We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True theatre at dinner, looked delicious and tasted delicious.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mon cher ton ton Shinjuku

Mon cher ton ton Shinjuku
Ranked #58 of 8,584 Restaurants in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $2
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Shinjuku
Sion, Switzerland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“True theatre at dinner, looked delicious and tasted delicious.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We reserved, but on arrival there was waiting and phone calls and faffing. We asked if we could have a drink at the bar as it seemed our table wasn't ready. That seemed a good idea to them so we were taken to the bar which has a marvellous twinkling panorama of Tokyo. The bar man needed encouraging as he was busy with the ice cream !! We were in no hurry but suddenly they wanted to seat us and as we were to be on a counter, backs to the view, we thought we would wait a few minutes at the bar. It became apparent to us that the main part of the meal is made at the counter and dessert is served at the bar so all guests can enjoy the lights and view.
The chef spoke sufficient English to chat and explain what he was doing. He kindly cooked my wife's sushi (tuna) as she dislikes anything raw. It was an exceptional evening as far as entertainment goes, everything was fresh and cooked in front of us. We were able to enjoy good wines to compliment the dishes, and watch the spectacle as we ate.
Would strongly recommend this as the best meal we enjoyed in Tokyo.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandriaSion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    24
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Teppanyaki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Expensive, but worth it. The best teppanyaki restaurant I have been to, great food, exceptional service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roberto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“True art of Japanese cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful restaurant. Personal chef cooked an amazing meal for me and my wife. Warning....the prawns are still alive as they hit the cooking surface....so be warned, this is not for the faint of heart. We had the Kobe beef which was very good. The entire meal was perfect. Pricey....$500 for 2 meal and 3 beers. But worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food. Expensive but Worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Final meal of our visit to Japan. It is expensive but they put on a good show, the food is outstanding and the service impeccable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosiegracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
175 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best dinner experience when in Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

During each of my Tokyo trip I always take my business partner to Seryna - Mon Cher Tonton at the 52nd floor of the Sumitomo building. Their lobster/kobe beack combo dinner is the best and the chefs are highly skilled. You basically get show and dinner :-) The beer is also excellent and I love the nice touch of having dessert at the bar with the view of Tokyo at night! The whole experience is always worth the price!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PixieSam59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mon cher ton ton Shinjuku also viewed

 

Been to Mon cher ton ton Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing