We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a stay in Tokyo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shinjuku Urban Hotel
Ranked #50 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is ideally located close to the attractions of Shinjuku. The room we stayed in was much larger than we expected. The bathroom was tiny - if you were very overweight or had mobility problems it would be hard to fit in the bathroom or step over the approx 75 cm high edge of the bath.
We stayed on a non smoking floor. The hallway smelt a little of cigarettes but the room was fine. It was amazingly quiet, given the proximity to all the action at night time.
The staff were helpful, but most had very limited English.
We stayed in room 805.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mitch0064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Shinjuku Urban Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 42 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was a quirky llittle hotel, probably not ideal for access to the trainstation as it is about a 10 minute walk. The biggest down side is the WHOLE HOTEL smells of cigarette smoke! it can be quite bad after a big night out in rappongi!

I probably would stay some where alot closer to electric street next time i venture there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sezza255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

This place is really a hidden gem with a near perfect location....to me at least. It's located on a small little side street just minutes from the main action of Shinjuku. Not only that the hotel is DIRECTLY across the street from the Golden Gai bar area and the incredibly well kept garden path that leads DIRECTLY into the heart of Shinjuku. If you don't know what the Golden Gai is look it up. In addition the hotel is also directly beside a tasty Ramen place and straight across from a Coffee shop which was great for breakfast.

The hotel itself is simple and small but very well kept with an incredibly nice staff. The rooms aren't fancy, in fact they're very plain and cheap looking but they have everything you need and were always clean. Each room has it's own internet connection and the bathrooms are equipped with TOTO washlet units. In addition to the room internet connection the main lobby has a free internet computer for those lacking their own computer.

I didn't book in advance so I was moved around every night but the single room rate was only $76 per night. Double bed rooms were about $110.

And as a side note I've also stayed at the $350 per night Cerulean Tower Hotel and I'm being completely honest when I say I'll take the Shinjuku Urban hotel every time. There is no reason whatsoever to spend vasts amounts of money on superficial hotel rooms when places like the Shinjuku Urban hotel exist.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank activeaero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
Thank ronron0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
Thank katana65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Kwan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BENNYLAU2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Hotel Siena
Hotel Siena
#62 of 83 in Shinjuku
58 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Tateshina
Hotel Tateshina
#55 of 83 in Shinjuku
103 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku
Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku
#36 of 83 in Shinjuku
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
City Hotel Lonestar
City Hotel Lonestar
#43 of 83 in Shinjuku
173 reviews
Shinjuku
Shirakawago
Shirakawago
#48 of 83 in Shinjuku
50 reviews
Shinjuku
Premier Hotel -CABIN- Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Urban Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Urban Hotel

Address: 2-8-12 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range: $78 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shinjuku Urban Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Rakuten so you can book your Shinjuku Urban Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinjuku Urban Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing