We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding and true Teppanyaki”

Mon cher ton ton Shinjuku
Ranked #90 of 8,743 Restaurants in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $2
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Akabane / Itabashi
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Outstanding and true Teppanyaki”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Fantastic restaurant with amazing views. Personal chef (for you, not a group) is warm and friendly, but without any of the theatre seen in Western style Teppanyaki restaurants. Service was smooth, warm and efficient. A great night capped off by dessert at the bar overlooking Tokyo lights

Expensive, but well worth it

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    26
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sion, Switzerland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“True theatre at dinner, looked delicious and tasted delicious.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We reserved, but on arrival there was waiting and phone calls and faffing. We asked if we could have a drink at the bar as it seemed our table wasn't ready. That seemed a good idea to them so we were taken to the bar which has a marvellous twinkling panorama of Tokyo. The bar man needed encouraging as he was busy with the ice cream !! We were in no hurry but suddenly they wanted to seat us and as we were to be on a counter, backs to the view, we thought we would wait a few minutes at the bar. It became apparent to us that the main part of the meal is made at the counter and dessert is served at the bar so all guests can enjoy the lights and view.
The chef spoke sufficient English to chat and explain what he was doing. He kindly cooked my wife's sushi (tuna) as she dislikes anything raw. It was an exceptional evening as far as entertainment goes, everything was fresh and cooked in front of us. We were able to enjoy good wines to compliment the dishes, and watch the spectacle as we ate.
Would strongly recommend this as the best meal we enjoyed in Tokyo.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandriaSion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Teppanyaki”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Expensive, but worth it. The best teppanyaki restaurant I have been to, great food, exceptional service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roberto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“True art of Japanese cooking”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful restaurant. Personal chef cooked an amazing meal for me and my wife. Warning....the prawns are still alive as they hit the cooking surface....so be warned, this is not for the faint of heart. We had the Kobe beef which was very good. The entire meal was perfect. Pricey....$500 for 2 meal and 3 beers. But worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food. Expensive but Worth it”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Final meal of our visit to Japan. It is expensive but they put on a good show, the food is outstanding and the service impeccable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosiegracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mon cher ton ton Shinjuku also viewed

 

Been to Mon cher ton ton Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing