinks and desserts too.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank anned0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

You can order anything from the restaurant and you won't go wrong with them. You can also take any table and the view will equally beautiful. The ambiance is perfect for everything; whether if you're relaxing with friends & family, working on something at a quiet place, reading or even looking at the couples rowing by the canal.

I like the outdoor seating better than the indoor even when the weather a little cool for people from tropical country like me. It's nice to know they don't mind people staying long there as I saw some warm blankets are available on the terrace chairs.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Canal Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Canal Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.