We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice budget hotel with good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
Ranked #9 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice budget hotel with good location”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel is on the west side of Shingjuku station, and you have to walk about 8 minutes with an overpass on the way to reach it. Good price, clean, nice staff, no problem communicating. Pretty much has every amenities you'll need, including in-room wifi and a foot massager. The room is standard small size, small bathroom, bed can be a little hard, only 1 pillow. There is a 7-11 two doors down and McD across street. However, there are a lot of homeless people sleeping in Shinjuku station at night, I would not recommend walking from JR station to hotel at late night. Take Metro and use Nishishinjuku station to avoid them, plus it's a much shorter walk. It's a pretty good budget hotel, most of the guests seems to be foreign travelers. Overall pretty satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 554mikeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NisitetsuInnShinjuku, Receptionist at Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for the kind comment. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will stay at our hotel again in the future.

Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku

Receptionist

Tenga Waratani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    465
    111
    15
    14
See reviews for
82
188
282
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The room had a much bigger bed than most other Japanese hotels I've stayed in. The room was a nice size, small, but cozy, and had everything I needed. Amenities were located downstairs and wifi was available and was always in working condition. There's also a little "San Maruku" Cafe inside of the hotel which was very cute and convenient.

The attendants at the front desk spoke very good English, and I always felt taken care of.

The location is great, Right next to a 7-11 and across the street from McDonalds if you're into that type of thing. Close to Shinjuku Station, and right next to where all the action happens in Shinjuku. And it's just down the street from the Shinjuku "LOVE" statue, which is a great photo op for all you couples out there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dylan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NisitetsuInnShinjuku, Receptionist at Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your stay with us and for your warm comment. We are pleased that you had a nice stay at our hotel. We work each day to improve our status as a hotel, be it in terms of language skills or our helpfullness towards our customers.We hope that you will visit our country again.

Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku

Receptionist

Tenga Waratani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vufflens-le-Chateau, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The single room that I stayed in was small, but clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was very kind and helpful for my whole stay. In terms of location, the Shinjuku station is around 7 minutes away on foot (from the West exit). Free wi-fi was provided in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NisitetsuInnShinjuku, Receptionist at Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your stay and for your kind comment. As you have pointed out our hotel's rooms are not particularlly large but they are not below average in terms compared to other local hotels. But this is no excuse and we appologize for any unconvenience that may have occured from that fact. We hope that you will visit our country again in the future.Thank you agaon.

Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku

Receptionist

Tenga Waratani.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The room is small, like other hotelrooms in Japan, but efficient and clean. Amenties are available downstairs. Wifi and airconditioning worked very well in our room.

It’s a short walk from Shinjuku station (about 10 minutes). Around the station there are a lot of shops and restaurants.

We had breakfast at the cafe at the ground floor: croissants with chocolate is their specialty.

Staff is friendly and helpfull. Some speak English but not all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelloMister4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NisitetsuInnShinjuku, Receptionist at Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank yopu for your kind comment and for your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are sorry for any inconvenience that may have accured because of the room being small. We hope you will stay at our hotel agaon.Thank you again.

Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku

Receptionist

Tenga Waratani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassari, Italy
Level Contributor
117 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

located very close to the busy Shinjuku station. Just make sure you follow the west exit when arriving from Narita airport on the Narita Express! Like all stations in Tokyo, Shinjuku too is massive and has different exits and access points and if you miss the right one, you'll end up in a totally different area from the one you are after!
This said, you can easily walk to the hotel in 5 minutes really! It depends on the road you choose! I' d suggest the one in front of you as you leave the JR station, just face the Cocoon building and go towards it by walking past the bus station and proceed straight on, turn right until you come to the LOVE sculpture, turn right again and you'll come to the Police Station. Now all you need to do is to cross the road to find yourself in front of the hotel! Or there is another option but it'll take you a little longer. As you exit the Station, keep walking on the right as far as the traffic lights, cross the road on your left and cross again on the right then keep your left, walk past the pedestrian bridge and walk until you get to the hotel which is on your right.
The hotel met all my expectations: very clean, high tech bathroom with all the toiletries you can think of, right sized room and a comfy queen bed. A kimono and slippers are provided and the free wifi and air conditioning worked perfectly! There is also a mini fridge , a flat screen TV and a boiler if you wish to enjoy typical Japanese green tea!
The staff was very kind and helpful as all Japanese people are!
Breakfast was not included but in the lobby there is a cafe where you can enjoy a croissant and coffee or cappuccino for about 440¥!
Needless to say that Shinjuku is a busy financial and shopping district so there are so many options for food out there not to mention things to see and do!
So, next time you want to go to Tokyo, stay at Nishinietsu Inn! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LellaSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NisitetsuInnShinjuku, Receptionist at Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for you enthusiastic comment and for your stay. As you have suggested our hotel is close to the Shinjuku station and very accesible for most customers. If you should get lost on the way our front staff will guide nyou on your way to the hotel if you give us a call.We hope you will stay with us again.

Nisitetstu Inn Shinjuku

Receptionist

Tenga Waratani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Some information about services are only avalible in japaneese or just partially in english, also you can usually hear whats happening in the hallway. But except that, the personel have been really nice and so is the wi-fi, overall i think you get your moneys worth.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NisitetsuInnShinjuku, Receptionist at Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and for your kind comment.We are sorry to have caused you trouble by not having some information available in english.We are currently upgrading our front desk information system to also match the needs of foriegn customers.We hope that you will visit our country again.Thank you again.

Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
Tenga Waratani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avellino, Italia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Spacious single room in comparison with Japanese standard. Clean and well equipped with a fast wifi connection. 10 minutes far from Shinjuku station and also close to the limousine station to narita airport. Be careful about chek-in/check-out time: check-in is at 15.00 and if you want to check-in before you have to pay something like 15$ per hour before. Check-out is at 10.00.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Giubruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NisitetsuInnShinjuku, Receptionist at Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your comment and for your stay at our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel's rooms are a little small for foriegn customers but are the average size in Japan. We hope you will visit our country again in the future.

Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku

Receptionist

Tenga Waratani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,157 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
#2 of 81 in Shinjuku
351 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku
Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku
#13 of 81 in Shinjuku
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku

Property: Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
Address: 7-23-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Shinjuku
#7 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#9 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku is a short 2-minute walk from the Nishi-Shinjuku subway station and an 8-minute walk from Shinjuku Train Station. It offers modern accommodations with massage services and free property-wide Wi-Fi. Guest rooms have both air conditioning and heating facilities. Each room comes with a fridge, tea making facilities and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Pay-per-view movies are also available. A dry-cleaning service and coin-operated laundry machines are available on the property. Luggage storage is possible at the 24-hour front desk. The Teketeke restaurant is on the B1 floor and serves breakfast daily. The Saint Marc Cafe on the ground floor serves coffee and light meals. The Shinjuku Nishitetsu Inn is just under half a kilometer from Shinjuku Central Park and the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Buildings. The Isetan Department Store is a 15-minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku Hotel Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Hotel Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing