We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware the top levels!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beware the top levels!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

being a non smoker the top levels are nasty smokey
up to level 3 or 4 you should be fine
great location next to tube to get in and out, the rooms themselves are tiny but what youd expect in tokyo
internet and room cleaning, usual stuff you'd want incl 24hr deli and coffee shop right under :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlr4lyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
イーホテル東新宿, フロント オフィス マネージャー at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for staying at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku.
We have no curfew , therefore customer can enjoy night spot around Shinujuku Kabukichou area as much as they want. We are looking forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    375
    212
    50
    23
See reviews for
88
361
104
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I always say location is everything when it comes to choosing a hotel, especially when you are travelling budget! Cleanliness is a second to none. This hotel has both, location and cleanliness. You will see the entrance right after you go out from Higashi-shinjuku A1 exit. It is literally next to the exit that you won't miss it. It is close to restaurants, supermarkets, etc. I don't mind the room being super tiny, I think it was efficiently designed!! Well, don't bring 4 suitcases with you, of course. The staffs are friendly and very helpful, they can speak English, good enough to help you get around. Overall it has all you can expect for a budget accomodation. I would definitely recommend this hotel ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TW168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
イーホテル東新宿, フロント オフィス マネージャー at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for the compliment.
We have received positive feedback from people about the great location.
It is close to restaurants, supermarkets, and convinience stores which is open for 24 hours.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your holiday at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku.
We are looking forward to serving you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

All the previous reviews of this Hotel are very very accurate. Some Tips
The cheapest "Double Rooms" are called Semi Doubles that means the bed is 3/4 sized, as everyone says the rooms and bathrooms are amazingly tiny, if you want a bigger room ask for a Twin Room which is bigger and has 2 x 3/4 sized beds, the extra cost is about 2000 Yen (Roughly US$20) worth of it if you normal sized and have luggage, the bathroom is still tiny and just the few hangers for clothes.
Lastly yes the rooms higher up are definitely better from a noise point.

Room Tip: See above ask for a Twin rather than a Double and stay as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whereswally_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
イーホテル東新宿, フロント オフィス マネージャー at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor page.
Your opinions and comments are important to us.
We regret that this was not your impression and offer our apologies.
We keep your information for our future guidance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasig
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel is has a good location. Around 7 minute walk to the shopping area. It has lots of restaurant surrounding the hotel. It has a convenient store beside it. Those were just the things I was looking for a hotel.

The room and bathroom was really small, as expected.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank japs1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
イーホテル東新宿, 支配人 at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your staying in E Hotel Higashi-Shinjuku and comment on Trip Advisor.
As your comment, the location of the hotel is the best in Shinjuku to enjoy not only town of Shinjuku but including other major towns in Tokyo by using the subway which station is just beside the hotel. One of the subway lines started connecting to Tokyu Line which bring you directly to Yokohama within one hour. Please stay again with the best rate at hotel official site. I am looking for wellcoming you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No fixed abode
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Having spent over seven years continuously on the road in rented accommodation from hotels to apartments to hostels and much more in between, we have a good idea of what we look for in reserving a bed for the night.

Let’s get the most obvious observation out of the way. You won’t be able to unpack the cat let alone swing it in this place, but if you travel lightly, haven’t jumped on the obese band wagon and are happy to get cosy with your companion, who cares?

Despite the diminutive size, it’s all here, from comfortable double bed (great linen, funky two layered pillow), to compact desk and fridge and flat screen TV, which is only good if you can speak Japanese.

No cupboard or storage space but you do get a couple of hooks and coat hangers, no in-room safe but you get a hot plate for water and Raman, and climate control is also included.

Now this is funky, the micro-sized bathroom. You get a combined tap for both sink and shower/bath (make sure you close the tap slowly or the shower kicks in if you over run) and the toilet comes with its own remote control! Naturally the room is tiny so if you have long legs and need the loo, leave the door open.

Both rooms/broom cupboards are clean and new, everything all works well and aside from the odd nearby sirens (ambulance and fire stations are close by, apparently) it’s quiet enough.

Brilliant wi-fi (speeds of 65 Mbps) which can also be accessed via a supplied cable, that was dependable and fast. Super stuff and if you are laptop-less, they have two pcs in the lobby.

If you come in on the Tube, take exit A1 at Higashi station- you are then directly on the doorstep.

Anyway, as ever, please feel free to contact us via a personal message or check out our Blog for more details and pictures. Just Google “ktelontour” or see our profile for the Blog address.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktelontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I will come back here again!

This was the smallest room I've ever stayed in. My wife and i stayed here for 5 nights with 2 huge luggages. You just have to always keep your bags and stuff organized because there is not enough room to even open your bag.

Also, It can get noisy from the ambulance and fire trucks but it didn't bother me too much. We were always tired and slept like a baby at night.

If you are looking for a value for money stay, this is it! Subway station is just beside the hotel. 1-2 stops away from the main shinjuku area. Regardless of the noise, the size, etc, I would definitely stay here again. With the money we saved in our accommodation, we used it in food and shopping!

Thank you E Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaoBoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
イーホテル東新宿, 支配人 at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your booking and staying in E Hotel Higashi-Shinjuku with your wife, and also for your comment on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to hear that you could enjoy staying and you will come back here. I am looking for seeing you soon in my hotel, plaese make your booking at Hotel Official Web Site with best rate.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was a great stay for exploring Tokyo. Situated next to Higashi station and a 15 minute walk from shinjuku station, it was well located for exploring the city. Across the road is a 24 hour McDonald's, and below a tullys coffee shop and 24 hour convenience store. There's plenty of food places near the hotel which are great.

The room, though tiny, was furnished nicely. The only issue I would highlight was the lack of wardrobe space - just three hangers on a hook. Despite other reviews, it really isn't necessary to sleep with your suitcase in the bed.

Staff are helpful - most have some grasp of English. There are vending machines and laundry facilities in the hotel, as well as pc access, free wifi throughout. Rooms are clean with air con/heating, and I had no issue with noise keeping me awake. Would definitely return if/when back in the city!

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, request a higher room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelJ_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
イーホテル東新宿, 支配人 at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your booking and stay in E Hotel Higashi-Shinjjuku. As your comment here, the location of the hotel is the best in Tokyo / Shinjuku. The Exit of staion for two subway lines are just next to the hotel entry, and on of the subway line have been connected to Tokyu Railway by which you can access to Yokohama directly and easily.
I am looking for wellcoming you at my hotel, please make your booking at Hotel Official Web Site with Best Rate.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,287 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 82 in Shinjuku
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
#9 of 82 in Shinjuku
910 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku

Property: E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
Address: 2-3-15 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 1 min from Higashi Shinjuku subway station. We are contemporary style hotel which is located in the central Tokyo. Accessible via public transportation to Shibuya, Roppongi, Ikebukuro, Harajuku, Asakusa, Ginza and even Yokohama. E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku is within walking distance of Shinjuku City's most famous attractions, including Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden, Isetan department store, Kabuki-chou, Golden gai. We completed renovation in August 2015. Providing guests with modern amenities such as air conditioning and free High Speed Internet(WIFI). Bottled water is supplied by complimentary to all rooms(1 bottle per 1 pax / 1 night) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing