We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Tokyo without breaking the bank”
Review of City Hotel N.U.T.S

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
City Hotel N.U.T.S
Ranked #49 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Tokyo without breaking the bank”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Exactly what we were looking for - good location, easy to get to, clean and comfortable. Our room was small - but we don't spend a lot of time in the room...more importantly our beds were comfortable. Bathroom was large with shower and tub. The hotel is down the street from a subway station (2 minute walk) and within a 10-15 minute walk to Shinjuku. Dinner in Shinjuku and then a nice walk back to the hotel...perfect evening! Great place to stay in Tokyo without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleonora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    70
    51
    12
    15
See reviews for
42
22
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Hotel NUTS is located close to both the metro and toei subway lines, and is about 10min walk to shinjuku station. Surrounded by cafes, restaurants and bars, it's central, relatively cheap and clean. It's not very spacious, however two of us managed with suitcases (open) to fit comfortably. Rooms have good free wifi access, the bathroom was large, and the aircon/heating worked instantly. There's no additional facilities, however everything you'd want/need is close by. I'd happily recommend this hotel to anyone traveling through Tokyo on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabbyh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Location is great. very close to the subway and only 10 minute walk to the bustling Shinjuku.
Comfortable bed. BIG bathroom with deep tub. Staff speak a little English (but we are in Japan!!! so thankful that they spoke any). They were very helpful.
Worried at first as some of the reviews on here arent very good. But.... It way exceeded our expectations. Excellent for the price. If you are expecting something glamorous go somewhere else and pay 5 times the amount.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashlee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Hotel management informed guests construction work would be finished on the 16th of January, on the 20th we woke up to drilling so loud you could not even have a conversation, but I do understand the need for work of this nature to occur. We mentioned in a very friendly way about how loud it was and said that it seemed slightly unreasonable to charge full price for a room when extreme noise occurred for over 3 hours, the manager debated the noise even occurred and was quite aggressive....not even a $10 token discount offered. Very disappointing.

The internet has a lot of dead spots and the hotel is really run down. Also our room was so small we could barely open a suit case.

I wouldn't recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shinjuku hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

I was asleep when reception rang about swaping rooms. I said that I would deal with it in the morning because I had flown a long way. but they kept ringing back and wouldn't let me get back to sleep. they were friendly but kept me awake

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Location was good. Only a few steps away from subway.

The room we stayed in has seen better days. Heavy staining in the washroom, and a very present smokey odor in the room(was non-smoking).

Staff had set up an extra bed as requested via booking website.

Staff was very clear on rules, and when asked about the area she seemed bothered to help us. Map and pamphlets provided on request.

For money paid I'd expect more from the room and better service than offered. Glad only stayed one night here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a night. The lady receptionist spoke little English and was really helpful. Location is good if you want to stay in a quiet suburb place. Conveniently located next to a subway n food outlets. Took a walk and n it's really quaint so good points for location. Not bad locating the hotel. Room size is small but washroom is spacious. They also offer Shiseido hair n facial toiletries. For the price paid, no complaints n best for travellers who tend to just wash up, sleep and then head out again. Not too shabby!

Helpful?
2 Thank Choojx
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Hotel Tateshina
Hotel Tateshina
#57 of 81 in Shinjuku
101 reviews
Shinjuku
Hanabi Hotel
Hanabi Hotel
#58 of 81 in Shinjuku
67 reviews
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Shinjyuku Gyoenmae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
City Hotel Lonestar
City Hotel Lonestar
#46 of 81 in Shinjuku
168 reviews
Shinjuku
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
#19 of 81 in Shinjuku
759 reviews
Shinjuku
Sun Members Tokyo Shinjuku
Sun Members Tokyo Shinjuku
#54 of 81 in Shinjuku
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel N.U.T.S? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel N.U.T.S

Property: City Hotel N.U.T.S
Address: 1-16-5 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Hotel N.U.T.S 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located two minutes away from the subway station Shinjuku-Gyoenmae on the Marunouchi line (red line). Situated right by the Shinjuku Park, which has fantastic landscapes and shows all the beauty of Japan as its colors change from season to season, you will enjoy a very restful stay in a quiet area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel N.U.T.S reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Shinjuku
City Hotel N.U.T.S Shinjuku, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing