We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Small but comfortable rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, Small but comfortable rooms.”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Good, clean hotel right by Shinjuku Station line. There is a bakery and convenience store right next to hotel front door that was great for getting water, beer and snacks for the room. The rooms were very small (my husband and I really did not mind the smallness of the rooms, they were kinda cozy!). The rooms provided the basics:semi-comfortable bed, TV, wireless internet and a desk. We had to move the desk chair to the hall just so we could fit our 2 backpacks in the room. Only one of us could fit in the bathroom at a time. The shower was very good though, great water pressure and they provided Shiseido body wash and shampoo. We had a decent street view and did not mind the street noise, though we could hear several sirens throughout the night. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinDelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    370
    210
    50
    23
See reviews for
86
357
103
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Rooms are clean and tidy enough, but there is so little space between the bed and desk and no room to store anything - no good for two people away for two weeks. Bathroom was tiny too, and tap shared between shower and sink, so you can't use both at the same time.
Also, wired broadband hardly ever worked and when we asked about it there was no urgency to sort it out for us.
Average at best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We use tripadvisor religiously to book every hotel and despite reading every review for this hotel that comments on the tiny rooms we still went ahead and booked it. Having recently stayed in Hong Kong in what we thought was the smallest room in the world we were stunned to find that this hotel room was even smaller. My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights on our first visit to Tokyo, and with my husband being 6'7" tall he could lie on the bed and touch both walls with his arms......that's how small the rooms are. The bathroom was a struggle for myself to fit in, let alone my husband who couldn't fit in the shower. It was tiny and I have stayed in caravans with more space. I personally felt very claustrophobic and there was no space on the floor for both our bags. Also you can hear sirens from the emergency services throughout the night.

All else aside I feel bad for scoring this hotel this low as everything else was great, but with the tiny rooms it can't possibly score higher in my books.The location is excellent. 5 steps from exit A1 at Higashi Shinjuku station, 10 mins walk from main Shinjuku area, a coffee shop below, McDonalds across the road and many 24 hour convenience stores surrounding.

The rooms itself were spotlessly clean and modern, they had every amenity you could need. There was also free wifi throughout. They also stored our bags after checkout as we had a late flight.

Would we stay again???? I don't know to be honest as have no other comparison in Tokyo. I wouldn't rule out returning here if the price was low but please don't loose sight of the word small if you do stay here. I was frustrated at how much floor space there was in the corridor on every level, surely this would have been better used in increasing the rooms rather than 'dead' space in the corridor???

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazkebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Smacked right next to the Higashi Shinjuku Subway Station entrance on the Oedo Line, probably 10 steps away, it makes traveling with subway so much easier especially after you have walked the entire day around tokyo coming back home with soggy legs. As the oedo line does not take you to shinjuku directly , you can however switch direction at Tochomae Station for a shinjuku bound train on the same line. Right opposite the hotel is a few Japanese eateries serving ramen,sushi, Mcdonalds and a famous Japanese curry rice franchise. Lawson (convenient store) is located a few steps away 7-11 is a little further across the street. Pretty quite place after business hour. Kabukicho is approximately 15-20mins walk away from the hotel. Hotel receptionist speaks english and rather friendly except one younger male receptionist who cant be too bothered to greet you at times. For a price like this, i guess it is pretty standard for a small room like this in tokyo, cant complain much on the room size but be warned, you almost have no room to walk around with luggages laying around the floor. For the 3 nights i stayed, i displayed "Do not Disturb" sign to housekeeping as i have expensive digital equipments in the room, it was nice for the housekeeping to leave a bag of fresh toiletries and towels at the door. Internet is available in room free of charge with a LAN cable and if you do not happen to carry a laptop, there's two desktop computer with printer at the lobby you can use for free or Free WIFI at the Lobby, printing is charged at 10 yen (if im not mistaken) per piece. There's coin operated laundry on level 3 and ice maker&drinks vending machine on alternate floors.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielmhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

There is a lot on here about the room being small and guess what, it's true! That said, if you are looking budget, good luck trying to get anything anywhere in Tokyo that isn't on the smaller side.

Pros:

Location. Two stops from a happening station, access to the city is right out the door. You walk out the door, and the metro is the next door about 15 feet away.

Good staff. Very friendly, helped us with so much!

Nice rooms: Yes, the rooms are small, but they are designed well and enjoyable. Just be prepared to have little room and thus see the city more.

Wifi. A nice plus!

Cons:

It is small. Otherwise, can't think of much. Great place to do Tokyo on a budget!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

A friend and I spent 3 days at E-Hotel over the 4th of July weekend. The hotel staff was super friendly, from the front desk to housekeeping. It is literally 5 steps away from Shinjuku station line which makes it invaluable if you're trying to navigate Tokyo's massive subway system.
The rooms are SUPER SUPER small. Only 2 people can fit per room. Period. If you are traveling with someone over 6'ft tall, I would not recommend this hotel for them at all. Also if you are claustrophobic or traveling with a ton of luggage (like I did), this isn't the place for you either. The rooms however are top notch for the value of your money - well cleaned, nice linens, clean shower, and even a fridge to keep a couple of cold beers. If you just need a quick place to rest your head in between enjoying the amazing city of Tokyo, this serves the purpose quite well and on a very cheap budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellokittyalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I booked this hotel due to its high rating and good comments. During my research, most reviews mentioned Tokyo's hotel rooms are small, so despite of the negative, I still went for this hotel. However, it turned out to be way worse than I imagined. The room was practically a single room instead of a double. The amount of space which you can walk on is very limited, just a narrow hallway really. Me and my best friend both carried a small/medium suitcase and found no space to lay it down. I really cannot imagine anyone who is bringing a big suitcase into this room. The bathroom was extremely small, bath tube was half the size of a standard european tube size, so don't expect to take a bath in there. They might as well just do a shower stand, at least that saves more space.
About the location, at first I thought it was a bonus by choosing this hotel cos everyone said it's just 2 seconds walk away from the JR Higashi-Shinjuku A1 exit, which is true. However, the station was not one of the convenient stop I must say, most people who travels back to the hotel would change at Shinjuku Station. From Shinjuku Station, you either take Marunouchi Line to Shinjuku-Sanchome Station and walk for 10 minutes to the exit next to the hotel or from Shinjuku-Sanchome Station change to Fukutoshin Line to Higashi-Shinjuku Station and walk 5 minutes to exit A1 (next to hotel). Either way, I still find it inconvenient, but different people has different options, so it's up to you to decide. I am only here to share my own point of views about this hotel. One more thing is the hotel staff cannot speak English at all, I once asked to borrow a ruler, took them 5 minutes to understand what I want. If you are lucky, you might find a staff who speaks Mandarin, otherwise you'll have to rely on yourselves. Good luck :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shinjuku hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,261 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 82 in Shinjuku
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Shinjuku Kabukicho Tower
Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
#9 of 82 in Shinjuku
902 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku

Property: E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
Address: 2-3-15 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 1 min from Higashi Shinjuku subway station. We are contemporary style hotel which is located in the central Tokyo. Accessible via public transportation to Shibuya, Roppongi, Ikebukuro, Harajuku, Asakusa, Ginza and even Yokohama. E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku is within walking distance of Shinjuku City's most famous attractions, including Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden, Isetan department store, Kabuki-chou, Golden gai. We completed renovation in August 2015. Providing guests with modern amenities such as air conditioning and free High Speed Internet(WIFI). Bottled water is supplied by complimentary to all rooms(1 bottle per 1 pax / 1 night) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing