We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
Ranked #19 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed September 9, 2012

located a long 15mn walk from the animated areas of shinjuku and harajuku, extremely small rooms and a bit smelly. Wi-fi available on the lobby only, blind windows... and as the rooms are sold by the hours during the day, any hour past your check-out time will be invoiced. It is just cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noctanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
There are newer reviews for E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

442 - 448 of 783 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

Yes, it's small so maybe not great if you're going to spend lots of time in the room, but it's functional, close to transport and CHEAP! Staff are friendly and helpful, there's a coffee shop downstairs and a small supermarket next door and the Higashi Shinjuku subway is next door while the main Shinjuku station is 10 mins walk away. Bargain.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Smelled like smoke in a non-smoking room. Brown stains on the bathroom door!! The room charge increased upon arrival. There was an early check out... Not worth your time or money. There are (other) much better places to stay in Tokyo!

Room Tip: No room service. Very, very basic accommodations!!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 10 nights. We are small people so the double bed was fine for us. The room was cleaned every day, inlcuding the bathroom, towels were clean everyday. There is not actually any room for your stuff in the bathrooms, the're very small. You get robes and slippers, tea, coffee, fridge space for our breakfast sandwiches, milk and cake. We didn't have English tv, we watched japan in the Olympic games, fine in Japanese. No wardrobe but a few hangers on the wall. We had soft travel bags so they fit ok. The hotel can give you money off vouchers for the coffee/sandwich shop next to it. There are computer and printer in reception. There's wifi in the rooms. there were no bad smells, noto so much noise - there was actually water running all night noise, maybe i'm imune, i managed to sleep ok. It is on top of the train station and minutes from downtown Shinjuku. The area is full of restaurants of all kinds, good to stop into on hyou way home from the bar.

Room Tip: didn' see all rooms. I thnk runing water noise is probably eveywere. maybe ask for non smoking...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fawcarol2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

off course the rooms are small, everything in Tokyo is small( besides the size of the actual city itself), but this a good 
hotel where you get good value for your money. I stayed there for 3 nights in a single room, on the 5th floor. the room had a 120 cm bed, little desk, tea kettle, tv,a tiny bathroom equipped with a new brush,toothbrush,razer and bathrobe every day. the location is right next to subway station Higashi-Shinjuku (exit A2,turn right at the exit), it's also near a convenient store that is open 24/7,for those who like McDonald there's one across the street, also open 24/7. The major station Shinjuku,where most lines leave from, is not far,15 min maybe. There's a very nice area called Golden Gai, 5-10 min from the hotel, where there are many small bars (only place for 3-7 people at a time) in a labyrinth of small alleys, which I really recommend. It may seem a little scary, but I was a solo woman traveling alone and felt completely safe,even very late. 
So the only down sides I can come up with must be that the check in isn't before 3:00 PM ( I arrived 11:00 AM after a 12 hours flight but still couldn't check in before 3:00 PM), also the pillow was very hard. So if you don't like small rooms don't book it, if you just need a room to sleep for a good price and looks nice, book it! I would absolutely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NadineOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

A very small room- no space for suitcases so you have to climb over them and the shower room is even smaller but if you are just looking for a base whilst you go out for the day this place is fine. The rooms did smell badly of cigarette smoke, and had nowhere to hang your clothes but for the price you cannot really complain. There was a set of computers in the lobby which were free to use and the reception staff could speak English and were very helpful. The Hotel could not be closer to a subway station and is very close the the Golden Gai area, it is about a 15-20min walk to Shinjuku station, if I were to go again I would probably stay a little closer to Shinjuku station as this is where many restaurants can be found.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel is in a decent location. The rooms are tiny but clean (I was traveling solo so the size was fine for me...I'm also short but anyone nearing or over 6 feet will likely not fit in the bed). Perhaps I am spoiled given I arrived in Tokyo from Vietnam and Malaysia where, for less than $20/night you can find an immaculate, amenity filled room where the staff goes out of their way to assist you but the staff here were completely indifferent. They will not allow check in before 3pm even when the room is ready unless you pay 50% of the room rate (of 100% before 11am). I asked for help calling a tour company and they pointed to the payphone. I was, of course, happy to pay for the call but speaking no Japanese I had hoped they may assist me in the conversation but that was apparently not part of the job description. There was a great sushi place (and pretty inexpensive) just two blocks away which was delightful and the subway station next door, while not a main station, was still awfully convenient. In short, if you get a good deal ($80/night was mine) it is a good option for the money. Otherwise there are many better options that charge slightly more but have far more extensive offerings as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauraz7270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,333 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 83 in Shinjuku
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Shinjyuku Gyoenmae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku

Address: 2-3-15 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range: $87 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 1 min from Higashi Shinjuku subway station. We are contemporary style hotel which is located in the central Tokyo. Accessible via public transportation to Shibuya, Roppongi, Ikebukuro, Harajuku, Asakusa, Ginza and even Yokohama. E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku is within walking distance of Shinjuku City's most famous attractions, including Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden, Isetan department store, Kabuki-chou, Golden gai. We completed renovation in August 2015. Providing guests with modern amenities such as air conditioning and free High Speed Internet(WIFI). Bottled water is supplied by complimentary to all rooms(1 bottle per 1 pax / 1 night) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing