We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean efficient lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hundred Stay Tokyo Shinjuku
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hundred stays hotel is a average standard accommodation in Japan. The room was basic but not a bad size for Japan. Clean with all provided toiletries. First time visitors to this country will find it quite small. There was very basic facilities here, the best being a small basic but decent modern gym. The cafeteria was open for breakfast only and the breakfast itself was quite poor beyond belief , rice, some cornflakes, bread and croissant not much else, not worth getting up for. That matters not as there are enough places to go to around the area for substantial dining.

There was a laundry in another part of the basement building. I used it once due to the poor dryers. Therefore I used the local laundry service that is available through the concierge.

One of the hotels better points was that the staff here were very helpful and courteous with good English. I chose this hotel for the price and the gym, but neither, for me, compensated for the location. The local metro is Ukubo, one stop from the main, extremely busy and overpopulated Shinjuku station. Its about a 25 minute, maybe more walk to the centre hub of Shinjuku or the Main Station.

Not a bad little hotel for those who need to stay in this area and other rooms did seeme quite large and good for families. I moved early to a more convenient site for me near Roppongi.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 314 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed their for two nights recently.

Pro's

- Location. Very close to two underground stations and to Shinjuku Station (1 stop on metro).
- Large accommodation including sitting room, kitchenette. Comfy and clean. Decor as you would expect from a $100 a night room (although they did have a BOSE sound system and iPod docking station)
- Would be good for a couple or with small kids
- They have a gym (limited but half decent)
- Inexpensive

Con's

- Breakfast is poor. I did't bother the two days I was there. There are local convenience stores so I went and bought some eggs, bread and vegetables and as you have a kitchen made my own.

So on balance a pretty good find and above average for a three star hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I spent 5 days in Tokyo on my own and didn't want to be too far outside the city center because I didn't want to spend too much time to get to the various places I wanted to visit. But when I was looking at reviews to find a place to stay, I came to the conclusion that the more you get down in the prices, the less space you will have. The most common comment was nice hotel but very small room with even no space to open your suitcase. And then I found Hundred Stays, perfectly located in Shinjuku convenient but not in the busy part. I booked as an early bird for a Studio-Superior-Twin and when I arrived I got upgraded, so I ended up in spacious studio for 4 adults with kitchen corner, washing machine, 80+ square meters ! The hotel is not a leisure hotel so don't expect to have "an atmosphere" but you didn't came to spend your time in the hotel, no ?
My room was in the 14th floor "only" but no rooms are below the 12th floor so no problem with street noise or train passing. And within 5 mns walking, restaurants and super markets when you need something. The very good point is that within 10 mns walking your are at Shinjuku main stations for everything : train, metro, busses, huge shopping centers, 1.000 of restaurants and plenty of little shops in the side alleys. I got a daily passenger on the Yamanote Line which is circling in Tokyo and allowed me to go very easily around the big city as well as to outside points.
One negative point : the carpet floor in my studio had coffee been splashed on from a previous guest and it hadn't been cleaned, I notified it to the reception desk. It has been taken care of the same afternoon. And the reception people are nice and helpfull.
My conclusion : absolutely good value for the place and the location.

Room Tip: rooms all located above 12th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claude G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Ah the old online hotel pictures, how they can be deceiving. Look, this hotel was by no means terrible. The room was nice, and clean and spacious - their breakfasts are terrible, stale croissants and saccharine jam - the service from the front desk was average bordering on poor but its proximity to Okubo station means it is good if you dont plan on staying in the room too much. free laundry was handy but the wi fi was terrible if you are reliant on that. $500 AUD for 3 nights means its probably on the expensive side for tokyo as well...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked the Room Type: Studio-Superior-Double.
The hotel was just down the road from Ukubo train station - one stop from Shinjuku station.
We were on the 19th floor facing away from the train line and not near the lift.
The room was adequate, the bed was a little hard but we managed to get a good night sleep.
The tessco mini mart is closed but there is the Family Mart just down the road.
Matercard is no longer accepted at the 7/11 stores. The post office can help you out with their ATM to get out any cash you need.The staff at the apartment spoke good english and tourist guides were availble in english.
Breakfast was average - corn flakes, yogurt, bread roll / sweet bread,croissant and tea & coffee, but enough to get your day started.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreyNomads888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed in a Superior Double room for 6 nights in February/March 2013 while doing research for my PhD. It was great value at less than $100 a night for the deal I got, and my room was large for Tokyo – large enough for me to do an interview with 3 people at one time! I was also on a fairly high floor so had a nice view of Tokyo. Front desk staff were fairly reserved but efficient. I left some lost property in my room and they kept it for 2 months until I returned!
Pros: Good value. Large rooms, and they're quiet if you're on a higher floor. Nice views. The laundry in the basement was really handy.
Cons: Slightly dated decor and old carpet... but not that noticeable. Although it's located near two train stations and easy to get around, there's not much to do within walking distance of this hotel. Sure, Shinjuku is a 20-minute walk away, but Shinjuku isn't nearly as much fun as Shibuya. My Japanese friends laughed when I told them I was staying in Okubo.
I'd class this as a good business hotel, but the location isn't ideal for tourists. I'd stay here again if I had business in Shinjuku.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quieter and have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peechan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Right near Okubo station and a couple of mins walk from Shin Okubo Station - this is one stop from Shinjuku and on the same line as Shibuya - Harajuku etc, also it was a lot quieter up here

Cons:
- Big rooms - Mt Fuji view was a surprise!
- Shinjuku is an extremely busy station, so getting off at Okubo or Shin Okubo is so much easier
- Right near Korea town - this was another surprise after being out and about all day you can go 2 mins down the street and find lots of really good restaurants - and there are a few street food places that serve these great pancakes with cheese or honey, coffee shops and Mcdonalds.
- Breakfast was included but we preferred to go out - never actually went near there (our choice)
- Walk to Shinjuku maybe 10mins one straight street which was easy

We chose this place purely cos the rooms were bigger - only reason I'm not giving a 5 is that I normally stay in International chains - rooms weren't bad, they were clean modern, just a little basic in decoration...this is just personal preference

Room Tip: Fuji view - ask for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gourmettravels82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#14 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,467 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#12 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,030 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,562 reviews
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hundred Stay Tokyo Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hundred Stay Tokyo Shinjuku

Address: 2-27-7 Hyakunincho, Shinjuku 169-0073, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: $159 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hundred Stay Tokyo Shinjuku 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HUNDRED STAY is located in a quiet area away from the busy crowd. A walk on holidays in Shinjuku Gyoen, Yoyogi Park, and the well-known Korean Town is relaxing, while it is also situated in a downtown area where you can feel the energetic Tokyo power. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, Rakuten, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hundred Stay Tokyo Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hundred Stay Tokyo Shinjuku Hotel Shinjuku
100 Stay Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing