We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eeh by Gum, it’s Small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Having spent over seven years continuously on the road in rented accommodation from hotels to apartments to hostels and much more in between, we have a good idea of what we look for in reserving a bed for the night.

Let’s get the most obvious observation out of the way. You won’t be able to unpack the cat let alone swing it in this place, but if you travel lightly, haven’t jumped on the obese band wagon and are happy to get cosy with your companion, who cares?

Despite the diminutive size, it’s all here, from comfortable double bed (great linen, funky two layered pillow), to compact desk and fridge and flat screen TV, which is only good if you can speak Japanese.

No cupboard or storage space but you do get a couple of hooks and coat hangers, no in-room safe but you get a hot plate for water and Raman, and climate control is also included.

Now this is funky, the micro-sized bathroom. You get a combined tap for both sink and shower/bath (make sure you close the tap slowly or the shower kicks in if you over run) and the toilet comes with its own remote control! Naturally the room is tiny so if you have long legs and need the loo, leave the door open.

Both rooms/broom cupboards are clean and new, everything all works well and aside from the odd nearby sirens (ambulance and fire stations are close by, apparently) it’s quiet enough.

Brilliant wi-fi (speeds of 65 Mbps) which can also be accessed via a supplied cable, that was dependable and fast. Super stuff and if you are laptop-less, they have two pcs in the lobby.

If you come in on the Tube, take exit A1 at Higashi station- you are then directly on the doorstep.

Anyway, as ever, please feel free to contact us via a personal message or check out our Blog for more details and pictures. Just Google “ktelontour” or see our profile for the Blog address.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktelontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 790 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I will come back here again!

This was the smallest room I've ever stayed in. My wife and i stayed here for 5 nights with 2 huge luggages. You just have to always keep your bags and stuff organized because there is not enough room to even open your bag.

Also, It can get noisy from the ambulance and fire trucks but it didn't bother me too much. We were always tired and slept like a baby at night.

If you are looking for a value for money stay, this is it! Subway station is just beside the hotel. 1-2 stops away from the main shinjuku area. Regardless of the noise, the size, etc, I would definitely stay here again. With the money we saved in our accommodation, we used it in food and shopping!

Thank you E Hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaoBoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
イーホテル東新宿, 支配人 at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your booking and staying in E Hotel Higashi-Shinjuku with your wife, and also for your comment on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to hear that you could enjoy staying and you will come back here. I am looking for seeing you soon in my hotel, plaese make your booking at Hotel Official Web Site with best rate.
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was a great stay for exploring Tokyo. Situated next to Higashi station and a 15 minute walk from shinjuku station, it was well located for exploring the city. Across the road is a 24 hour McDonald's, and below a tullys coffee shop and 24 hour convenience store. There's plenty of food places near the hotel which are great.

The room, though tiny, was furnished nicely. The only issue I would highlight was the lack of wardrobe space - just three hangers on a hook. Despite other reviews, it really isn't necessary to sleep with your suitcase in the bed.

Staff are helpful - most have some grasp of English. There are vending machines and laundry facilities in the hotel, as well as pc access, free wifi throughout. Rooms are clean with air con/heating, and I had no issue with noise keeping me awake. Would definitely return if/when back in the city!

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, request a higher room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelJ_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
イーホテル東新宿, 支配人 at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your booking and stay in E Hotel Higashi-Shinjjuku. As your comment here, the location of the hotel is the best in Tokyo / Shinjuku. The Exit of staion for two subway lines are just next to the hotel entry, and on of the subway line have been connected to Tokyu Railway by which you can access to Yokohama directly and easily.
I am looking for wellcoming you at my hotel, please make your booking at Hotel Official Web Site with Best Rate.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hotel is literally next door to the Higashi Shinjuku train stop, so it is very easy to reach, and makes it easy to access the rest of the city. Good Japanese restaurant a ways up the street kitty-korner from the McDonald's where you can select items from a shelf that is good and also inexpensive. (I was the only non-Japanese both times I went there.)
While the single room was quite small, service was good and the hotel was in good condition. No closet or wardrobe for your clothes, just some hangers on a wall.
I would stay here again because of the location and the relatively low price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
イーホテル東新宿, 支配人 at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your staying in E Hotel Higashi-Shinjuku, and slso for your comment on Trip Advisor. The location of my hotel is the best by using 2 subway lines, the exit of the station is just next to the hotel entry. You can enjoy both Tokyo and Yokohama with convinient access.
I am looking forward to wellcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The location is all right and is around 25 minutes walk from the Shinjuku station with your luggage. It has many shops around and it's a good stroll toward the Shinjuku busy area.
I have stayed in other hotels in Tokyo before and understand that small rooms are the norm, but this one is really ridiciously small! We could not even open one medium suitcase. We had to leave the luggage in the 'hall' and we couldn't get in and out, so have to hop over our suitcases the whole time, so glad we only stayed for one evening (it was a stopover before we flew out the next day). Unless you are travelling light and on your own, otherwise I would not recommend this hotel due to the very limited space. It was also the first hotel that I have encountered that the shower and the washbasin share the same tap! Please read the instruction that they give you when you check in otherwise you will not find the light switch...
However, in all fairness, the hotel was clean and had the usual shampoo etc in the bathroom. The bed was good size and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kacycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku is what you want if you would like to experience Tokyo and feel like Japanese. Hotel is very clean and fresh but don't expect 5 star luxurious spacious place.
Believe me You won't spend more than a night sleep there, price value ration makes this lounging absolutely perfect. We are young couple.

Yes a bit noisy as ambulance cars riding on and off and not all night as in the previous comment but this is the charm of Tokyo. If I would like to have quite time and big room I will probably visit a 5 star hotel in Swiss alps , but NO, when you Tokyo one must feel like in Tokyo.
Hotel is convenient located 10 meters from the metro and short taxi rides to the night life of Shinjuku.
Only 2-3 receptionists speaking English, buy hey this is not what to expect in Tokyo.

We had lovely holidays and this hotel make it even better and complete the feeling of what is to live there!

Recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank procesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
イーホテル東新宿, フロント オフィス マネージャー at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for the compliment.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku.
We are looking forward to serving you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very noisy

We booked this hotel thinking it is in a good location because it is located next to a subway station. This is true but the hotel is also located near a hospital and/or fire station.
There are ambulance cars riding on and off all night long with very loud sirens and announcements. It is very very difficult to get a good night sleep here.

I feel bad to score this hotel so low but the noise is a huge problem to me. Even this is not the fault of the hotel but more of a location issue. We’ve read about the sirens noise but never knew if would be that bad !

Will not stay again mainly because of the noise. There are better options in better locations at this price range.

Pro’s :
- free WIFI in room
- fridge in room
- laundry machine for guest use

Con’s :
- noise of sirens and ambulance all night long
- most staff cannot speak English
- location not so convenient

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W-Voyager-128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
イーホテル東新宿, フロント オフィス マネージャー at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor page.
Your opinions and comments are important to us.
We keep your information for our future guidance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,352 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 83 in Shinjuku
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Shinjyuku Gyoenmae
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku

Address: 2-3-15 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: $81 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 1 min from Higashi Shinjuku subway station. We are contemporary style hotel which is located in the central Tokyo. Accessible via public transportation to Shibuya, Roppongi, Ikebukuro, Harajuku, Asakusa, Ginza and even Yokohama. E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku is within walking distance of Shinjuku City's most famous attractions, including Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden, Isetan department store, Kabuki-chou, Golden gai. We completed renovation in August 2015. Providing guests with modern amenities such as air conditioning and free High Speed Internet(WIFI). Bottled water is supplied by complimentary to all rooms(1 bottle per 1 pax / 1 night) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing