We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the cheapest, OK hotel”
Review of Hotel Siena

Hotel Siena
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Siena
Ranked #61 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Tokushima Prefecture, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not the cheapest, OK hotel”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We paid for our stay on Rakuten to try to get a good deal at a fairly traditional Western hotel. It was a little expensive for what we got in my opinion, having stayed at a few different kinds of hotels/hostels in Japan, but we had nothing major to complain about.

Keep in mind that this hotel is located in Kabuki-cho. For those not familiar, this is the red light district, complete with girls bars, prostitutes and so on. However, this area isn't dangerous in the slightest. You really don't need to worry about your safety, especially as a foreign tourist. I saw families with children walking through. It's just Shinjuku's nightlife area. It's an interesting place to see, especially at different times of day, but don't try to take pictures of the girls, no matter what their outfits. This hotel does have options for 2 or 3 hour stays, so there might be occasional noise in the hallways from those patrons.

It's about a ten minute walk from Shinjuku station. When you arrive, walk toward the "Central East Exit," and soon you'll see signs for Kabukicho. Follow the stairs up and you'll be out of the station. You have to walk through a couple of streets past restaurants and girls bars to get there. I recommend stopping at the Calico Cat Cafe (きゃるこ猫カフェ) which has a couple hundred cats and is one of the better Tokyo cat cafes.

We went for a three person room, which meant a double bed plus an extra bed. The extra bed was slightly softer than concrete, as it was just a foldaway bed. The double bed was very firm, and they had feather pillows that went flat immediately. The air conditioning was good, and the controls were next to the bed in English. It had a TV, small fridge (though most of the space was taken up with alcohol that is pay if you drink), coffee maker, hot water machine, three sets of casual yukata, slippers, a hairdryer, closet with several jacket hangers.

Bathroom amenities were nice. It had a full option toilet with the usual bidet options, a tub/shower combination, and a sink. There was no air circulation, so I had to open the door to breathe after a shower. There were large pumps for shampoo, conditioner, and body soap to use freely, plus brushes/combs, cotton wipes, etc, and free samples of various face products. Those by themselves were very nice, but also common at business hotels.

The oddest thing about this hotel is that they didn't appear to have any housekeeping until you checked out, and since we stayed 9 days, that was a little annoying. We could have asked in all likelihood, but I was too tired from sightseeing every day to bother.

Overall, an average stay. I could stay again, but there are places with better value at a lower price that I'll stay at next time I'm in Tokyo.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors because there will be less noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Akhety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    26
    26
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
18
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Although rooms are not spacious, the facilities are good. All toilleteries, slippers, kimonos, coffee makers, hair dryer are available. Location is okay, only 10 minutes walking distance from Shinjuku Station (east gate/lumine est) gate. There are a lot of various restaurants around.
However, we got a bad impressions during check out, as the hotel staff asked for additional charge around 3400 yen for 15 minutes late check out! Without any advance and clear information.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pahala_Silalahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

the rooms of Siena Hotel are rather big for japanese parameters, however a little bit dated.
all the essential is there and they provide everything you need for your stay: fabric freshener, sleeping kimono, water, tea/coffee maker and a complete set of Kanebo face cream and moistorizers.. (looks like a lady hotel.. ehm..) in the building you can even find an hair dresser (ehm), underwear shop (uhm) and 2 restaurants.. in the streets below the hotel you find pleanty of clubs, gentlemens clubs (uhm), and restos.. not too far some conveninece store..

the lobby is positioned at 3rd floor and regardless if you press the button 3 or direct to the floor of your room, the lift will still stop at level 3! lobby has wifi connection and an internet PC, the rooms are clean altough rather hot for my taste, hope that is comfortable for you..
daily they provide new towels, toothbrushes, tea bags, water...
overall an ok stay in shinjuku.. mrt is nearby if you don't mind beaing harassed with pimps til the hotel entrance door.. literally.. not a a nice experience..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cristiano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in September in this hotel. Nice room, not very small (rare in Japan!), nice service. HOwever, the location is quite dodgy - in a district of night clubs and what appeared to be "working girls". In Japan, as in Japan, we felt completely safe but some female visitors may find in a little wierd. Other than that - 15 minutes walk to Shinjuko station, grear big supermarkets within 2-3 minutes walking from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel_Tir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The stay in the hotel was fine, the staff was responsive and always willing to help and their English was sufficient to communicate.
The hotel is located in 15mins walk from Shinjuku train station, the nearest subway station is 5 mins walk. You can easily get taxi in the area and the price is pretty reasonable.
Overall our twin room was clean and well-maintained, the size was standard for hotels in Japan. Breakfast was not provided, wi-fi reception was poor on all floors that we stayed. We managed to connect to wi-fi only being close to the room door.
Value for the price was ok, would stay there again. Recommended for solo travelers / friends looking for fun at bars / clubs in Shinjuku area. Not good for family stay.

Room Tip: ask for rooms *09-*11, their windows look at the quieter side of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edennnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel is about 10 min walk from Shinjuku Stn. There was a minimart at the site. It was in the night clubs area.The wifi was available but the signal wasn't good enough to get access from the bed or dressing table. It was fine at the corridor so I had to sit next to the door or in the toilet to get the wifi. The staff was nice. The room was spacious and provided toiletries including hair lotion, face lotion etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Primrose662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A great place to stay, the room are compact as expected but as so clean and come with all the comforts of tea making facilities, heated toilet seat and bottled water. The beds were comfy and shower great. Be aware that check in is late at 3pm and they charges you want together into your room earlier, tough if you arrive early. It's an easy walk from Shinjuku station and the surrounding red light district is safe to walk around. The nearby Golden-Gai alleyways are a great place to spend an evening sipping beer and whiskey sodas in amazing tiny bars. I would definitely stay in hotel seina again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Premier Hotel -CABIN- Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Tateshina
Hotel Tateshina
#54 of 83 in Shinjuku
103 reviews
Shinjuku
Shirakawago
Shirakawago
#47 of 83 in Shinjuku
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Wing International Shinjuku
Shinjuku
City Hotel Lonestar
City Hotel Lonestar
#44 of 83 in Shinjuku
171 reviews
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Shinjuku Kabukicho Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Siena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Siena

Property: Hotel Siena
Address: 2-22-1 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Siena 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Siena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siena Hotel Shinjuku
Hotel Siena Shinjuku, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing