We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Good Price”
Review of City Hotel N.U.T.S

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
City Hotel N.U.T.S
Ranked #48 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - Good Price”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

N.U.T.S. stands for "new urban technology systems". That translates to an electronic console in the head board where you can control the lights, radio, A/C and TV from the comfort of your bed. Typical of Japan, the rooms are very small with low ceilings however the room and bed was comfortable. The bath was stocked with complimentary soaps, shampoos, razors and toothbrushes. This is not a fancy hotel or location but a good night sleep for a good price,

Room Tip: Hotel is located off the main drag, don't be discouraged when you turn down a back alley. You ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgt065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    71
    51
    12
    15
See reviews for
43
22
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for only 2 nights, as it was rather expensive for myself & my partner (we were travelling on a budget). It is really close to the station (Shinjuku-Gyoenmae subway station) and it's in a great central location, so close to shops and food outlets.
The rooms are tiny! There are no wardrobes, only a few wall hangers in which to hang your clothes.
The beds are uber comfy, as they have tempur mattresses, which made it harder to vacate the room by the extremely early hour of 9am!
The facilities within the hotel are great though, it has pretty much everything you need, from complimentary water & cola in the lobby, a free business area, a jacuzzi tub, a cool retro 80's style bathroom and cable TV.
We didn't spend much time in our room, so the space wasn't a big issue. If you have a lot of bags, you will find it a squeeze.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beadsbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Arrived late and in the dark, was a bit hard to find but with a GPS I got there in the end. If you are coming from Shinjuku-Gyoenmae subway station, take exit #2, turn immediate left at the top of the stairs, turn left again until you get to a Family Mart convenience store, turn left here and walk three small blocks and take a right, You'll be able to see it from there.

The check in process was smooth, although the lobby smelled of stale smoke and the lift was the smallest I've ever been in, in a hotel, would only fit two people if they had large suitcases.

The room's air conditioning wasn't turned on so I had a slight panic attack on entering as other reviews said they'd had trouble with this, but after switching it on it was a cool blessing in mid summer Tokyo, The room was small and was dwarfed by a large double bed and a huge lounge chair. Lucky I was alone as if there had been two people with luggage there would be nowhere to lay it out at all. There was no closet which was a shock as I had a business meeting the following day and had been hoping to hang wrinkles out of clothes. There was two clothes hangers in the rooms entry way and that was it.

The bathroom was hilarious. It was clean, but the tiles were chipped and the bath tub rusted and the grout a but discolored. The fixtures and the toilet were a rusted orange colour, right out of the 70's!! Seriously old fashioned. I brought a hair straightener, but there was no power outlet in the bathroom, and the only other power outlets in the main room were miles from any mirror. Serious fail!!

There was a small bar fridge which was not very cold so anything put in there was lukewarm after half an hour.

The WiFi which everyone complains is very slow was actually just as fast as my home WiFi which is quite fast so no complaints there.

I wasn't expecting much for just over $100AUD a night, it's really convenient for Shinjuku, and it has the basics and the bed is really comfortable, but it's not a room you'd invite anyone over to, or share with another person come to think of it. All in all I'll probably pay $50 extra and stay in a hotel chain next time.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a room with a double bed and a single, you'll at least have more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelry_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Before you book this hotel you need to realize it is an old "Love Hotel" so you'll have odd things such as a pink massage tub like we did, as well as audio controls near the bed. It's pretty "N.U.T.S" but if that doesn't bother you then it's a great place to stay. The location is pretty good with many local restaurants and small bars around it and close to some cool downtown nightlife (including some other nightlife which we found, uh, interesting). Also you're not a far walk from the metro which you can take anywhere easily so that is a big plus as well. Shinjuku is just one of the great 'mini cities' within Tokyo and I would recommend it as one that you would want to see, especially if you are younger.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We arrived at night,( raining and unfamiliar surroundings, taxi driver drops us off in random place and we have to walk/ find NUTS, I would suggest google mapping the road/ street / area before you arrive, as that way you will have some familiar landmarks to steer you to the hotel - thank goodness our son had done this ! ) Westayed in 2 rooms ( family of 5) for just over a week. The staff were very helpful, in particular one night we had a sick child and a staff member came in especially, walked us down to local pharmacy, translated, stayed to make sure we had all we needed etc. The little old ladies who mann the front desk are sweet, but their english can be a bit limited, but it was a nice touch that as we left in our taxi, came out to say sayonara and wave us goodbye. We felt it was a family/ budget travellers type hotel , area wasnt dodgy at all, more like an inner urban neighbourhood, with local noodle bars, foodstops , family mart and shops scattered about. For those on a budget and for its location really close to Shinjuku-gyoenmae station, all in all a fair deal. Clean rooms, quiet, all the basics provided.
Down side- wifi connection somewhat unpredictable. Decor- dated and by that I mean pretty ugly ( retro late 80s feel ) , but bathrooms are huge and japanesey, so you can have a good old soak at the end of a hard days touring about. .Would stay here again if my budget didnt stretch any higher ;-) .

Room Tip: Make sure your air conditioner is working, Ours wasnt , which wasnt so bad in April, but would be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trazak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

So the title says it all, you can rent the place by the hour for brief 'encounters'.

I didn't fancy the outdated decor or that I had to sleep on a mattress topped with a plastic liner. I've stayed in backpackers that were better than this! If you want an honest look at this place, use google street view it and judge it from there. It's a self rated 2 star but I would easily say its a 1 star max!

I'm sure there are rooms in the hotel that were better than mine, but I can only review what I stayed in. I was booked for 3 nights and I left after 8 hours in the building, the only reason I didn't leave earlier was because the neighbourhood was so dodgy that I didn't want to set foot outside the room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ryley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shinjuku hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed at the City Hotel N.U.T.S ("New Urban Time and Space" for those who are wondering) on a recent visit to Tokyo with friends. We decided to try the Modern Japanese room with tatami mats. Room was pristine clean, and the futon mattresses were surprisingly very comfortable. Free WiFi is available in the room, but was slow and the signal was weak. Hotel is conveniently located near the Shinjukugonenmae station (M10 on the Marunouchi Line) on the Tokyo Metro. There are many coffee shops and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Like other reviews have stated, the front desk will collect your room key when leaving the property. We had no problems with this. Would definitely stay at the City Hotel N.U.T.S on another visit to Tokyo.

Room Tip: Modern Japanese rooms can sleep up to 5 guests, but it will feel cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krisjetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Hotel Tateshina
Hotel Tateshina
#57 of 81 in Shinjuku
101 reviews
Shinjuku
Hanabi Hotel
Hanabi Hotel
#58 of 81 in Shinjuku
68 reviews
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Shinjyuku Gyoenmae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
City Hotel Lonestar
City Hotel Lonestar
#46 of 81 in Shinjuku
168 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Siena
Hotel Siena
#63 of 81 in Shinjuku
58 reviews
Shinjuku
Sun Members Tokyo Shinjuku
Sun Members Tokyo Shinjuku
#54 of 81 in Shinjuku
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel N.U.T.S? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel N.U.T.S

Property: City Hotel N.U.T.S
Address: 1-16-5 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Hotel N.U.T.S 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located two minutes away from the subway station Shinjuku-Gyoenmae on the Marunouchi line (red line). Situated right by the Shinjuku Park, which has fantastic landscapes and shows all the beauty of Japan as its colors change from season to season, you will enjoy a very restful stay in a quiet area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your City Hotel N.U.T.S reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Shinjuku
City Hotel N.U.T.S Shinjuku, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing